We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place you want to return!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos to your Saves list
Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos
calle real de Guadalupe No 110, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“the place you want to return!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Totally recommended this hostel to stay)) it's really has the mexican sense of hospitality, well done traditional design of the rooms and the area...rooms are spacious and clean, warm and bright colours makes you smile) you can also use a kitchen for cooking or just to drink cup of morning coffee or evening tea. Owners are so friendly and helpful) i want to stay just for one night, but then i stayed one more and one more))) and i feel like I was at home! you'll love this place, it's sharming))) And the price is great too!
Hostel Los Camellos situated on the main street Real Gudalupe, so you'll be close to everything. Just in few steps of the main door at morning time a boy sells delicious fruits and fresh orange juice) don't miss it)

P.S. Important information: :))) Wi-fi connection was perfect)

Room Tip: there is a wide range of rooms, you can chose what you want - a big private room with a private bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    24
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
33
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bigfork, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This hostel was very accommodating to our large group of 20 It is in a great location just a few blocks away from all the hustle and bustle of the pain strip, and has a lovely staff. It has great rooms for the price they offer, and also a nice cooking/eating space. You also get free tea, coffee, and clean drinking water!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed here because this hostel had great reviews. It was an average hostel. Location was so-so...about 3 blocks from the main tourist street. There was no real good hang out space. Staff was polite, and they had extra blankets available because it was very cold. Hot water was fair. It's a clean and average place to stay, but doesn't have anything special to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very good hostal. It is in the middle of San Cristobal, you can reach anything by foot. Rooms are nice and clean, the waste bin could have been cleared a bit more often. The staff was extremly helpful, thanks Fabian! there is a really clean kitchen where you can cook and get a warm tea or coffee. It gets pretty cold there, so bring warm stuff. A nice indoor lounge or living room would be really nice, since the rooms are pretty dark. There are sitting facilities out in the court, but it is too cold to sit there! So if you want to relax a bit, it is not very comfy. Still, very recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We made reservations in advance because we were coming early morning after all night on a bus. We were able to leave our bags and start exploring town but still they put us in a room pretty quickly. We should have asked to see the room and options because although the room was clean and neat, it was extremely dark, and extremely cold. It could get pretty cold in San Cristobal, even during the day, but they did have other rooms that had a lot more light from windows and could absorb the heat during the day. The shower room itself was frigid and 5 gallons of water from the hot water heater for the 2 of us couldn't warm me up. At night we used all 4 blankets on the bed. The owners (we really never knew who was who) did not speak English but did their best to take care of things we requested. We decided we couldn't stay the third night. The most impressive thing of all and we've never seen anything like it, was the housekeeper. She was enthusiastic, full of energy, amazing - and could have scrubbed the paint off the tile. I felt I could eat off the floor. When she arrived in the mornings, she started in the kitchen and scrubbed every last inch, every nook and cranny, of a stove top that probably hadn't even been used. And that was just the beginning. I want to take her home with me.

Room Tip: Definitely ask to see the rooms and consider what evening lighting and warmth might be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This place was definitely the best choice I could have made.. Beautiful, comfortable, cleaned, good price, excellent location downtown, nice and friendly people attendance, accessibility for cooking, there's always hot coffee, easy to make friends and share moments with interesting people.. I stayed there a week and certainly I had a great time there.. Hostal Camellos has everything that a traveler needs.

En mis vacaciones este lugar fue la mejor eleccion que pude haber hecho.. Agradable, bonito, comodo, limpio, seguro, excelente ubicacion, buen precio , amigable y buena atencion del personal que trabaja ahi, accecible para cocinar, siempre hay cafe disponible, buenos momentos compratidos con los demas viajeros.. Simplemente hermoso!! 100 % recomendable..!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed four peoole in the two private rooms. Very comfortable and clean. Felt safe. One of the rooms was supposed to be for all us four, but 2 double beds was not suitable for us.
The hot water was a little tricky, but after two showers we got the hang of it. 
Its a ten minute walk to the plaza. Its a good street.
The people who run the place are friendly and we ordered most of our trips through them

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos

Address: calle real de Guadalupe No 110, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 75 Specialty Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Camellos Hostel, established in 1998, was one of the first in this city and is still the most recommended to enjoy your stay in San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas.It’s a beautiful colonial house with courtyard and garden, located in one of the main streets of the historic center, 5 minutes walking from the Zocalo (Central Park) and tourist walkways, in a central, quiet and safe area, next to all the shops that you may need (laundry, fruits and vegetables, mini market, bakery, butchers, restaurants, etc.).We offer a large kitchen super equipped (fridge, oven, blender, juicer, many dishes, utensils and condiments) including free drinking water, coffee and tea all day.The indoor and outdoor commune areas are spacious and well distributed, with places to rest, share and eat.The rooms are spacious, nice and comfortable, with table, chairs, sheets, blankets and towels.Managers are French & Mexican travelers receiving you personally in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere.The experience of more than 10 years as travelers and hoteliers allows us to always improve, providing cleaning and hygiene, safety and comfort, affordable prices and kindness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Rincon De Los Camellos San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.