We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chef gives cooking classes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Olla Restaurant

La Olla Restaurant
Reforma 402 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
951-51-66668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 249 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: This small, charming restaurant has a lot going for it. Located only two blocks from historic Santo Domingo Church, and within easy walking distance of the Zocalo, La Olla is very popular with both foreign residents and visitors as well as with locals. La Olla is one of the more trendy eateries in the city, and our spotless kitchen produces a wide array of traditional Oaxacan, continental, and vegetarian foods. We pride ourselves in serving the best quality of products available,and most of our produce is grown locally and delivered to us by farmers during the week. Our coffee is locally roasted and the foods we serve are extremely fresh. We bake delicious apple strudel, chocolate cake, oatmeal cookies, vanilla flan, and more on our premises daily! All of our creations are cooked to order, prepared fresh starting when we receive your order. We use more fresh fruits and vegetables to create healthful and visually attractive dishes than any other restaurant in Oaxaca. Delicious sandwiches are served on home-baked whole wheat bread, and we even make the mayonnaise in our kitchen. There is a wide variety of healthy drinks available, using unusual combinations of fresh fruits and vegetables. The main meal of the day in Oaxaca is eaten in the afternoon. A real bargain at "La Olla" is the "Menu del día" or "Comida corrida", a full meal which changes daily, for only $90 pesos served from 1-4 pm. It includes a freshly-made salad, followed by a soup, a choice of two entrees, with tortillas or bread, and finishing with a dessert or espresso coffee. Many typical Oaxacan dishes are featured, and for a low price you can experience traditional cuisine at its very best. There is also a full a la carte menu featuring a wide selection of dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The prices are moderate and the quality very high. La Olla is proud to display and promote artwork created by local, regional and international artists. Our gallery is open daily during restaurant hours. The art on display is available for sale, and the gallery selection is changed periodically.
Tiburon, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Chef gives cooking classes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a nice dinner here but our trip highlight was a cooking class with the restaurant's owner and chef. It started with a shopping expedition to the market, then we cooked and had lunch in her home. A real peek into the real Oaxaca.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    115
    36
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Slightly upscale twists on Oaxaca classics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The place had a menu for lent (cuaresma) so there were lots of seafood and vegetable options. My husband had the batter fish strips that came with a pasilla chile mayo, which was excellent, and I had the trio of mini tostadas and then duo of chiles rellenos (stuffed chiles). All were excellent. The only disappointment was the black bean soup - I think the tortilla strips overpowered the soup, which I would have loved to taste more of. But in general, excellent service and I would go back in a flash to try more of their cuisine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great value lunch menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Really loved the set lunch menu today which is a bargain at 100 pesos. Cerviche salad, followed by soup, then delicious fish balls and rice and a sweet little dessert. All this plus tortillas and salsa, a soft drink and Mezcal. A bit noisy as the windows open and lots of traffic outside but that's pretty typical in Oaxaca!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax beach, florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Well presented, flavorful Oaxaqueno food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

La Olla's 100 peso Menus del Dia are absolutely the freshest and tastiest meals I've found....starting with a great little salad, a soup, choice of two entrees, and small dessert. A change from the stodgier options offered in most of the tourist restaurants. For supper I've enjoyed a well presented sopa de tortilla and their tamales. .. the oaxaqueno tamale wrapped in banana leaf is particularly delicious.

Have been dining solo and La Olla has been a comfortable, friendly spot. Interesting art for sale also.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“La Olla feeling tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Arrived in Oaxaca and went straight to Le Olla for a Valentine’s Day dinner (we made reservations beforehand.) After driving from the airport through diesel-choked streets we entered the café at street level. This dining spot was equally as choked as the streets outside and the din was unbelievable! The place was empty but walk-ins were turned away because they didn’t have reservations. The delightful food of our memory seemed blah and lacked inspiration. The servers were oblivious to our presence and busy chatting. We had been dreaming of this meal all day and it failed to live up to both our expectations and memory. This was not the spot to go for a romantic dinner but very handy just the same as we were staying at Las Bugambilias next door and could just flop into bed. Later in the week we dined upstairs and had much better service and food. It was like a whole different operation. I’m not sure what management is doing but downstairs certainly needs more attention at dinner. We will now only eat downstairs at lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Olla Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Olla Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Olla Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.