We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Oaxaca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Villada Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Villada Inn to your Saves list
La Villada Inn
Felipe Angeles #204 | Ejido Guadalupe Victoria, Oaxaca, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 99 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Oaxaca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

La Villada is in a tranquil setting high above Oaxaca. Because of this it can be hard to find, as there's a maze of roads that wind up into the hills from the city below; but you can park, free, once you get there. The inn is classed as a hostel on some web sites and has mixed accommodation. We stayed in a private room with en suite shower, which was basic but comfortable, clean, and spacious. They also have a dormitory with shared facilities. There's a dining room, although most people ate by the pool, and traditional Mexican food and drink is available all day - the food is very good and we enjoyed everything we had. The swimming pool is a big plus, as it was hot when we were there in May. There's also a bar, but unfortunately it was only open at weekends and we were there mid-week. Another great thing about La Villada is the cost. We paid less that $50 per night for a double room, and the food/drink was also very reasonable. This was in strong contrast to B&Bs in the city that were asking well over $100 per night. All of this, plus the helpful, welcoming staff, a parrot that loves to be stroked and a friendly dog called Miel, makes La Villada a relaxing retreat in Oaxaca that's also great value.

Room Tip: I would recommend a private room in the 'new' block. The fittings are modern and less rustic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    12
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
22
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I have been to La Villada Inn twice - once alone and once with a friend - and I can't wait to go back. Like the other reviews state, this place is not only comfortable and beautiful but the family that runs it is warm and hospitable. Both times I stayed I had a private room so I can't really speak to the dorm/hostel vibe but I certainly met great people in the dining/bar area. Again, the family that runs the place is amazing. When I was their the first time (during Day of the Dead) a group of us went out with one of the sons for a great and raucous night on the town - truly a memorable experience. Some may scoff at the distance from the main part of town, but it truly is a treat to stay in this mountain retreat, and in all honesty it's not that far away and is perfectly accessible by bus. I can't say enough about this place! Love La Villada Inn.

Room Tip: Try to contact the operators directly - esp. if you need a single. They have a FB page too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband and myself and our 8 year old son stayed here in July, initially we were booked in for 2 nights but stayed for 4 as we just didn't want to leave. Julietta and her brothers are the most helpful and friendly hosts and their children are adorable. I can't fault this place, it is a short taxi ride into town but this never bothered us. It is very nice to be up in the hills and the view really makes it. Our son loved the pool. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean and comfortable, we had a terrace and a view of the hills right from our room. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend La Villada Inn.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Very nice hostel once you are there.

The access is very complicated (on a hill with a lot of a little street).
There is a parking on site, and by car you need 15mn to go in the centre.

In exchange for the bad location, the hostel is very welcoming, spacious and pleasing.
Too much cold in the night during december, the rooms are badly isolated and extra covers were needed.
Internet not available from all the rooms.
Not very clean, and the shower was a bit rusty.
Still a good experiences :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Very peaceful location with great views above the city. The property is well-maintained and comfortable. If you want to get away from the city center, this is a good choice. Bilingual owners are very helpful. Good food, WIFI, limited hot water so be quick. Secure parking if you have a car. The pool looked nice, and I'm sure it's great to have during the summer. 50-60 peso taxi to the Centro. Take the map with you if you go into town- it would be difficult to explain to the taxi drivers.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

The Villada Inn is set on one of the hillsides surrounding Oaxaca City. A quick (and cheap around 60 pesos mx) taxi ride from ADO bus station - slightly longer from the 2nd class bus station (around 90 pesos mx) .... one mounts towards a little bit of paradise !
The family owners are very helpful and kind.
The kitchen and room ladies are quietly professional and friendly in their reserved Zapotec way.
The rooms are built with Adobe bricks and quite nicely furnished - for the larger group or family rooms - they all have big king size beds and extra singles. The hot water is good - once you get used to the taps - often round the wrong way (hot on the left !) ..... should you have trouble with yours - just ask and it will be explained to you.
They have a restaurant (simple, clean and tasty food) serving breakfast, lunch and early dinner - they close at 8pm. The fridge is well stocked with beer and soda - with an honesty policy wereby you note your own drinks consumed.
This was my third trip - I loved it all and I shall return !!
There are dormatories too for those on a tighter budget - or double beds rooms too.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Spent a day and night with a friend who lives in Mexico who recommended La Villada. Drove up a winding road and through large metal gate into the facility. Standing in courtyard brought a tranquil feeling compared to the hustle and bustle of Oaxaca city. Extremely helpful and friendly staff who helped us check in.

Comfortable room and bed, warm decor and great view of the city. The rooms are not heated, it got down to 63 degree F in the morning so was cold. Surprised to find out that noise carried in from the next room. Heard the guest next door talking on his cell. Minor inconvenienced though. Loved the hammocks outside the room. The wooden pillars and ceiling in the restaurant were covered with messages from guests from different part of the world.

Would definitely return, good price for a place with great atmosphere and character.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villada Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villada Inn

Address: Felipe Angeles #204 | Ejido Guadalupe Victoria, Oaxaca, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your La Villada Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villada Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.