We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable but not Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hospederia La Reja

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hospederia La Reja to your Saves list
Hospederia La Reja
Abasolo 103 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68050, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 102 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Gloucester, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Acceptable but not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The best thing I can say about Le Reja is the location is great. The rooms are small, noise travels well between rooms, and there's a lot of ambient noise. Avoid a room on the first floor as they open right into the courtyard restuarant. Few of the staff speak any English although they all tried to be helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
7
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

It is very difficult to communicate with the staff at this charming property. As long as you are fluent in Spanish it is fine.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

There's no hint outside about how beautiful this place is. The gardens are so refreshing. Big, clean rooms. Kind personnel. Interesting furniture. Steaming hot water and huge towels. Internet, TV. A shame we had to leave early and know nothing about the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We spent 4 nights here over day of the dead in November - and couldn't recommend this place more highly! The location, one block off the walking street and one block from Santa Domingo, was superb. The rooms were lovely (doubles are more spacious, and upstairs rooms have more natural light), no problems with the wifi, the meals we ate here (breakfast and comida) were really quite delicious.

There was a bit of evening noise that we could hear in the rooms, but once we closed the windows it was minimal (and I suspect that nights during day of the dead are noiser than most).

But what really makes this place are the incredible staff - we felt welcomed and taken care of from the moment we arrived to the moment we departed. (Judith, Viviana, Roman and everyone else - thanks so much for your hospitality).

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I stayed for four nights in August at this lovely little hotel and found it faultless. I had a double room upstairs, with access to a small, pretty terrace with rooftop views over sections of central Oaxaca. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room stylishly decorated, with pretty locally woven cotton bedspread. The bathroom had an excellent shower, with a pretty hand basin, partially naturally lit from above through glass sky light.
There were fresh flowers placed in the bedroom every day.
The upper rooms have more natural light than the ground floor ones, which run along one side of the plant-filled central patio with its central flowering tree. Delicious breakfast can be taken here (and wonderful, three course lunches), and it is an oasis of calm, just around the corner from the lovely Santo Domingo church, opposite the Camino Real hotel and a very short walk to the zocalo (main square).
The architect owner and his small staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. This is an ideal place for lovers of tranquillity and charming local architecture. The location in Oaxaca is ideal and it offers very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

The relatively low number of reviews of La Reja here probably reflects its small size, with only 6 rooms. The absence of negative reviews and the high overall ratings indeed reflected our experience in mid-April 2010.

The best thing about La Reja is its location -- it's on the block in between the very expensive Camino Real, and Santo Domingo, with lots of restaurants, cafes, interesting shops along the pedestrian streets of Oaxaca's center with relatively little traffic. Some of the noisy, dusty current works on new paving stones for Oaxaca's streets are ongoing a few blocks away, but the immediate vicinity is done and quiet.

Service is personal, friendly, and attentive -- we got to know all of the staff quite well. Some speak more English than others, but all made the effort to be very helpful and we always felt like we were being welcomed home.

Of the 6 rooms, 3 are upstairs, and room number 6 is probably the nicest upstairs as it has more windows. It being the hot, dry season in Oaxaca, we found that our upstairs room got a bit hot in the afternoons (when we wanted to siesta), so after one night we moved to a downstairs room, which had less light but stayed much cooler. Unlike some other places in Oaxaca, La Reja doesn't have air-conditioning, but each room has a portable fan, and the overall pricing of the rooms reflects the excellent location and the lack of air-con.

Wifi is free and very fast, as has been commented by other reviewers.

Breakfast is not included in the room rate, but the continental option offers plenty of fresh fruit and juice, and breads, for 60 pesos. Comida (served from 1.30pm to about 5pm), is excellent value, at 50 pesos, ask for the agua jamaica to go with the meal. A number of local Oaxacans take comida here, and the menu changes daily. Meals are taken in the lovely little courtyard (easy to catch sight of hummingbirds), and there is also a tiny rooftop terrace with views of Santo Domingo).

There is a little noise sometimes - it being such a central location, music from bars and coffee places can sometimes be heard, but we were never bothered by it.

Credit cards accepted, but better rates can be negotiated if paying with cash.

To sum up: as we were staying almost a week in Oaxaca, we viewed half a dozen other accommodation options after our first night at La Reja, but ended up staying on at La Reja because it offered the best overall value, location, and service. At 850 pesos including tax for a room for two with a queen bed, we felt it offered far better value than more expensive B&Bs in Oaxaca which can cost twice as much.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Oaxaca is a wonderful city but currently undergoing a massive road reconstruction in the historic center, which makes walking difficult, dirty and traffic on the open streets often paralyzed.
Check the location of your hotel! (the one I stayed in last time was virtually inaccessible and should have been closed).

This is NOT true of La Reja.

Let me repeat: THIS IS NOT TRUE OF LA REJA!!

It is perfectly located on an open street and all of the six rooms are well away from the street and very quiet.

My room (#1) was small (how two would cope, I don't know) but clean, comfortable with all the basic amenities (and very good wi-fi).

The courtyard is lovely and the staff very courteous and helpful.

(Breakfast is not included in the price but is served)

In short, why spend three or four times as much to stay across the street at the often noisy El Camino Real?

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospederia La Reja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia La Reja

Address: Abasolo 103 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68050, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint, family owned and operated bed and breakfast in the heart of historic downtown Oaxaca, five blocks from the zocalo. Traditional colonial-style courtyard setting with modern services and conveniences. Daily housekeeping, wireless internet, coffee service, continental breakfast included. Located a block from Santo Domingo, ex-convent Santa Catalina, open air art park, the city's main pedestrian walkway and parking. Hotel comfort with the personal touch of an Oaxacan guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hospederia La Reja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospederia La Reja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.