We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Casona in Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Casona De Tita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Casona De Tita to your Saves list
Hotel La Casona De Tita
GARCIA VIGIL 805, CENTRO | Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best Casona in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

The first time I came in to La Casona de Tita I feel in love, clean contemporary design perfectly balance whit Mexican details and a great selection of beautiful pieces of art from the local artist, the patio it's perfect to relax and recover yourself from the long walks trough the city, once you get in to your room you find a enormous spaces whit a super comfortable bed and a great working area, the bathrooms are just superb and the seeling it's amazing whit just one button you can have natural light in to your room, this place really speak by itself pure and simple luxury, in addition to all this and what really step out from all other places is the service from the staff just amazing, from the the housekeeping to the front desk all of them make a wonderful work, really professional and helpful, the first time I stay at La Casona de Tita a year a go I only stay for 1 night and for my surprise they open the door to me this time and all them recognize me right away, they really make you feel at home.
And don't miss the exquisite breakfast included in the rate, they have the concept of the slow food which means they work whit local produce and they encourage the tradition of the food of the region, just fantastic, I work for a luxury hotel company and I been able to stay in wonderful places from Cabo San Lucas, The Maldives to Dubai and believe me this is the place to stay for the perfect holidays.
At last but not lease I want to thank to Amelia the great director of this wonderful place, she is a real professional and makes you feel at home.
I just can wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
26
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Our 3 nights stay in Oaxaca was wonderful! This petit hotel was, by far, the best part of our trip. It is located at a beautiful and typical mexican house, with a lovely and quiet courtyard in the middle. Perfectly restored!!! All rooms are very spacious with great bathrooms. All the hotel is decorated with wonderful taste, having in mind every little detail, from their celling domes that close at night, so you can sleep until late, till their beautiful starry floor at night that contest with the sky stars. All the hotel is furnished with a mixture of fine antiques, traditional mexican artcrafts, and pieces of contemporary mexican art, that made us remind how proud we are of our own rich culture. The service could not be better, absolutly personal. Amelia Lara, the owner, made us feel at home and enriched our trip. Thank you Amelia and ALL the people that work everyday at La Casona de Tita.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Stayed in Oaxaca for a three night weekend and I must say I couldn't have been happier with La Casona de Tita. Beautifull small hotel (6 guest rooms) in a quite section of town. After entering the front door you walk into a wonderful open courtyard surrounded by the guest rooms. Rooms are very spacious with 20 foot ceilings. Great homemade breakfast. Very quiet. Wonderful personnel who are very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

This is a 6 room hotel in Oaxaca City is the most luxury small hotel in town, as I have stayed in several this is by far the nicest one and one of the best in Mexico, breakfast is SUPERB, the owner Amela, makes you feel better than home, she is also the director of the Cultural Center of Santo Domingo, home made marmelade and traditional oaxacan food at its best. the rooms are very spacious and perfectly decorated, with linnens that would make you sleep hours. wounderful light but also perfect black out, very quiet and trqnuil, the only bad thing is that they still do not accept amercian express, they say it will be soon there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

Last week my husband, my parents in law and I stayed at La Casona de Tita for 2 nights. The house is beautiful (a colonial house, completely remodeled), the service is great (very friendly employees), the rooms are very spacious and very nicely decorated and the bathrooms are gorgeous. The house only has 6 rooms so it is very private. It has a patio where you can relax and read in the afternoons, and where you have breakfast in the mornings. Breakfast is wonderful, it is a la carte and its served from 8:00 to 1:00.
It is very close to the colonial city center (a few bloks from the Santo Domingo church), but it is very quiet at night.
We loved it!

  • Liked — Big rooms, privacy
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Casona De Tita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona De Tita

Address: GARCIA VIGIL 805, CENTRO | Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel comfortable and totally at ease at La Casona de Tita Hotel in Mexico. Our recipe for convenience – one that combines elegance, functionality, and confidence – gives you peace of mind all throughout your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Casona De Tita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Casona De Tita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.