We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The really best in Oaxaca!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Casona De Tita

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Casona De Tita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Casona De Tita
GARCIA VIGIL 805, CENTRO | Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #3 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The really best in Oaxaca!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

If you are looking for the really best hotel in Oaxaca then it is La Casona de Tita!
Very good located nice rooms.. outstanding nice breakfast and one of the most personal service ever! the rooms are nice. Its not a hotel its more a home in Oaxaca with great art etc!

Room Tip: Room No 5 is the nicest but quite noisy at night Room No 3 I like the most with two queen beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
18
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed in Oaxaca for a three night weekend and I must say I couldn't have been happier with La Casona de Tita. Beautifull small hotel (6 guest rooms) in a quite section of town. After entering the front door you walk into a wonderful open courtyard surrounded by the guest rooms. Rooms are very spacious with 20 foot ceilings. Great homemade breakfast. Very quiet. Wonderful personnel who are very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico city
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

The rooms are big and nice decorated, the service is good, the bathrooms are big, clean and new, with nice shower gadgets and clean white towels and cotton sheets.
The breakfast cannot be better, from the coffee, natutal juices, the jams, bread, and the Mexican specialities (slow food category) all these in a beautiful central modern mexican patio of these house.
I would never stay in any other hotel in Oaxaca, We had stayed in others beafore an defenetly this is the best.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

If you understand the advantages of a boutique hotel, with great location and real personal service (Amelia, the owner and Director of the hotel, is always happy to help you), make yourself a favor, and reserve at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

The first time I came in to La Casona de Tita I feel in love, clean contemporary design perfectly balance whit Mexican details and a great selection of beautiful pieces of art from the local artist, the patio it's perfect to relax and recover yourself from the long walks trough the city, once you get in to your room you find a enormous spaces whit a super comfortable bed and a great working area, the bathrooms are just superb and the seeling it's amazing whit just one button you can have natural light in to your room, this place really speak by itself pure and simple luxury, in addition to all this and what really step out from all other places is the service from the staff just amazing, from the the housekeeping to the front desk all of them make a wonderful work, really professional and helpful, the first time I stay at La Casona de Tita a year a go I only stay for 1 night and for my surprise they open the door to me this time and all them recognize me right away, they really make you feel at home.
And don't miss the exquisite breakfast included in the rate, they have the concept of the slow food which means they work whit local produce and they encourage the tradition of the food of the region, just fantastic, I work for a luxury hotel company and I been able to stay in wonderful places from Cabo San Lucas, The Maldives to Dubai and believe me this is the place to stay for the perfect holidays.
At last but not lease I want to thank to Amelia the great director of this wonderful place, she is a real professional and makes you feel at home.
I just can wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Our 3 nights stay in Oaxaca was wonderful! This petit hotel was, by far, the best part of our trip. It is located at a beautiful and typical mexican house, with a lovely and quiet courtyard in the middle. Perfectly restored!!! All rooms are very spacious with great bathrooms. All the hotel is decorated with wonderful taste, having in mind every little detail, from their celling domes that close at night, so you can sleep until late, till their beautiful starry floor at night that contest with the sky stars. All the hotel is furnished with a mixture of fine antiques, traditional mexican artcrafts, and pieces of contemporary mexican art, that made us remind how proud we are of our own rich culture. The service could not be better, absolutly personal. Amelia Lara, the owner, made us feel at home and enriched our trip. Thank you Amelia and ALL the people that work everyday at La Casona de Tita.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Stayed in Oaxaca for a three night weekend and I must say I couldn't have been happier with La Casona de Tita. Beautifull small hotel (6 guest rooms) in a quite section of town. After entering the front door you walk into a wonderful open courtyard surrounded by the guest rooms. Rooms are very spacious with 20 foot ceilings. Great homemade breakfast. Very quiet. Wonderful personnel who are very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Casona De Tita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona De Tita

Address: GARCIA VIGIL 805, CENTRO | Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel comfortable and totally at ease at La Casona de Tita Hotel in Mexico. Our recipe for convenience – one that combines elegance, functionality, and confidence – gives you peace of mind all throughout your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Casona De Tita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Casona De Tita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.