We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Siete Balcones

Save Saved
You added Casa de Siete Balcones to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Siete Balcones
Avenida Morelos 800, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
San Diego
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the Trip Advisor review, and were not disappointed. The location couldn't be better if you plan to center your visit on the historic center of the city. Everything you might want to see and everywhere you might want to eat is within easy walking distance. Being a city of stone buildings with narrow stone streets, the location can be quite noisy, but with the windows closed we weren't bothered, and the rooms do have air conditioning. (Note - the balcony is not broad enough to sit on but only to step out onto.) All rooms are on the second floor, surrounding a courtyard where breakfast is served each day. There are also some tables and comfortable chairs for sitting outside your room at night - note that the wifi reception within the room could be iffy, and I suspect based on their location that the reception in some of the other rooms might be even worse. (We were in "Erudito".) So sitting in the courtyard in the evening to catch up on my email was a good solution. The room was comfortable with a king bed, full sofa, and desk with chair, with a high ceiling tile floor. The bathroom was a bit small and had little space to put our toiletries. The television showed only local Mexican stations - no English, no CNN - but that wasn't really an issue for us. There is an attendant on site 24 hours/day so security is not a concern, and in any event the city center seemed quite safe to us. The front desk was extremely helpful, English was spoken (but not by the breakfast staff), and they were available to help plan excursions. There were other hotels nearby that were cheaper that we might look into for our next trip, but we had no regrets about staying here. The only thing that prevents me from giving a general five-star rating is that although very comfortable, clean, and well-run, the hotel lacked a certain feeling of luxury that would be necessary to give a highest rating. By the way - a few other guests were accompanied by small children and seemed happy, so the place is apparently appropriate for families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    23
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I spent 10 nights here last week and found this beautiful place to be quite wonderful. I enjoyed the smiles and advice from the knowledgeable staff, the delicious and healthy breakfasts, the charming room with fresh flowers everyday, and a location that is most convenient to all the museums, churches, and restaurants. I can't wait to return, especially for one of Oaxaca's festivals.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel is very well located, just a couple of minutes from the Zocalo. Our room was comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was fine, but a little small compared to the room. Breakfast was good - fruit, granola, yoghurt, pastries. The staff were friendly and helpful, giving us assistance when we wanted to visit Monte Alban. This is a good base to explore Oaxaca.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful place centrally located near everything. Everyone is so nice and helpful, both in the city and in this wonderful little hotel. The front staff make extra efforts to help with any of your plans for the day. The breakfast is good, as is the coffee. Make sure to order the oaxacan Tamale with black mole!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at this jewel of a hotel, and loved it.

The location is superb, the staff is gracious and friendly, the breakfast of fruit, break, granola, yoghurt, juice, and yoghurt is perfect to start the day.

The location - just a few blocks from The Zocalo. The hotel is at the corner of Morelos and Calle Macedonio Alacala (the pedestrian street), so if you can book one of the rooms on that side. One room is on the corner and the particularly looked airy.

Free wireless for guests, I found myself sitting at one of the chairs at the top of the stairs, settling in, and checking email to the sound of the fountain.

Be sure to check out the little elevator they use to get the luggage to the 2nd floor - smart, very smart.

Carol was intrigued by the "aztec temple" atop the building to the west - best viewed from the steps on the 2nd floor patio.

We hope you'll be as delighted by the people, location, and hotel as we were!

The windows have double glazed glass, so even if you open the shutters, you still have to open the sliding glass doors to hear the street life and occasional parade down the pedestrian street.

Room Tip: Get a room on the pedestrian street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed at Casa de Siete Balcones for 7 nights. From start to finish, the staff made sure that we had everything we needed (and more)! When our flights out of Newark were delayed by one day, Elsa and both Lisbeths (yes, there are 2!) reorganized the rooms in which we stayed, so that we would not have to change hotels. Since we wanted 2 separate beds, we first stayed in Jurisconsulto, a lovely room that was quiet and charming. We then moved to the Compania suite, very much enjoying 2 separate bedrooms and bathrooms. The beds were all very comfortable, and everything was meticulously clean. Breakfasts (included with the rooms) were delightful, with fresh fruit and orange juice, bread and sweetrolls, granola and yoghurt. One can also request eggs. The standard coffee and tea are also good. Location is ideal! But the most wonderful part of our stay was the staff, all of whom were friendly and who went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of! Thanks so much to Elsa Linda and both Lisbeths for their efforts on our behalf! Cannot recommend this hotel more highly!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed 6 nights in 2 different rooms in this charming accommodation. Both rooms were large and well appointed and both had very small bathrooms. The bathrooms lacked towel racks and space around the sink for toiletries and I felt needed to be updated. The hotel/rooms were very clean and the continental breakfast was adequate. As others have said, the staff was very attentive and helpful. Being 2 blocks from the Zocalo and on the corner made the accommodation noisy even with windows and shutters closed. I would suggest ear plugs if you plan to stay at Siete Balcones.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa de Siete Balcones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Siete Balcones

Address: Avenida Morelos 800, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Siete Balcones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Siete Balcones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.