We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home in Oaxaca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Siete Balcones

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa de Siete Balcones to your Saves list
Casa de Siete Balcones
Avenida Morelos 800, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Home from home in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed in this lovely hotel for 4 nights in October and would highly recommend it. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and friendly; the room was a good size with a lovely balcony on to the street and the breakfast was fresh and delicious. The hotel is in the perfect location to explore Oaxaca. I look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the main street side which was surprisingly quite and was fun to watch the action f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
50
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Spent a week in this lovely gem of a hotel. It is a small hotel in a beautiful colonial building, carefully and delightfully refurbished and decorated. The staff is gracious and professional. The room was large, and it did indeed have a balcony. I spent a fair amount of time leaning my elbows on the balcony rail and watching life go on, up and down the street. Although the room faced the street, noise was cancelled out by triple-paned windows and beautiful wooden shutters. So sleep was quiet and peaceful. The room was provided with fresh flowers. Breakfast was a work of art. The coffee was good. There was impressive attention to detail in all things, from housekeeping to reservations. Elsa Linda at the front desk was exceptionally kind and helpful in all matters, including arranging for taxis and tours. WiFi worked well. The hotel is a ideally located at the corner of a pedestrian-only street, a couple of blocks from the zocalo and three blocks from the Church of Santo Domingo de Guzman and its museum. I loved this hotel and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Oaxaca.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent 3 nights here during an anniversary trip to Oaxaca. I recommend this hotel not for plush towels or a big breakfast (if those things are important to you, maybe look elsewhere), but for its exceptional location on the pedestrian-only street running through downtown and the wonderful attention and service provided by the staff. It seemed to me to be operated by an all-female staff, all very sweet yet professional. The building and rooms are truly beautiful, and the sliding glass doors ensured that we really didn't hear too much noise from the street below. We would love to stay here if we return to Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Bellavista, with its two balconies on the corner, was great for people-watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Fantastic little boutique hotel at made us feel right at home. Perfectly located in central Oaxaca, the owners were more than happy to help us out with everything - including booking a good tour to nearby Mitla.
Would stay there again in a second.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We only stayed one night here, but would certainly recommend it to others. A very warm welcome from such hospitable and helpful staff. Nothing too much trouble. Beautiful building . Spacious room, individually furnished with antique furniture and fresh flowers. Trouble taken with detail. Clean. Good bathroom with toiletries. Tea and coffee facilities and water provided. Although fronting the road, it was quiet. Valet car parking included. Important in central Oaxaca. Let down by a somewhat disappointing breakfast.

Room Tip: Unable to help here as satisfied with room allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I spent five nights at the Casa de Siete Balcones during a 10 day trip to Oaxaca for our honeymoon. We absolutely loved our stay! The staff is just wonderful - they had our room decorated "honeymoon style" and a bottle of wine ready when we arrived. They were exceptionally kind, thoughtful, and did everything they could to make our stay as perfect as it could be.

The location is also awesome - just blocks away from all the major sights in the city.

It's not cheap, but for us totally worth it. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Everything was amazing from the moment of making our reservation to the moment we left

Room Tip: Tell them what you leed and they will work it for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Siete Balcones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Siete Balcones

Address: Avenida Morelos 800, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa de Siete Balcones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Siete Balcones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.