We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Siete Balcones

Save Saved
You added Casa de Siete Balcones to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Siete Balcones
Avenida Morelos 800, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location - Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I spent five nights at the Casa de Siete Balcones during a 10 day trip to Oaxaca for our honeymoon. We absolutely loved our stay! The staff is just wonderful - they had our room decorated "honeymoon style" and a bottle of wine ready when we arrived. They were exceptionally kind, thoughtful, and did everything they could to make our stay as perfect as it could be.

The location is also awesome - just blocks away from all the major sights in the city.

It's not cheap, but for us totally worth it. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    23
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Everything was amazing from the moment of making our reservation to the moment we left

Room Tip: Tell them what you leed and they will work it for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in Casa de Siete Balcones for our trip in Oaxaca. The hotel was steps away from the Zocalo, Cathedral, and church of San Francisco. The hotel was right on the peatonal and thus very close to most of what the tourist wants to see in Centro Oaxaca.

The staff was very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Despite our arriving early for our stay, the staff received our luggage and had them waiting for us in our room later in the day.

The breakfast was good, continental, but given the great options available at nearby restaurants, our kids ate at the hotel and we went to a local cafe.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. On our arrival we told Elsa, the reception manager, we were having car problems and she couldn't of been more efficient about calling our rental car provider and sorting out our problem. The rooms are large, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Our room had a king sized bed (a bit too short for us though, our feet hung off the bed!) and staff were very accomodating with our 8 month old baby, providing a cot and baby chair for him. Our laundry was done in 24 hours and all rooms have double glazing, so we weren't bothered with noisy Oaxaca nightlife. Breakfasts are a bit disappointing, very weak coffee and dry bread buns. But you get a nice plate of fresh fruit, granola and yogurt. On the whole, we would definitely recommend and return to this hotel, it made our stay in Oaxaca very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Through a series of booking errors at NY’s Park Avenue Hotel years ago, management upgraded me into the best suite. It had a huge, corner wraparound balcony overlooking both 5th Avenue and Central Park. I was King for the weekend!

That is how I felt in the Bella Vista room at Siete Balcones.

This hotel is like the prow of a ship, floating over the historic zone. It is at an epicenter of colonial architecture. Traditional Oaxaca vibrations blast all senses, (yes, including the “sounds” other reviewers mention.)

Bella Vista is the flagship room, etched on the hotel’s logo. This corner gets most of the City’s processions and parades, perhaps because of the Acala (pedestrian only)/Morelos (automobile) combination. Parades come in any of four directions, with no notice. They can include giant balloons, carnival figures, traditional dancers, Jesus, and fireworks. On one day, the parades was 400 3-wheeled moto taxis bound for blessing at the Basilica down the street. Then came Carli and Adriana’s wedding, followed later by a re-creation of Viennese Waltzes as danced in old Oaxaca. Finally, a parade for Something I Never Figured Out went down Acala at dusk. Make sure your video camera has plenty memory---from your fly-on-the-wall vantage point, you see everything. (. . . and nobody notices you. Maybe TMI, but we watched the wedding procession in bathrobes!)

The hotel pays remarkable, consistent attention to detail and cleanliness. Maintenance is challenging for sensitively renovated colonial buildings. The hotel’s performance is astounding. It just *smells* clean, without perfuming chemicals. The lack of chips, cracks, idiosyncratic plumbing, etc. in the natural materials, is characteristic of hotels double the price. Soundproof outer balcony doors are so clean staff warns you not to bump into them.

Prior reviews about noise frankly scared me. I am sensitive to sound. (At home, I am in constant negotiation with my neighbor’s barking pit bull.) Yes, there are many sounds in Oaxaca. The hotel is smack dab in a vibrant city and may not be for everyone. Nevertheless, I did not lose sleep. The hotel has an interesting “soundproof” system. When you close the balcony doors, it is like turning off a loud radio. The only sound that got through was the traffic signal’s “chirper” for sight-impaired pedestrians. The City turns it off late at night, but one suggestion for hotel management: “Use your political power and turn down the chirper volume.

Room Tip: Tip for silence seekers: “Juriconsulto” is on the pedestrian side (Acala). “Bella Vista” faces bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. Elsa and Lizbeth were both so helpful and friendly; nothing was too much trouble. The room was big and had a balcony onto a noisy street so we kept the door shut. The furnishings are OK, but not as good or as up to date as you'd expect for the price. It felt like staying in a guesthouse rather than a hotel, which we liked beacuse of the personal service. Breakfasts were great, and served on a beautiful covered terrace. The location is excellent, really close to everything.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the pedestrian street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in siete balcones. The rooms are beautiful and prepared with love for detail. The service is excellent and it's very centrally located. Rooms that show on the street get some noise when the window is open. The b&b is not cheap, but we would go there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Siete Balcones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Siete Balcones

Address: Avenida Morelos 800, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Siete Balcones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Siete Balcones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.