We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, wonderful experience, very recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Catrina

Save Saved
You added Casa Catrina to your Saves list
Casa Catrina
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Catrina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Garcia Vigil 703, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, wonderful experience, very recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is a small but very personal and detailed hotel, food is excellent, rooms are all different all very nice, service is excellent and very personalized. Very very close to all major attractions (walking distance). Hotel is secure and beds and linens are excellent quality. Spacious bathroom with hot water and AC for those very hot days.

Room Tip: Biggest room is the Red Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
13
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puebla, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

For us like a family (3 kids) it's very important to have a nice and beautiful hotel. Otherwise vacacions won't be relaxing. At Casa Catrina we felt like home - even the kids. It was our 2nd stay there and we'll will regress for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I loved this hotel. It was the perfect combination of Mexican style and atmosphere, with all the Western amenities and conveniences I like in a hotel. The service was personal and gracious. The location was great: close to the center where everything is, but on a nice, quieter street than some hotels. It was clean and everything seemed new and in great condition. I really couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of days. The hotel is very close to the main attractions. The staff is wonderfull and all of them show "customer focus".
The hotel doesn't have a main restaurant; however, it offers an excellent breakfast.
This is a classic boutique hotel with just 6 rooms, no restaurant, no swimming pool but great service.
Oaxaca is a City that offers excelent restaurants and great places to go, so you don't spend the day at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainfield, nj
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Stayed here while visiting Oaxaca for the Days of the Dead celebrations. The hotel is well located, close enough to walk to everything, yet far enough away to allow for quiet. The rooms were comfortable and well maintained. English speaking staff attended to our every need and made our life simpler. Their warm and caring attitudes made them feel like family inspiring hugs all around when we left. The daily breakfasts were hearty, filling and delicious; a perfect way to start the day. When members of our party acquired travellers discomfort they offered up special food and drink which quickly put us back on our feet to enjoy all the town had to offer. Can't wait to stay with them again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

I chose this hotel because it is expensive and in my experience in hotels the more expensive the better, but after these vacations I wil have to change my theory.
It is a 4 room house with no restaurant, no pool, no parking, no service room, no nothing. The rooms are dark because the windows are too amall and you don't have privacy because it is a house. If you are hungry you have to get out of the hotel because they don't even have the servi-bar they promise in the web page.
I wouldn' recommend this hotel to anyone. The Camino Real costs the same and is the best hotel in Oaxaca, I wish I knew this before.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2006

http://www.casacatrina.com.mx/

Hotel has lovely rooms (see website), excellent breakfasts and a good location very close to Santo Domingo, but unfortunately the appeal ends there. For the price (almost $200/night, though these days all hotels seem to have become quite expensive in Oaxaca for what you get), I expected much more. Sheets and towels were rough, bed was too firm (though that's the case throughout Mexico), pillows seemed to be foam, no radio in the room, and the service, while friendly, was not competent. A complaint about a spraying faucet recieved a promise that it would be looked into, but nothing happened. Another complaint about the awful wi-fi connection received the same. Restaurant recommendations were weak. I feel I should have paid the extra $$ and stayed at Casa Oaxaca which looked very nice from the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Catrina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Catrina

Address: Garcia Vigil 703, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Catrina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa catrina a colonial oaxacan family home, has been beautifully renovated to create a new hospitality venue within the heart of vibrant and colorful oaxaca city. This quaint hotel is the brainchild of noted oaxacan artist Rolando Rojas, an internationally renowned painter.Six guestrooms are distributed around a central courtyard where exquisite full oaxacan breakfast can be enjoyed. While guestrooms ares similar in design, decor in each is based on a unique color scheme that matches the artwork that is featured in each accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Casa Catrina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Catrina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.