We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family to stay with!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de los Angeles

Save Saved
You added Casa de los Angeles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de los Angeles
2a Cerrada de Macedonio Alcala 207 | Col. Diaz Ordaz, Oaxaca 68040, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 92 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Saskatoon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great family to stay with!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We recently stayed three weeks in Casa de los Angeles and would certainly go back again. The food was interesting and always different, and of excellent quality. For us one of the main benefits was that the house was located on a quiet street, and we were always able to get a good night's sleep. The family was very helpful, and assisted in any problems that arose - went out of their way in my opinion. Rene was excellent in the manner that he spoke Spanish to people staying there; always slowly and at the level that people could follow.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
12
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

I have just returned from my second stay at Casa de los Angeles in Oaxaca. If I am fortunate enough to return to Oaxaca I will be sure to plan my trip around another homestay with Paula, Rene and Marta. Their lovely home is situated in a secure location, a perfect walking distance from the zocalo. It is <5 minutes walk from a major road where there is easy access to taxis and buses. The first class bus station is within walking distance or a very short cab ride if you have lots of luggage. I rarely ate out as I hated to miss the fellowship and incredible meals. The food is delicious, healthy and provide a daily lesson on the best of Mexican cuisine. Paula and Rene are very kind, both quick to help with any inquiries. They are extremely patient as non-Spanish speakers tentatively try their new language. Their home is very comfortable and clean with a shared lounge for the exclusive use of guests, equipped with TV and Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011 via mobile

We were lucky to find this B&B. Start with the breakfasts... fresh squeezed juice, sweet bread, coffee, fruit and yogurt. THEN scrambled eggs with salsa or some other amazing traditional dish. The rooms are modest but well taken care of. It's close to the historic district on a private side street. Rene, the host, is very helpful and encouraging even though our Spanish isn't so great. We've stayed there twice and recommended it to our friends who liked it too.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed with Paula and Rene for 3 weeks in September 2010. Although this was my husband's 3rd trip to Oaxaca, we decided not to repeat any of his previous home stays. Casa de los Angeles was highly recommended by an acquaintance and now we agree. The house, bedrooms and bathrooms were spotless. Breakfast and 'la comida' were prepared with much skill and reflected the complex and varied flavors of Oaxaca. A 5 minute walk to Avenida Ninos Heroes and the Instituto Cultural, the neighborhood was quiet; no night-time disturbances or loud trucks. Best of all were the hosts, Paula and Rene, who kept up a lively and diverse conversation at meals, making sure that everyone, regardless of their Spanish skills, could contribute and understand. They were kind, helpful and knowledgeable about so many aspects of Oaxaca, including politics, society, culture and literature. We will definitely stay at Casa de los Angeles when we return to Oaxaca.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Rene and Paula offer a charming and comfortable stay close to the city center in Oaxaca. Their B and B is squeaky clean and very comfortable. Although the baths are shared, they are very private. There is lots of opportunity to be completely alone as well as share wonderful, intelligent conversation with Rene and Paula and the students who often stay in their home. And the best part is the food! Wow! It is fresh and healthy and some of the best food I have every eaten! Breakfast is part of the package and "la comida" is available at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Casa de los Angeles bed and breakfast is in a nice, quiet, safe location close to the main tourist spots. They serve large, amazing, authentic Oaxacan breakfasts every morning. The rooms are clean, simple and very comfortable in Rene and Paola's beautiful home. The hosts were very helpful and patient with our limited Spanish as well as offered advice about sightseeing. They also pick you up from the airport! I feel we were very lucky to have stayed at Casa de Los Angeles!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa de los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Angeles

Address: 2a Cerrada de Macedonio Alcala 207 | Col. Diaz Ordaz, Oaxaca 68040, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de los Angeles is an intimate family-run guest house offering bed and breakfast in the colonial city of Oaxaca, Mexico. The guest house provides terraces and patios to allow you to rest under the beautiful blue skies of Oaxaca. An elegantly decorated home with modern Mexican flair and Old World charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa de los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.