We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Oaxaca!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de los Angeles

Save Saved
You added Casa de los Angeles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de los Angeles
2a Cerrada de Macedonio Alcala 207 | Col. Diaz Ordaz, Oaxaca 68040, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 92 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice in Oaxaca!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This family run posada is everything I could hope for. The location is within walking distance of most attractions. The proprietors, Rene and Paula, are engaging. The comfortable rooms are immaculate ~ even Mr. Clean himself would choose to stay here. The authentic ample Oaxaquean breakfasts are different everyday; and the fresh ingredients have been selected with care. It's fairly quiet (for Mexico) and there are ample outside spaces for relaxing. This is my second stay lasting 1 month.

Room Tip: There are rooms with both private and shared baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
12
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the start and end of our honeymoon at Casa de los Angeles and had an amazing time. Rene was a wealth of knowledge and provided excellent advice when required. The location was central and close to the main square. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was fantastic as was the rooftop terrace and the kitchen in particular was amazing with artisan breakfasts provided each morning,
We would recommend 100 percent

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We recently stayed here for a week's holiday and then while taking Spanish classes at the Instituto Cultural de Oaxaca. As stated by others, the breakfasts were wonderful; the rooms are well cared for and very clean. The hosts are very welcoming and helpful. Sometimes there is loud music on Friday and Saturday nights from a nearby spot. In Mexico, one learns to cope with such disturbances. If you think the music might bother you, you might wish to bring earplugs with you. It also helps to close the window(s). The location of this B & B is great for walking to the zocalo, the nearby organic food market, restaurants and other spots such as the many museums.

Room Tip: There is one room which does not face the street. Although the street is relatively quiet, you migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in July and really enjoyed this home. We had a room that shared a bathroom but no one else was there so we had it to ourselves. The house is outside the town and you have to walk about 10 minutes from the Cultural center to get there. The family was lovely and Marta the cook is amazing. Prepare to eat a lot. It rained a lot in the evening when we were there so it was a mad dash out to try to find something to eat at night. Two nights it rained so hard we just had something in our room. The property is clean and the family very helpful. The price is excellent for a couple.The room can be noisy with a busy street below. Maybe you get use to it? Enjoy!!

Room Tip: I am not sure if there is a quiet room. Maybe the one above the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Great stay at Casa de los Angeles. Rene and Marta were so welcoming and friendly. Marta must be one of the best cooks in Oaxaca! The breakfast here is spectacular and completely different every day. Every morning we were so excited to go downstairs and see what was on the menu.

Huge room, extremely clean and comfortable. The hosts went out of their way to ensure our happiness. This place is very close to the center of town and tourist attractions, also conveniently off of a great "walking street".

We would definitely stay here again. In fact, we can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed at Casa de los Angeles for three weeks while studying Spanish at the Instituto Cultural de Oaxaca. The Casa is located within walking distance of the main sites in the center of the City. The family couldn't have been more welcoming, and provided information on various features of Oaxaca. The room was spacious and immaculate, as was the bathroom. And the food was freshly cooked, delicious and so plentiful that I only was able to eat 2 meals a day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay with the hosts, Paula and Rene, for six nights. They are generous, kind and most helpful. Marta's breakfasts are wonderful.... best Oaxacan dishes we ate. The house is spotless. Location is very good -- about a 10 minute walk to major sites in town and two minutes to the Instituto Cultural and the first class bus terminal.

Anna and Peter
Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Angeles

Address: 2a Cerrada de Macedonio Alcala 207 | Col. Diaz Ordaz, Oaxaca 68040, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de los Angeles is an intimate family-run guest house offering bed and breakfast in the colonial city of Oaxaca, Mexico. The guest house provides terraces and patios to allow you to rest under the beautiful blue skies of Oaxaca. An elegantly decorated home with modern Mexican flair and Old World charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa de los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.