We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Oaxaca!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de los Angeles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa de los Angeles to your Saves list
Casa de los Angeles
2a Cerrada de Macedonio Alcala 207 | Col. Diaz Ordaz, Oaxaca 68040, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 108 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gem in Oaxaca!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Great stay at Casa de los Angeles. Rene and Marta were so welcoming and friendly. Marta must be one of the best cooks in Oaxaca! The breakfast here is spectacular and completely different every day. Every morning we were so excited to go downstairs and see what was on the menu.

Huge room, extremely clean and comfortable. The hosts went out of their way to ensure our happiness. This place is very close to the center of town and tourist attractions, also conveniently off of a great "walking street".

We would definitely stay here again. In fact, we can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed at Casa de los Angeles for three weeks while studying Spanish at the Instituto Cultural de Oaxaca. The Casa is located within walking distance of the main sites in the center of the City. The family couldn't have been more welcoming, and provided information on various features of Oaxaca. The room was spacious and immaculate, as was the bathroom. And the food was freshly cooked, delicious and so plentiful that I only was able to eat 2 meals a day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay with the hosts, Paula and Rene, for six nights. They are generous, kind and most helpful. Marta's breakfasts are wonderful.... best Oaxacan dishes we ate. The house is spotless. Location is very good -- about a 10 minute walk to major sites in town and two minutes to the Instituto Cultural and the first class bus terminal.

Anna and Peter
Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 155004Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

This is an excellent choice of location for a stay in Oaxaca. It is a fifteen minute walk from the heart of the city in a quiet and pleasant neighbourhood. The rooms are clean and comfortable and offer good value. The breakfasts are always well cooked and present a great opportunity to practise Spanish - something we are both in need of! We're looking forward to returning one day if we ever have the opportunity.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side can pick up noises from the street if the window's are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barra_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We recently stayed three weeks in Casa de los Angeles and would certainly go back again. The food was interesting and always different, and of excellent quality. For us one of the main benefits was that the house was located on a quiet street, and we were always able to get a good night's sleep. The family was very helpful, and assisted in any problems that arose - went out of their way in my opinion. Rene was excellent in the manner that he spoke Spanish to people staying there; always slowly and at the level that people could follow.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChemistSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

I have just returned from my second stay at Casa de los Angeles in Oaxaca. If I am fortunate enough to return to Oaxaca I will be sure to plan my trip around another homestay with Paula, Rene and Marta. Their lovely home is situated in a secure location, a perfect walking distance from the zocalo. It is <5 minutes walk from a major road where there is easy access to taxis and buses. The first class bus station is within walking distance or a very short cab ride if you have lots of luggage. I rarely ate out as I hated to miss the fellowship and incredible meals. The food is delicious, healthy and provide a daily lesson on the best of Mexican cuisine. Paula and Rene are very kind, both quick to help with any inquiries. They are extremely patient as non-Spanish speakers tentatively try their new language. Their home is very comfortable and clean with a shared lounge for the exclusive use of guests, equipped with TV and Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jvandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We were lucky to find this B&B. Start with the breakfasts... fresh squeezed juice, sweet bread, coffee, fruit and yogurt. THEN scrambled eggs with salsa or some other amazing traditional dish. The rooms are modest but well taken care of. It's close to the historic district on a private side street. Rene, the host, is very helpful and encouraging even though our Spanish isn't so great. We've stayed there twice and recommended it to our friends who liked it too.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariojames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.6 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#19 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.6 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#3 of 110 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#27 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#2 of 110 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Angeles

Address: 2a Cerrada de Macedonio Alcala 207 | Col. Diaz Ordaz, Oaxaca 68040, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de los Angeles is an intimate family-run guest house offering bed and breakfast in the colonial city of Oaxaca, Mexico. The guest house provides terraces and patios to allow you to rest under the beautiful blue skies of Oaxaca. An elegantly decorated home with modern Mexican flair and Old World charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa de los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing