We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent location and a really comfortable hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Vertiz

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Vertiz
Save
You added Hotel Casa Vertiz to your Saves list
Reforma 404, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“An excellent location and a really comfortable hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We were very impressed when we stopped in for breakfast at the Casa Vértiz and asked to see the rooms on a previous trip to Oaxaca. On this trip we confirmed that first impression. This is a very nice small hotel, comfortable and agreeable in every way possible.

A restaurant operates in the front patio of the hotel with tables set out in a tree-shaded area. The location is exceptional: near the main sights and the templo de Sto Domingo and the Jardin Ethnobotanico and many restaurants in the northern sector of the centro histórico, but despite being on a busy street the hotel is quiet. Rooms are grouped on two levels around the rear patio, insulated from street noise. It was a hot week in Oaxaca, but although rooms are air-conditioned we didn't feel that we needed it - the trees in the patios keep the building cool.

The rooms are nice and decently appointed without being fussy. The bed was really comfortable, and the many electrical outlets are conveniently located. The skylight in the bathroom provided great natural lighting. We had a room on the second floor, with easy access to the roof top terrace, particularly nice in the evening. This hotel is excellent value for money in the off season.

The front desk is attentive and helpful. The restaurant is competent, although service is leisurely and the coffee mediocre. There is complimentary Internet access. Parking at day rates with in/out priviliges can be had at a pension in an adjacent street. Very nice small hotel, comfortable and agreeable in every way possible and highly recommended. A restaurant operates in the front patio of the hotel with tables set out in a tree-shaded area. The location is exceptional: near the main sights and the templo de Sto Domingo and the Jardin Ethnobotanico and many restaurants in the northern sector of the centro histórico, but despite being on a busy street the hotel is quiet. Rooms are grouped on two levels around the rear patio, insulated from street noise. It was a hot week in Oaxaca, but although rooms are air-conditioned we didn't feel that we needed it - the trees in the patios keep the building cool.

The rooms are nice and decently appointed without being fussy. The bed was really comfortable, and the many electrical outlets are conveniently located. The skylight in the bathroom provided great natural lighting. We had a room on the second floor, with easy access to the roof top terrace, particularly nice in the evening. This hotel is excellent value for money in the off season.

The front desk is attentive and helpful. The restaurant is competent, although service is leisurely and the coffee mediocre. There is complimentary Internet access. Parking at day rates with in/out priviliges can be had at a pension in an adjacent street.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Probably brighter on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is our first stay at Casa Vertiz in oaxaca and we couldn't be happier. The hotel is built around a lush, almost tropical internal courtyard and has roof terrace with fantastic view of the Santa Domingo church. We stayed in room 'Paccas' which we would recommend as it is at the back of the upper level of the courtyard, so it's quieter and more private than some of the other rooms. We chose to have breakfast in the hotel courtyard as the food was excellent, the service extremely polite and endless cups of good coffee. The room was very clean and there's also a coffee machine in the room, which we loved. The location is perfect and in a great part of town. You can walk everywhere and Calle Reforma is not too busy like some of the other streets in town. Reception are very helpful but communication is in spanish (its ok even if you have bad spanish!). We had a load of washing done also which was very cheap and came back in a couple of hours. We paid 850 pesos for a queen room in February which is very reasonable for such a great hotel. We would stay here again and will recommend it to our friends. It's also next door to the best restaurant (in our humble opinion) in Oaxaca city - 'La Olla'. Which you will find difficult to stay away from if you sleep here! Happy holiday in this fantastic city!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room upstairs at the back of the hotel called 'Paccas' which was great, quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I LOVE this hotel. This is the second time we have stayed at the Casa Vertiz (see review from 2 years ago below). It is STILL amazing, and still has one of the best locations yet is not noisy. The ENTIRE staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant STILL has amazing breakfast, lunch, dinner, and coffee. There is hot water that just won't quit and awesome water pressure. It's a great value for the money - we paid what came out to be $82/night in the high season between Christmas and New Years. Here's a helpful tip that I didn't know last time - if you request it, there is a pillow top available for the bed that makes it so much better. :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I traveled there with my fiancée my sister and a friend; we were there only to spend the night in order to continue our road trip throughout the south east part of Mexico. We spent a night starting our trip and another night a couple of weeks later to end our trip, however, we decided to stay an extra night since the hotel had an excellent location, amazing food, it was really comfortable and cozy and most importantly, it had amazing ´home made´ coffee, toasted on the spot. I stayed in 6 other hotels during this trip in this hotel really left a mark on our trip to all of us. And I can’t wait to come back with the rest of my family for at least a week of stay there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Spent three nights at Casa Vertiz in late November. Everything from check-in, to the room, to breakfast, to my departure was handled very professionally and courteously.
I had a double room with 2 queen beds that was large, nicely decorated, and very quiet. All of the Casa Vertiz rooms are at the back, far away from the street. If you have been to Oaxaca, you know that traffic noise can be a problem. Here we only heard the sounds of birds chirping in the courtyard. The beds were firm, but not too hard, and had nice fluffy down duvets. A 26" flat panel TV had a broad range of cable channels including some in English. Ther was a large wardrobe in which to store your clothes, and a beautiful skylit bathroom with plenty of space.
A special mention goes to the restaurant. It is a nice setting in the front courtyard, and though we only took breakfast there, the food was great, and service very nice. It did a substantial amount of business with locals, which to me indicates they like it too!
I would certainly stay here again if I retunr to Oaxaca!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Large rooms, comfortable beds and very nice bathrooms at a fair price is what you will find at this centrally located gem. Only a block from Santo Domingo it is well placed. Free internet is a plus. We paid around 900 pesos per room for two rooms. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

we stayed here for three nights in the middle of september. no breakfast included, but a solid hotel with nice, clean rooms and a pretty garden. breakfast is on the pricey side, but actually the restaurant is frequented by locals, so that speaks well. small spot. think i would prefer this hotel versus camino real or something like that.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Vertiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Vertiz

Address: Reforma 404, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Vertiz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.