We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven in Oaxaca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Vertiz

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Vertiz
Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Vertiz to your Saves list
Reforma 404, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Haven in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is our first stay at Casa Vertiz in oaxaca and we couldn't be happier. The hotel is built around a lush, almost tropical internal courtyard and has roof terrace with fantastic view of the Santa Domingo church. We stayed in room 'Paccas' which we would recommend as it is at the back of the upper level of the courtyard, so it's quieter and more private than some of the other rooms. We chose to have breakfast in the hotel courtyard as the food was excellent, the service extremely polite and endless cups of good coffee. The room was very clean and there's also a coffee machine in the room, which we loved. The location is perfect and in a great part of town. You can walk everywhere and Calle Reforma is not too busy like some of the other streets in town. Reception are very helpful but communication is in spanish (its ok even if you have bad spanish!). We had a load of washing done also which was very cheap and came back in a couple of hours. We paid 850 pesos for a queen room in February which is very reasonable for such a great hotel. We would stay here again and will recommend it to our friends. It's also next door to the best restaurant (in our humble opinion) in Oaxaca city - 'La Olla'. Which you will find difficult to stay away from if you sleep here! Happy holiday in this fantastic city!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room upstairs at the back of the hotel called 'Paccas' which was great, quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I LOVE this hotel. This is the second time we have stayed at the Casa Vertiz (see review from 2 years ago below). It is STILL amazing, and still has one of the best locations yet is not noisy. The ENTIRE staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant STILL has amazing breakfast, lunch, dinner, and coffee. There is hot water that just won't quit and awesome water pressure. It's a great value for the money - we paid what came out to be $82/night in the high season between Christmas and New Years. Here's a helpful tip that I didn't know last time - if you request it, there is a pillow top available for the bed that makes it so much better. :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I traveled there with my fiancée my sister and a friend; we were there only to spend the night in order to continue our road trip throughout the south east part of Mexico. We spent a night starting our trip and another night a couple of weeks later to end our trip, however, we decided to stay an extra night since the hotel had an excellent location, amazing food, it was really comfortable and cozy and most importantly, it had amazing ´home made´ coffee, toasted on the spot. I stayed in 6 other hotels during this trip in this hotel really left a mark on our trip to all of us. And I can’t wait to come back with the rest of my family for at least a week of stay there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Spent three nights at Casa Vertiz in late November. Everything from check-in, to the room, to breakfast, to my departure was handled very professionally and courteously.
I had a double room with 2 queen beds that was large, nicely decorated, and very quiet. All of the Casa Vertiz rooms are at the back, far away from the street. If you have been to Oaxaca, you know that traffic noise can be a problem. Here we only heard the sounds of birds chirping in the courtyard. The beds were firm, but not too hard, and had nice fluffy down duvets. A 26" flat panel TV had a broad range of cable channels including some in English. Ther was a large wardrobe in which to store your clothes, and a beautiful skylit bathroom with plenty of space.
A special mention goes to the restaurant. It is a nice setting in the front courtyard, and though we only took breakfast there, the food was great, and service very nice. It did a substantial amount of business with locals, which to me indicates they like it too!
I would certainly stay here again if I retunr to Oaxaca!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Large rooms, comfortable beds and very nice bathrooms at a fair price is what you will find at this centrally located gem. Only a block from Santo Domingo it is well placed. Free internet is a plus. We paid around 900 pesos per room for two rooms. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

we stayed here for three nights in the middle of september. no breakfast included, but a solid hotel with nice, clean rooms and a pretty garden. breakfast is on the pricey side, but actually the restaurant is frequented by locals, so that speaks well. small spot. think i would prefer this hotel versus camino real or something like that.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

LOCATION - A / perfectly situated on one of the nicer streets
ROOM - B / roomy with some nice details; quiet
BED - C / firm, very firm
SERVICE & FRIENDLINESS - A
INTERNET ACCESS - B / free but painfully slow
PARKING - N/A
GYM & SPA - N/A
AMENITIES & "EXTRAS" - N/A
OVERALL VIBE - B+ / very charming setting and "feel" compared to other Oaxaca hotels (and we toured A LOT!)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Vertiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Vertiz

Address: Reforma 404, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Vertiz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.