We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Provincia

Hotel La Provincia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel La Provincia to your Saves list
Hotel La Provincia
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Calle Porfirio Diaz 108, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 103 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
México
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not good enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Nice boutique hotel with a great location where the service and maintenance did not match expectations or price. The overnight service was lacking, the bed squeaked all the time, front desk was not too amicable and my room had a sewer odor at all times. It could be a lot more.

The breakfast was ok, not great by mexican standards. The waiter was bossy and not respectfull of your space or timing.

Next time I will look elsewhere when I return to Oaxaca

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed eight nights in Oaxaca at La Provincia. The Hotel is a beautifully restored hacienda in just a block off the Zocalo. Despite the proximity to the busy plaza, the rooms are very quiet. Our room was very comfortable, and included a king bed, sofa, desk and chair, safe and television with cable. The staff set up a great private tour of Monte Alban with an English speaking guide. The breakfast was included, and all the restaurant staff were great, attentive and accommodating.

We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights here and wished we could have stayed longer. Located just a few steps away from the Zocolo it was perfect for exploring this delightful city on foot. The rooms are grouped round courtyards full of flowering plants and fountains. Ours was at the back, so we weren't bothered by street noise, which might be a problem for the rooms facing the front. The room was simply but comfortably furnished, with an excellent shower-room- no bath. Breakfast was cooked to order, and came well presented and promptly.
The staff were courteous, and helpful. They smiled too- which we did not find at all of the hotels on this trip.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Just 1.5 blocks from the Zocalo, this hotel packs all the modern amenities into a classic old courtyard building. Very clean, with A/C, LCD TV and good on-site restaurant. Very attentive service. Rooms can be dark, but that's because they open on to small courtyards that provide cool shade and relief from the heat. Ask for a room in the rear and you'll never know there is heavy city traffic buzzing by out front.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

The hotel is charming and clean. It is located right in the Historic area of Oaxaca within walking distance to everything in that area. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The ambience is tranquil. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

We passed on a deal for the Holiday Inn for what we thought would be a luxury boutique hotel based upon the online photos. Two adults, 5 nights. We were flatly disappointed by the small room and the tiny full-size bed (it is listed as a queen). Although the room looked just like the photos, it felt nothing like them. The room was stuffy, windowless and echo-y, appointed with cheap wood furniture and hard-as-rock bed. The wireless internet connection may have been some consolation if the signal had not been consistently poor to non-existent. To the hotel's credit: breakfast is great and was included, the room was very quiet which is a good thing in a Oaxaca hotel, the room was clean (although they skimp on re-supplying the room with shampoo, toilet paper and bottled water), and most importantly--the hotel is very nicely located just off the Zocalo. The staff seemed very removed and cold except for a very nice waiter in the restaurant. The hotel common space and restaurant have a lovely ambiance. Our advice: go here if you are primarily looking for location an peace and quite. If you are looking for luxury and service, stay away!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a 10-night stay in Hotel La Provincia, an elegant boutique hotel located in the heart of Oaxaca's historic district, approximately two blocks from the zocalo central square. We had not heard much about the hotel before we arrived, so we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived after a long day of travel and stepped into the beautiful hotel, which is centered around two open-air courtyards. We were greeted by an exceptionally friendly receptionist who showed us to our room. Although the room was on the small side, it was beautifully appointed with lovely furnishings, an enormous closet with ample shelving, fresh flowers, high thread-count, embroidered linen sheets, a coffee maker, a hair dryer - basically all of the appointments that one would expect from a luxury hotel anywhere in the world. The bathroom was a bit small, but the shower was large and had great water pressure. It had lovely tile work and an elaborate mirror with plenty of shelving for our cosmetics. Because we were staying for such a long period of time, the hotel management upgraded us to a larger room with a king-sized bed mid-way through our stay. The extremely helpful staff helped us move all of our belongings from one room to the next. The public space in the hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The first open-air patio that one sees upon entering the hotel is the hotel's restaurant. It is a sunken patio with just a few elegantly appointed tables. The second open-air patio is a lovely garden. The second-story balcony overlooking the patios are surrounded by small groupings of bistro tables and chairs. From one of the balconies, one can see the cupola of the cathedral next door. The effect of the entire space is enchanting.

Even more delightful than the beautiful space was the extremely agreeable and accomodating staff. Despite the hotel's small size (15 rooms and 2 suites), the reception desk was staffed at all times. Friendly waiters served a complimentary breakfast every morning. The receptionists helped us plan tours of the area, called taxis for us, gave us directions, made wake-up calls, sent laundry out for us, and basically helped us in any way that we needed. The chambermaids remembered our specific preferences - for example, a request for extra towels on one day was honored every day after that. When we wanted a snack, the chef made what I craved - even though it was not on the menu.

The location of the hotel was ideal. We were able to walk easily to every location within the historic district. It took approximately three minutes to walk to all of the cafes of the zocalo, for example. It took approximately ten minutes to walk to the Santo Domingo cultural center.

Please note that the photos on the hotel's web-site are absolutely accurate. They give a very good idea of what the restaurant and rooms look like.

We truly loved our stay at La Provincia and hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Provincia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Provincia

Address: Calle Porfirio Diaz 108, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Provincia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel La Provincia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Provincia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.