We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the heart of Oaxaca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador San Miguel

Save Saved
You added Parador San Miguel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Parador San Miguel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Independencia 503, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Up grade!
Ranked #11 of 110 hotels in Oaxaca
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“in the heart of Oaxaca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights and it was our first time in Oaxaca. We have enjoyed our stay here. The staff are very friendly, the hotel is very clean and nice. We loved especially all the different birds in the patio and the food in the restaurant ! Especially the coffee and the breakfast omelette with spinach and mushrooms were delicious. We definitely will go back there ! Also the hotel is very close to the zocalo and the santo domingo convent !

Room Tip: as the hotel is in the center and directly at one of the busy streets Avenida Independencia, you bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    64
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
80
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I almost don't want to write this review for the Parador San Miguel, because if everyone learns how fantastic it is, I may not be able to get a room when I go back.
It's in a great central location. The rooms are beautiful, and the staff are welcoming and warm. The room was a little noisy, but the hotel is so beautiful and comfortable, that this didn't bother us. The food at the restaurant was good too.
I couldn't fault this place.

Room Tip: I suggest requesting a room on the upper level and toward the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks while we took Spanish lessons at Becari. It was the perfect location - close to the zocolo, museums and restaurants, so we walked everywhere. We had a room at the back that was very quiet. The rooms open on to patios or hallways. The ones in the front are not as quiet. There are caged birds on the patios that sing all day long. I liked hearing them; they are not parrots that screech. We had a suite because it had a table that both of us could use for our lessons. It had lots of room and was very comfortable and clean. The maids brought fresh flowers. Wi-fi is everywhere. The restaurant is moderately-priced and has good food. We ate there much of the time because by the end of the day we were too exhausted to go out anywhere. The entire staff was helpful and friendly. We'd stay here again if we were to come back to Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. There is no elevator, but always someone to carry your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The PSM is a terrific little property in a fabulous location (less than half a block from the Zocalo). Spotlessly clean, attractively furnished, wonderful staff and a truly Colonial atmosphere make this gem of a hotel one of the best in every respect. I have stayed in this hotel on previous visits to Oaxaca and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the building will be quieter - away from the street and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parad0rSanMiguelO, Gerente at Parador San Miguel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your preference, is great to know that your stay was enjoyable, your comments will helps us to achieve our quality goals, we really look forward your visit in a near future.
truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Excellent front desk service. Parking is extra and several blocks away. This hotel is on the main street entering Oaxaca, only two blocks from the Zocalo. We chose a room at the rear as we wanted to avoid the street noise. The rooms are nicely decorated but the hotel is noisy and the rooms which face into the courtyard have glass windows in the doors. I jerry rigged a bath towel over the door to provide a degree of darkness.

The rooms could do with a desk and chair for writing and computer use. The wasn't an alarm clock in our room. Good shower.... no bath. Average overall impression. Good restaurant.

Room Tip: Select a room at the back if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for just under a week and on the last night had to move rooms, into suite for one night so experienced 2 rooms. ( we knew this may happen beforehand so no problem).

The rooms are large and spacious. The beds are WIDE and comfortable. Everything was very clean and the chamber maids arranged a towel into animal shapes every evening - very time consuming. Shower was hot and good pressure - so all happy.

I found the decor to be a little dated - there was freshness missing from them. The rooms we stayed in were also rather dark, the suite being worse, Furthermore, with the suite the bathroom window faced the opp. rooms bathroom window and we could hear every belch n burp from there. The Headboard was against the restaurant kitchen, and every time they were washing up it was a cacophony and we had to actually complain about the noise at about 10pm on the last night. Not being a morning person, it was a little noisy first thing in restaurant with singer and guitar and outside traffic, and birds tweeting and guests chatting etc. so I'd loose the singing first thing in the morning.

The staff are super friendly though, especially the female manager. She was super super great. The other staff didn't seem to stop cleaning either, the bird cages and corridors etc. Very hardworking.
The restaurant was good - things did get quiet at about 10pm in the main areas. Location was ok - being on a busy street but at least central.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spent nine nights at this lovely and charming hotel at the end of October. I'm so glad that it was highly recommended to me and I'm happy to report that it lived up to my expectations and more! Traveled solo - I don't speak Spanish and I found it extremely cozy and friendly. The staff is terrific - very helpful and accommodating. They really strive to offer first class service in a delighful, but unpretentious environment. They even have bubble wrap at the ready that they gladly offered up as I was packing the fragile goodies I purchased during my travels. I adored hearing the beautiful chirping birds in the morning and sitting in the lovely courtyard. Room was large and comfy - I was on the ground floor -the first room. Flat screen TV with sooo many channels - not that I was there to watch TV, but I appreciated the many options in English. While they don't yet have CNN International, I'm told they are planning to add it to their package. As mentioned in other reviews, the towels shaped into adorable animals by the talented housekeeping staff were a daily delight - as were the flowers and chocolates placed in my room. It's perfectly located - just two blocks from the Zocola and a few blocks from the Soledad church. Muchas gracias to Jorge, Uriel, Mayra, Mariana, Judith, and all the wonderful staff who made my stay so special. Big thumbs up for Parador San Miguel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parador San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador San Miguel

Also Known As:
Parador San Miguel Hotel
Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Parador San Miguel Hotel Oaxaca
Address: Av Independencia 503, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#10 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#23 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador San Miguel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, 20 minutes from the airport. In the historical downtown area, only a half block from the Central Alameda. The beautiful colonial-style building has three floors with 23 rooms, including four suites.Located on one of the main avenues in the city, the facade had a grand entry door of carved cedar, opening to a lovely porch with a statue of St. Michael the Archangel.A wrought iron gate opens to the hotel vestibule, where walls of ochre, terra-cotta, beige and cream combine with dark green ironwork and green granite columns to provide a dramatic backdrop for the brilliant bougainvillea and geraniums that thrive in the home's central patio. From here you can catch a hint of the spellbinding flavors of our Oaxacan kitchen. In "La Cocina" you can choose a magical dish to your specifications.Small gardens lead to the first level rooms. A majestic green granite stairway crowned with glorious stained glass leads to the second and third levels. On the second level terrace, you could relax or sunbathe accompanied by canaries in a kaleidoscope of multicolored flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Parador San Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador San Miguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.