We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador San Miguel

Save Saved
You added Parador San Miguel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Parador San Miguel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Independencia 503, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Up grade!
Ranked #11 of 110 hotels in Oaxaca
Canberra
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love, love, loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I chose this hotel because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor, and was not disappointed.
Great location, spotlesslly clean, lots of hot water and extremely helpful staff. I speak no Spanish, but this was not a problem at all.
It is a small hotel, but this only adds to its charm. The courtyard is delightful (although I ewish they didn't have caged birds). My room was the smallest of the lot, but I certainly found it large enough for my needs. Love the towels folded into different animal shapes every day.
Only two drawbacks: 1) the restaurant is overpriced and the food unexceptional, and 2) the recommended tour company was dismal. I tool 4 of these tours and only 1 (to Monte Alban) was worth the price. You are far better off hiring a taxi for a day than going on these cattle trips. Food from the street stalls 2 blocks away is a far better bet for eating.
I spent 5 nights here and found it just wasn't enough time to see and do everything I wanted. Recommend you spend at least a week; preferably two!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have a problem climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    64
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
80
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapala, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have stayed in this spotlessly clean, efficient, small boutique hotel twice this year, both times for 3 nights with a tour of seniors, which can be challenging to any hotel. There is not much that they don't think of in terms of your comfort. Check in for our group of 30, from curb to room was accomplished in about 10 minutes. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The maid looked like she could also have worked in the reception area. Considering the location,\on a busy street, the the rooms are very quiet. Good food and service in the convenient restaurant at reasonable prices.This is a place that has taken any small negative and turned it into a positive. Everything from the sheets and pillows to the soap and decor are quality. Normally, I consider a hotel just a place to sleep and price is a big consideration. As long as it's clean, I'm okay without a lot of frills. This lovely place is the exception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I own a tour company and have brought two groups to Parador San Miguel. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Oaxaca City. The staff goes above and beyond to make our stays outstanding. They are efficient, professional and accommodating. The rooms are lovely and the courtyard, with its plants and singing birds, is an oasis in the city. The rooftop deck is a wonderful place to enjoy a glass of wine with the city at your feet. The restaurant is charming and the food is delicious. Located almost on the zocalo, it is the perfect location to walk to all the sights of Oaxaca City. I highly recommend this charming hotel to anyone visiting Oaxaca City.

Room Tip: The suites are especially lovely and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I like this hotel very much: it's relatively new and beautifully finished and furnished and the location is super. Daytime staff, once again, were great but service at night was pretty bad. I like to have a smoke and a whisky and read after dinner so we were in the patio area on the ground floor reading when the lights went out. The person responsible for turning them off saw us reading but said nothing. I went to the front desk and got a frosty reception, but we eventually got a floor lamp lit near a sofa in the corner, and were fine. Nothing ruins a good hotel experience like being treated as if you're in the way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parad0rSanMiguelO, Director General at Parador San Miguel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear client: I appreciate your comments, also we are very thankful you visit our Parador for a second time. But I'm very concern about the situation you mentioned in the review, personally I've been training our staff in order to give our guest the service you deserve. I'm so sorry if some one of our personnel was unpolite or rude with you, make sure I'll talk to them, this kind of negative action can not happen again because we understand you clients are the reason of our business.
On behalf of all my staff and myself please accept our most sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The other reviewer has said it best, it is a small boutique hotel which exudes southern Mexican charm. We were lucky to be staying at the suite and your can't beat it with the charm, ambience and location. If you want to stay in a charming and cozy place and yet close to zocale, this is the one.
It would be ideal if the unit come with a small frig so you don't have to run down to the bar/kitchen to get ice.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper then request a room that is towards the far back. But we don't find t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Charming place, great location, nice people.... The hotel is great, traditional mexican style. I was impressed nu their attention to details, everything was taken into consideration. very clean, located right in the center, reception desk very helpful. What can I say more: I hardly recommend it !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
global traveler
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The parador is in a beautifully restored building with caged songbirds singing in the courtyard. Unfortunately the street in front is a very busy one and the noise can be considerable.

We stayed in the cuilapan suite the first night, at the back of the hotel, far from the street. Unfortunately, construction noise from a building behind continued until almost midnight. We moved to the Zaachila suite which still had some noise from the street but really wasn't enough to disturb our rest. Both rooms are beautiful and large though Zaachila has more light, with windows that open up over a courtyard. No minibar/fridge. Nice handmade soaps in the bathroom - huge beautiful bath, by the way.

The Internet was included but could be sluggish to maddeningly slow. There plentiful outlets in the room to recharge all our electronics, and used American style plugs.

If you are flying in to the airport, the cheapest way to get to the hotel is to take a collectivo, which is a van that takes you and other passengers directly to your hotels. It may take a little longer to get there because the van will make many stops but only costs 55 peso per person. Look for the booth at the exit of the airport to book a spot. If you are traveling with more than two people you may want to consider a taxi.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parador San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador San Miguel

Also Known As:
Parador San Miguel Hotel
Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Parador San Miguel Hotel Oaxaca
Address: Av Independencia 503, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#10 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#23 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador San Miguel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, 20 minutes from the airport. In the historical downtown area, only a half block from the Central Alameda. The beautiful colonial-style building has three floors with 23 rooms, including four suites.Located on one of the main avenues in the city, the facade had a grand entry door of carved cedar, opening to a lovely porch with a statue of St. Michael the Archangel.A wrought iron gate opens to the hotel vestibule, where walls of ochre, terra-cotta, beige and cream combine with dark green ironwork and green granite columns to provide a dramatic backdrop for the brilliant bougainvillea and geraniums that thrive in the home's central patio. From here you can catch a hint of the spellbinding flavors of our Oaxacan kitchen. In "La Cocina" you can choose a magical dish to your specifications.Small gardens lead to the first level rooms. A majestic green granite stairway crowned with glorious stained glass leads to the second and third levels. On the second level terrace, you could relax or sunbathe accompanied by canaries in a kaleidoscope of multicolored flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Parador San Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador San Miguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.