We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa del Sotano

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa del Sotano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Sotano
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tinoco y Palacios 414 | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca C.P. 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location, very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Casa del sotano is in a great location. A short walk from the town centre so nice and close without being too noisy. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is not included so you have to spend a little extra, but it is worth it.

Our only problem was that the room was quite hot and stuffy. There were 2 fans in our room but one did very little and the other sounded like an aeroplane landing.

For the price, well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    69
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
85
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It is a traditional style hotel with an inner courtyard and the rooms surrounding the courtyard. Reception is open 24 hours a day and the area seems safe, i walked at 5am back from the Santo Doming Church and it was fine. The restaurant area for breakfast is outside and the breakfast choices were traditional and international. They have a small kitchen and it is a great little terrace. The room was a good size room with a huge bed and hard mattress.

Downers: 1. is that we were next to the neighbours house's toilet and we could get their smells and hear their business in the mornings (grosse i know) that is room 23 so stay away from there
2. the room gets pretty hot too. There is no air con but there is a ceiling fan and a large
3. the wifi is unreliable

The staff is very kind and helpful tho and the hotel is in pretty good shape. Closes amenities: ATM 5 blocks away. pharmacy: 3 blocks away walking distance to Santo Domingo Church and pedestrian area, hotel is on a bit of a hill if you are walking back ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Colonial era decor and charm. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent bed and little noise, had great sleeps. Lacks in-room wi-fi, although it's available on the restaurant patio and lobby area.
Lonely Planet promised parking, but they do not offer it. However, my motorcycle was accommodated in the lobby!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

In a perfect location for exploring Oaxaca. Warm friendly staff help you feel at home.
Oaxaca is one of my favourite places in Mexico and this is one of my favourite hotels - it's not pretentiousj and there are no flat screen TVs but feels genuinely loved and well cared for and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Apparently some of the rooms could be a bit noisy so check if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Casa del Sotano for 3 nights at the beginning of February. Good location,reasonably priced, very friendly hotel. Small and quaint with rooms overlooking tiny ornamental patios with those on the upper level also having good mountain views. the upper rooms are of adequate size with tiny bathroom facilities. Room 23 is quite dark as the window looks onto an opensided corridor and room 20 (which we used) has a delightful very small balcony but only a 4'-6" wide small double bed. Cosy though! It was nice to have two free bottles of water each day and free use of a wifi computer and printer especially to check in for our next flight. Enjoyed the freshly made breakfasts, and the mini restaurant proved an oasis later for a refreshing drink. There is a separate cafe/bar for the evening which was very good.
Overall if you have an upper room with a balcony this is great for the economic traveller.

Room Tip: Room 24 if possible, room 23 if you don't mind a darker room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just finished taking a group of 13 travelers to Oaxaca from San Miguel de Allende and stayed at Hotel Casa Del Sotano upon recommendations from several friends. The hotel is small, clean, and has a great little restaurant in the patio. Although other traveler's have said it is quiet, I think the majority of rooms have noise. The rooms are on the small side, and the bathrooms are postage stamp size. Though located close to most things it is on a busy street. The price matches what it has to offer. Our travelers were fine with our choice, but some suggested we upgrade to a quieter hotel with larger rooms next time. The service was excellent and it was easy to make a reservation. There is an uphill walk to the hotel from Santo Domingo and the Zocalo, but for those of us who live in San Miguel at altitude, this was not a problem.
I would recommend this hotel for a couple, or small group of friends or family. It is economical and convenient.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the back on the 2nd and 3rd floors. Be sure to ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor. We were staying in the city already so we walked over to check it out and make a reservation.

The location is very convenient to the city center, the Zocolo. It is also very convenient to other areas of the city. We were shown a room which ultimately became our room when we migrated over a week later. Room 1, which has two double beds. It is not a large room but completely adequate. The bathroom consists of three chambers, a shower, sink area and toilet. A little difficult to navigate because of the door but by stepping into the shower you can close and open the door. Not as hard as it sounds. The shower is quite good. The hot and cold water controls follow convention which is not always the case in Mexico. There is an assist rail in the shower if needed.

The hotel is in the colonial style with multiple gardens and fountains. It is very attractive. There is a small patio restaurant with view of the city where you can have a good breakfast and other meals. There is also a small bar which is open from 6-10pm. Some food also served there as well.

One street over is Porifio Diaz which is laundry central. Very convenient.

There are 24 rooms in the hotel. Room 1 is closest to the street but not next to the street, but you might want one further from the traffic noise. We didn't find it a problem. None of the rooms has a street exposure.

We met several guests who report multiple visits and really like the place. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The hotel has (I think) 27 rooms. None has a street exposure so they are all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa del Sotano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Sotano

Address: Tinoco y Palacios 414 | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca C.P. 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa del Sotano 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casa del Sotano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sotano Oaxaca
Casa Del Sotano Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa del Sotano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.