We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel exceeded my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa del Sotano

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa del Sotano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa del Sotano
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tinoco y Palacios 414 | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca C.P. 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Hotel Casa del Sotano exceeded my expectations--and at a very reasonable price. As others have written, the hotel is charming, quiet, and very clean with a lovely garden patio. The location is about a 5 minute walk from Santo Domingo (the walk back has one fairly steep hill if you have any mobility issues). I had breakfast every morning on the rooftop patio and thought it was excellent (including the cafe latte) and the staff was very sweet. If you need wireless, it's available in the reception area, and sometimes from the room if yours is close to the front. I was alone so the room was big enough for my needs. My only "complaint" is that the weather was chilly than usual and since I'm always cold I found the room to be colder than I would like a couple of nights. I highly recommend the Case del Sotano.

Room Tip: The hotel says there is no wireless in the rooms, just the reception area, but if your room is close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    67
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
83
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Hotel Casa del Sotano was quaint, cozy, classic and clean. Beautiful rooftop views of the city and cathedrals. Walking distance to dining, shopping and sites. Taxi arrangements were made on site for day drips. Made to order breakfast was available daily on one of the rooftop patios.

Room Tip: Rooms were small - service and atmosphere were wonderful. Would highly recommend room on a higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I spent three nights at this hotel and was extremely pleased with everything. The staff was helpful, the food was authenic Oaxacan cuisine and the property itself was magnificent with the various flowers and vegetation inside the courtyard. The rooms were comfortable and absolutely no noise from outside while you sleep. This location is #1 on my list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I loved everything about this hotel. I was traveling Solo. I stayed in two different rooms. I was only booked for 2 nights for my week but I checked out of my other hotel and back into Sotano for the remaining of my week. The location is near Santo Domingo. It was a one minute walk from my language school. There are lots of coffee shops, restaurants and shopping near by. The Zocalo is a 5-10 walk away. The on-sight rooftop restaurant serves very good breakfasts with a great view-especially at night. While I was there, a fellow and his son would come and sing. They were really good - it was special! There is a little bar downstairs open until 11. It was convenient to have it so close! The rooms are comfortable, clean, relatively quiet. One of my rooms had a little balcony which was nice to have.The interior courtyard and gardens are beautiful and provide a welcome respite from the busy city. All the folks who worked there were very friendly and helpful. Someone is on the desk 24 hours. It was perfect for me.

Room Tip: Having a room with a balcony was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is my second time at the hotel. The new twist this time was the small cafe bistro at the front of the hotel. On our last night in Oaxaca, we ate at around 9pm with a few appetizers before closing out the day. The tamales were very tasty. The Guacamole was very good and fresh! They have fresh more healthful take on Nachos, sans the ugly cheddar that usually covers the traditional Nachos. The closer was a great aged mezcal called Yalreiin. I rarely drink hard liquor, but I found myself enjoying this very smooth flavorful mezcal. So much so, I bought a bottle to take home. The quality of the breakfast was very good. Very good taste and presentation on the chilaquiles with the green sauce. What it shows overall, is that the hotel staff is improving in all areas.

Room Tip: Wifi can be dicey in the rooms tucked way in the back. If you really need wifi, then ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Beautiful hotel, with a very good location (5minutes away from the center).
Rooms are beautiful, very quiet because they face a patio and not the street.
Staff was very friendly, lending games to wait for the rain to stop, and offering good advice on restaurants & activities to do & any practical details.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have stayed at Casa del Sótano on two occasions, each time for multiple nights. It is clean & quiet, & the staff is friendly & helpful. This is an unpretentious yet rustic & nice little hotel. It is a pleasant three- or four-block walk from the pedestrian center street, Alcala, yet it seems a little off the beaten path, which is very nice. The "mirador" (the large upper deck of the hotel) has an incomparable view of the city & surrounding mountains. We had a delicious breakfast of chilaquiles and enchiladas with fresh green & red salsas one morning at the quaint outdoor breakfast cafe. There are nice views of the surrounding mountains from the outdoor breakfast space, as well. On our last evening we shared a very affordable meal of three different appetizers in the cafe bistro in the front of the hotel. The ingredients were very fresh (as most all of Oaxacan food is). Our dishes were pretty, affordable & most importantly delicious. The guacamole with chapulines (crispy, seasoned crickets sprinkled on chunks of fresh avocado mixed with lime, tomato, onion & jalapeño or serrano) was especially delicious. The service was friendly, efficient & knowledgable, making for a very enjoyable & informative experience at a great price. The room's bathroom & shower are simple and somewhat small. The beds are comfortable & the rooms are rustic. The wifi is free & works. This hotel is not for those who like high-end places; rather it is for folks who enjoy more rustic & simple yet unique & affordable places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa del Sotano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Sotano

Address: Tinoco y Palacios 414 | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca C.P. 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#7 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa del Sotano 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa del Sotano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sotano Oaxaca
Casa Del Sotano Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa del Sotano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.