We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Breakfasts, Stellar Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaxaca Ollin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oaxaca Ollin
Save
You added Oaxaca Ollin to your Saves list
Quintana Roo 213, Centro Historico | Oaxaca City, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10 year birthday sale
Ranked #1 of 103 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfasts, Stellar Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I came here for 5 nights for Dia de Los Muertos. It was incredible. From the moment we walked in, the owners Jon and Judith were welcoming and made our check in easy. There are extremely helpful with any questions we had and gave great insight on things to do and must sees. We decided to take two optional tours that they advertised as well and they were well worth it. When we go back to Oaxaca, we will definately stay at Ollin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    34
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
191
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

great breakfasts. great owners. great people who work there always willing to help out at a moments notice. Ain't no place I'd rather be. Good location with easy walking to Zocalo and restaurants. Owners are very helpful and help with tours of the city and surrounding areas. It feels like you are staying in a family home.

Room Tip: I liked room 10. When I sat out on the deck I had great views of the clouds and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We just returned from a seven day stay at Casa Ollin and I highly recommend it! The staff are all very gracious people and it's apparent that they love their work. We had fabulous breakfast each morning and the place is kept impeccably clean. Jon and Judith welcomed us as if we were family members. Ernesto toured us about, and Carmen's cooking class was a hit with all that attended. Loved it! Oaxaca is a beautiful, save place with lots of culture to experience!

Room Tip: The rooms on the street a bit noisy, bring ear plugs if you are sensitive. The windows are dual pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Casa Ollin for 4 nights and we highly recommend this b&b for your next stay at Oaxaca. The combination of warmth and hospitality from the staff (Ernesto, Lucas, Karla, Clara and Sofia), the quality of food and cleanliness of the rooms is simply not usual in any hotel I've stayed before. It is a jewel in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had read about Sophie's great breakfasts, Oaxaca style -- which proved worthy of praise --, but "tranquil" is the word I would use to describe the Ollin. I was there with my son and his wife who also were delighted with everything about the Ollin. Jon was the perfect host with wonderful recommendations for restaurants, sights, shopping, and more. Can't wait to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Oaxaca Ollin B&B was, in our experience, a wonderful, calm place to stay in Oaxaca. It's located close to the Santo Domingo church and not too far (10 blocks) to the Zocalo. The staff are friendly to a person, and the owners are also willing to offer advice and help. We enjoyed getting to know everyone, including the other guests, particularly during the lovely breakfasts and a few lazy afternoons.

I would give Casa Ollin five stars, but I can see a few ways in which they could improve, so I opted for four stars (as did the other two people I traveled with). First, there was no one there to meet me when I arrived at around 3:00 pm, even though I both emailed and called the day before to confirm my arrival time. One of the cleaning staff let me in and was confused about whether there was a room for me. She tried her best, but I wish someone had been there to welcome me properly.

Second, do note that they do not accept credit cards. This fact is not indicated on their website anywhere. The owner told me he states it in the reservation email, but it was not in any email I received. Why not just put it on the website for all to see? They do accept PayPal, so it all worked out fine, but why not nip any possible issue in the bud by stating it plainly on the website? (As I understand it, the banks in Oaxaca charge an inordinate fee to Ollin to process credit cards. Still, many of the restaurants and shops we went to accepted credit cards, so it remains a bit of a head scratcher.)

Finally, both my wife and another one of the guests suffered several bites by something (mosquitos? bed bugs?) during the night. I did not have any problem, but it was mildly disconcerting.

I don't mean to sound too negative, as we had a wonderful time and would return to Ollin. The rooms were charming. They offered free use of umbrellas and hats, had a self-serve mezcal bar, and shared a wide selection of good books in their library. The city of Oaxaca in general is also a gem. But I think it's important to be constructive, particularly when most reviews use words like "perfect" and "outstanding."

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent at week at Oaxaca Ollin in July with my elderly mother, my husband, and two teenage children ages 13 and 18. Everything about our experience at this B&B was outstanding. My mother had a beautiful room in the back by the pool and the four of us a lovely room in the front with our own patio area, hammock, and direct access to the rooftop area. The breakfasts each day were a gourmet experience, the smiling staff could not have been kinder, and the rooms, public areas, and service exceptional overall. We had an amazing guide for two days named Ernesto. He took us everywhere we wanted to go, never pushed anything extra, and was so kind, friendly and informative. I definitely reccommend Ernesto if you would like to have a private driver for a few hours or the day. Judith was so personable and helpful whenever we needed assistance - from helping us with the banks, to arranging public transportation for us, to letting us use their private phone at length when we were having trouble calling the states. She even let us use their private laundry service when the public laudromat down the street closed. I'm not a total fan of B&Bs in the States, but in this case it made our trip experience so much better to have such friendly and generous service in a foreign country. I cannot think of a single way that our experience could have been improved upon. Even the location is great - just close enough to the historic district, but without the noise.

Room Tip: Our room was the only one that faced the street (the largest room to accommodate 3 beds), but we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaxaca Ollin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaxaca Ollin

Address: Quintana Roo 213, Centro Historico | Oaxaca City, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ollin Features Mexican gourmet breakfast, Multilingual Staff, Upgraded beds and linen, Library. New -- computer with high speed connection available for guest use -- also available WiFi connection. Swimming Pool, Three outdoor patios to choose from. All rooms non-smoking. Assistance with all of your sightseeing needs. Free local calls, Free long distance calls to the United States. Laundry service available. Medical services on call. Roof Top Terrace. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaxaca Ollin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.