We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A total winner in Oaxaca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaxaca Ollin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oaxaca Ollin
Save
You added Oaxaca Ollin to your Saves list
Quintana Roo 213, Centro Historico | Oaxaca City, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10 year birthday sale
Ranked #1 of 102 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Chevy Chase, MD
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A total winner in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Casa Ollin, in a pleasant upper-middle class residential neighborhood, has everything: ideal location, comfortable (and immaculate) rooms decorated in excellent taste, delicious breakfasts and all conveniences that one could ask for (free WiFi, bottled water, refrigerator etc). The Cornell School of Hotel Management could learn a thing or two here. The entire staff is exceptionally well trained: courteous, responsive, cordial and English-speaking. Customized place cards encourage conversation at breakfast; during our 9-day stay, we met guests from Canada, France, Germany, and throughout the US. Judith, the co-owner, is an incredible resource -- and not just for tourist planning. When I needed immediate medical attention for an eye problem on a Sunday, Judith instantly looked into and then arranged for emergency care. Even though my Spanish is quite fluent, I would have had no clue where to turn without her help. We unhesitatingly give Casa Ollin five stars in all respects.

Room Tip: You will be lucky if you can snag Room 6, which has a king size bed in a large room, plus an adjoini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    34
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
191
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

A great choice in Oaxaca. The location is perfect; a great neighborhood, close to the park and the church, yet quiet and tranquil. Very inviting living rooms , and wonderful breakfasts. Judith was very helpful with arranging out of of town trips. The small details that made our stay even more enjoyable included being able to refill the water bottles with purified water in the hotel, using the refrigerator, and the early morning snack we got for the fight, tea in the lobby, and beautiful surroundings.
Staying at Casa Ollin made us feel we got a real taste of the city and its people, in addition to being pampered and cared for.
Thanks Judith, and everyone in Casa Ollin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at the Ollin for five nights. While a very nice facility, with nine rooms, it is more like a small hotel instead of a B&B. The staff is wonderful and very attentive. The breakfasts of Oaxacan specialties were varied and delicious. The location was not the best. Although located in a pleasant, relatively quiet part of town, most good restaurants were located 7-9 blocks away; the zocolo (town square) was located about 10 blocks away; and the main market was about 12 blocks away. Oaxaca is at an altitude of some 1500 meters, about 5000 feet. If one is not used to long walks at this altitude, it can be a strain. The facility was very noisy. It was difficult to sleep late if one wanted to, or to take an afternoon nap after a morning of sightseeing as it seemed the place was always busy and noisy with folks talking or the door bell ringing, or a truck pumping out the sewer system. If we return to Oaxaca, we will probably search for a different location to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the street were noisy and/or were too bright at night due to a strong street light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juanitobosque, Owner at Oaxaca Ollin, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We always appreciate our guests comments, although they may be somewhat negative. In this case we would like to clarify a few comments that you make in your review.
First, we would like to point out that we fit anyone's definition of a Bed and Breakfast. To start with, we are family owned and operated, in all we have 4 family members on staff. We are located in a converted large residence and have less than 10 rooms. Our staff is very attentive to your needs, Judith and Jon are here at the front desk all day to help you with your tours, purchases, restaurant suggestions, etc. We look after our guests in all respects (for example, this guest left his expensive digital camera in his unlocked car on the street--we checked on the security of his vehicle, removed the camera, locked the car and gave the camera to the guest) Lastly, we serve a full hot breakfast every morning--including muffins that are baked by Sophie our cook (no self respecting B & B should be without homemade muffins).
Second, we are located just far enough from the zocalo to have some peace and quiet. Although we are 8 blocks from the zocalo, the blocks are short and the whole trip can be done in 10 minutes walking leisurely. More importantly, within a 5 minute walk you can find no less than 10 restaurants; Santo Domingo church; the Ethnobotanical gardens; 3 parks (including the very popular Paseo Juarez, and 3 other major churches.
Third, we never pump sewer. We are connected to the municipal sewage system. What you may have heard was the water truck filling our cistern (or it could have been a neighbor's cistern). Oaxaca, like most of Mexico is suffering from a lack of water. The municipal water does not arrive daily, sometimes only once per week. When our 10,000 liter cistern runs out, we have to order a tanker to re-fill it. The pump on the tanker does make a bit of noise but unfortunately it is unavoidable here in Oaxaca.
We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I loved my experience at this fabulous B and B. Months ahead of time, Jon was a great communicator via emails...Helping me book the room I wanted and setting up two different tours. Unfortunately he was out of town during my stay, so I couldn't thank him personally. When we arrived, Judith and staff were there to greet us with big smiles and lots of suggestions. Being a big TRIPADVISOR fan, I did my homework months in advance and booked the spacious Room 6. It was great to be able to spread out.

The early morning delicious coffee helped me kick start my day and although I am not a breakfast first thing kind of gal, I couldn't help myself with the amazing and delicious offerings, which varied each day.

I have to say, I especially appreciated Judith and how present she was and also how sincere she was in making sure her guests enjoyed themselves. Sweet woman! We toured with her son, Ernesto, two separate days and I can say the same for him.

Everything we could need was provided for, at a very reasonable rate. Thank you Oaxaca Ollin! PS. Eat at Maria Bonita, right around the corner. Amazing salads and moles, artfully prepared and reasonably priced!

Room Tip: Room 6 is actually two rooms. A HUGE king bed in the first spacious room and a twin in the other. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here with my gf for two nights around the 23rd January. Had a really fantastic time. Everyone was very friendly and knowledgeable and nothing seemed like too much of an ask - I even amended my reservation last-minute because I ended up arriving a day later and they were very nice about it. Overall, five stars, no questions asked. Thanks to John, Judith and Lucas for a great stay!

Room Tip: I stayed in a room on the bottom floor by the pool and was very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

relaxed and relaxing, lovely atmosphere, staff are friendly, attentive but discreet. bedrooms far nicer than the photos would lead you to expect. great location. central but quiet street. highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I spent four days at the Casa Ollin. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are wonderful! The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the pool area is a great place to relax after a busy day of sightseeing. The name cards at the breakfast table are an especially nice touch, as it makes it easier to share experiences with fellow travelers when you are reminded of their names.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaxaca Ollin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaxaca Ollin

Address: Quintana Roo 213, Centro Historico | Oaxaca City, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ollin Features Mexican gourmet breakfast, Multilingual Staff, Upgraded beds and linen, Library. New -- computer with high speed connection available for guest use -- also available WiFi connection. Swimming Pool, Three outdoor patios to choose from. All rooms non-smoking. Assistance with all of your sightseeing needs. Free local calls, Free long distance calls to the United States. Laundry service available. Medical services on call. Roof Top Terrace. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaxaca Ollin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.