We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place with a beautiful courtyard close to Zocalo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Pereyra Hotel and Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Pereyra Hotel and Bungalows
Save
You added Casa Pereyra Hotel and Bungalows to your Saves list
Independencia # 304 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 101 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely place with a beautiful courtyard close to Zocalo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place gave us family warmth but its attention to details is no less than boutique hotels. Towels were soft. Toiletries were quality. Design is tasteful. Its courtyard is as beautiful as seen in photos.
Its manager, Patricia, speaks little English but is pleased to give tips, eg. where to have good and inexpensive breakfast. They indeed have a list of recommended restaurants so don't forget to ask. Silvia, a sweet and cheerful lady who speaks English, is enthusiastic to help. Her big smiles made us feel welcome.
Its kitchen can be used so provides much convenience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

this charming hotel provided a restful and relaxing respite during a whirlwind 5-day trip to oaxaca city for el dia de los muertos in 2010. although we didn't take advantage of the kitchen spaces as often as we would have liked, the option was great to have just in case! coffee was served each morning, although i believe at the time breakfast was advertised (memory may not serve me correctly). casa pereyra was an oasis of calm and the staff was lovely and accommodating.

Room Tip: request a suite with the bed separate from the rest of the space... the extra little bit is worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

From the moment I arrived at Casa Peyrera I was lavished with a spirit of welcome. It's true that the rooms here are charming, comfortable and aesthetically pleasing and that it's just a few blocks from the Zocalo so that the magic of Oaxaca is right at your fingertips but it's also true that the staff here must have Ph.D.s in the right way to run a hotel. I stayed here for one month and found genuine expressions of care, even nurturance, coming from the amazing women who work here. From the owner, Rosa-Elena, who brought me postres for my birthday, to Patricia the manager, who greeted me each morning with a smile and fulfilled every need and request I had, to Silvia whose fluency in English helped to bridge the language barrier, to Sophie and Ruthie whose presence always brought warmth and friendliness. Honestly, I did not want to leave because it felt like home away from home, a sanctuary for the soul.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dttareed
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great location, walking distance to center and tons of wonderful restaurants and shops. Spacious & clean rooms. Quaint courtyard area where delicious coffee is complimentary in the mornings. I would definitely stay there again. Be sure to check out their shop in the lobby.. Cute things!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casapereyra, Propietario at Casa Pereyra Hotel and Bungalows, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guests:
Was a pleasure to have your visit in our Hotel. Thank you for let us know to know your experience with us.
We are so happy you have good memories about our pretty city and our Hotel Casa Pereyra. We hope to have your visit the next time that you come to Oaxaca
We look forward to see you again.
Kind regards,
Staff Hotel Casa Pereyra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Casa Pereyra was recently my home for a month and what a wonderful home it was, too. The location is perfect, just a few minutes from the zocalo and within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and beautiful churches. While there, I had a medical emergency that required a few days in hospital. Office manager Patricia and casa owner Rosa-Elena Castro Pereyra came to visit and Mrs. Castro Pereyra even drove me home. Other Casa guests also helped. Their consideration and kindness made recuperating much easier. And left me with some very good memories.
The little courtyard is a charming spot to visit with other guests, have a drink or even watch hummingbirds take a bath. The studio apartment was, clean, cosy and comfortable.

Room Tip: Some apartments have a circular staircase to the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

The Casa Pereyra is in a great location. The street is very busy but inside is quiet and charming. You enter a nondescript door and find a charming court yard with iron tables and chairs that can be used by guests to chat, eat a meal, share drinks or use your computer with they hotel's WiFi connection. Rooms are very clean. We found a tray of coffee outside our door each morning. Friends had a lovely suite with a fully equipped kitchen with eating bar, sleeping loft, and living area with an extra bed. The staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 8 on the second floor with a private balcony and queen sized bed. Lots of shelves and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We, like the previous reviewers, were in Oaxaca early January when the next door business decided to try to open an illegal club that made ALOT of noise on Friday and Saturday nights. We had stayed here on a previous occasion and were dismayed at the noise level. The Casa Pereyra owners hired a lawyer and convened a meeting with the municipal inspectors that raided the club one early Saturday morning and closed the place down. Thank God!
Now that the quiet is restored we are very happy.
Also, on another note is that a fellow traveler became seriously ill and needed emergency surgery and the Casa Pereyra owner quickly got an ambulance and had the visitor transported to the private hospital, Clinica Reforma, where she had surgery and has been receiving excellent post surgical care.

Room Tip: wifi works in apartments 4 and 5 but you have to sit in the patio to use it if you are staying in ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Pereyra Hotel and Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pereyra Hotel and Bungalows

Address: Independencia # 304 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Pereyra Hotel and Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.