We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Trebol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Trebol to your Saves list
Hotel Trebol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Flores Magon No. 201, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Our first hotel was a nightmare, so we were very pleased to find Hotel Trebol for the second half of our trip. Hotel Trebol is one block from the zocala, beautifully kept, comfortable beds, large clean rooms, wonderful staff and responsive service. If we return to Oaxaca we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
43
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

One block from the Zocalo and right across the street from the mercado, the location is very convenient. Rooms facing the street are noisy (traffic, people, loud music) but the interior rooms are very quiet. The entire property is well kept and the decor is sophisticated. What's wrong are the cheap beds, which are comparable to slim backpacker pads; that is, almost no padding. . The showers stalls were roomy, but adjusting the hot water was a challenge - either too hot or too cold. The restaurant was convenient and had good service. But you could eat across the street in the mercado for half the price. Hotel and travel staff were friendly and helpful. I recommend this hotel to young backpacker types who don't mind sleeping on a hard slab. Those who want a softer mattress, try The Principal (much cheaper) or Antequerra.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

Party of four stayed at this property for three nights in two rooms. Both were quiet interior rooms with updated decor and conveniences such as cable, modern bath, and comfortable albeit firm beds. I guaranteed the room with a credit card which they processed immediately and caused a problem with my credit card company's security arm. This resulted in the cancellation of the credit card. In addition, when we got there they had reserved the rooms for three nights beginning on our departure date. I would recommend no guaranteed reservations here unless absolutely necessary. The hotel does have an acceptable adjoining restaurant and at times hot water has to be requested by telephone. We had stayed at Posada Hotel Catarina last year but found service to be wholly indifferent. The hotel is very convenient to the Zocalo and market...and the room rate reasonable...Overall, I rrecommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at here for our first 5 days in Oaxaca City. The staff wasn't necessarily the friendliest but they were, for the most part, efficient. The restaurant had exceptionally tasty food and delicious coffee along with great service, all at our a really low price.
The BIG problem we had was with the first room we were given upon arriving. Room 408: a windowless, tiny room that was nicely decorated but still reminded us of a basement apartment. It had no airflow- that's putting it mildy, as we discovered that it was actually cooler outside (Mexico in August!) than in the room, despite the high powered fan we had going at all times. We requested a different room and were told that weren't any available, despite the fact that I was sure I saw quite a few empty rooms every morning. Anyways, we said were going to leave and then magically they had a different room that we could move to the next day. That room was clean, open & well lit and generally a 110 percent more pleasant.
Aside from that, the location of the hotel is great: right next to a big indoor market and a lot of delicious food vendors, and only a few blocks away from the zócalo. Even the maid service here was pretty surprising: they folded our clothes and rolled up our socks!
So, to conclude: I would recommend this hotel with the advice that when making your reservation you specifically request "una habitación con una ventana." Seriously.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2008

It was my mother and I's first time in Oaxaca and wanted a hotel that was central to the main happenings and moderately priced, nothing too extravagant. Hotel Trebol lived up to those expectations. The hotel was one block south of the Zocalo and very near the local markets. The rooms were very basic and, of course, the beds were extremely hard making it rather uncomfortable to sleep. There was a slight problem with the hot and cold faucets in the bathroom. The showers were too hot at times. The staff was only ok. Not the most vibrant and warm staff but were helpful. I did like that the tour desk was located in the hotel and she was able to arrange our accomations and flights to Huatulco at no charge. The breakfast downstairs was great. I usually had mexican hot chocolate, yogurt and gronala and egg/meat scrambler. Very good and inexpensive at 45 pesos. All in all good hotel if you want something basic and central to everything but maybe would try a bed and breakfast place next time, someplace that was more personable.

  • Liked — Location, breakfast
  • Disliked — Hard beds, so so customer service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

It's a beautiful hotel, rooms are very nice, big and clean. The personel at reception are not te best, but they are OK. Te hotel is in a very buisy street, but once you are inside there is no noise at all. They have an available parking lot a walking distance of about 5 minutes. The hotel is very near the zocalo and the market.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2006

This was my second time staying there. The hotel is literally across the street from the Mercado Benito Juarez, which is a colorful & fun place day & night, and only one block from the zocalo. The hotel lobby & restaurant are lovely, the staff is very friendly & helpful, everything is very clean and bright & colorful, and our room--ground floor facing the courtyard--was very comfortable and as quiet as could be, despite the VERY central location of the hotel. Also, the restaurant in the hotel (Chacho's) is very inexpensive but very tasty.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Trebol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trebol

Address: Flores Magon No. 201, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trebol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Trebol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trebol Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Trebol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.