We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place with one big exception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Trebol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Trebol to your Saves list
Hotel Trebol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Flores Magon No. 201, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
seattle, wa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great place with one big exception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at here for our first 5 days in Oaxaca City. The staff wasn't necessarily the friendliest but they were, for the most part, efficient. The restaurant had exceptionally tasty food and delicious coffee along with great service, all at our a really low price.
The BIG problem we had was with the first room we were given upon arriving. Room 408: a windowless, tiny room that was nicely decorated but still reminded us of a basement apartment. It had no airflow- that's putting it mildy, as we discovered that it was actually cooler outside (Mexico in August!) than in the room, despite the high powered fan we had going at all times. We requested a different room and were told that weren't any available, despite the fact that I was sure I saw quite a few empty rooms every morning. Anyways, we said were going to leave and then magically they had a different room that we could move to the next day. That room was clean, open & well lit and generally a 110 percent more pleasant.
Aside from that, the location of the hotel is great: right next to a big indoor market and a lot of delicious food vendors, and only a few blocks away from the zócalo. Even the maid service here was pretty surprising: they folded our clothes and rolled up our socks!
So, to conclude: I would recommend this hotel with the advice that when making your reservation you specifically request "una habitación con una ventana." Seriously.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    31
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
33
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2008

It was my mother and I's first time in Oaxaca and wanted a hotel that was central to the main happenings and moderately priced, nothing too extravagant. Hotel Trebol lived up to those expectations. The hotel was one block south of the Zocalo and very near the local markets. The rooms were very basic and, of course, the beds were extremely hard making it rather uncomfortable to sleep. There was a slight problem with the hot and cold faucets in the bathroom. The showers were too hot at times. The staff was only ok. Not the most vibrant and warm staff but were helpful. I did like that the tour desk was located in the hotel and she was able to arrange our accomations and flights to Huatulco at no charge. The breakfast downstairs was great. I usually had mexican hot chocolate, yogurt and gronala and egg/meat scrambler. Very good and inexpensive at 45 pesos. All in all good hotel if you want something basic and central to everything but maybe would try a bed and breakfast place next time, someplace that was more personable.

  • Liked — Location, breakfast
  • Disliked — Hard beds, so so customer service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

It's a beautiful hotel, rooms are very nice, big and clean. The personel at reception are not te best, but they are OK. Te hotel is in a very buisy street, but once you are inside there is no noise at all. They have an available parking lot a walking distance of about 5 minutes. The hotel is very near the zocalo and the market.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2006

This was my second time staying there. The hotel is literally across the street from the Mercado Benito Juarez, which is a colorful & fun place day & night, and only one block from the zocalo. The hotel lobby & restaurant are lovely, the staff is very friendly & helpful, everything is very clean and bright & colorful, and our room--ground floor facing the courtyard--was very comfortable and as quiet as could be, despite the VERY central location of the hotel. Also, the restaurant in the hotel (Chacho's) is very inexpensive but very tasty.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2005

We were attracted by the colors and curves of the spiral staircase in the lobby of this gem located only a block from the zocolo/main square. Although initially concerned that its central location across the street from the busy Juarez Market would be noisy, we were pleased to sleep soundly throughout our five nights. These nights included big festivals on the nights of Dec. 23 and 24 that centred on the zocolo. Our third-storey room had a glimpse of the surrounding hills and overlooked a lovely courtyard decorated with poinsettias for the 2004 Christmas season. It was spacious, sunny, tastefully appointed with local art and Mexican colors. The high-season room rate was reasonable (only $55 U.S., including taxes, per night for a “sencillo”—a room with a double bed). Breakfast was handy, too, at the hotel restaurant. Overall service was friendly and helpful, especially regarding day trips that we arranged at the tour desk in the lobby. Compared with several other accommodations that we personally checked out in Oaxaca, including B & Bs, we felt we had a sweet deal at our lucky clover, the Trebol. (E-mail: hotrebol@prodigy.net.mx)

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Trebol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trebol

Address: Flores Magon No. 201, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#10 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trebol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Trebol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trebol Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Trebol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.