We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great option in Oaxaca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Trebol

Save Saved
You added Hotel Trebol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Trebol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Flores Magon No. 201, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A great option in Oaxaca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Hotel Trebol – located just one block from the central square Hotel Trebol is in a great location. Only drawback is that it is right across from the very busy market and can be noisy and a bit chaotic. Even so, we always felt very safe and the hotel lobby was a bit of an oasis. Ask for a room off the street.

The hotel is tastefully decorated in typical Mexican style and very pleasant although it did feel a bit “chain like” and without soul for some reason?? They do not claim to serve or include breakfast in their price however coffee, fruit and cereal is available throughout the morning in the very pleasant central courtyard (where you also get the best internet connection). Bottled water is provided each day with coolers for refills around the hotel. Safe box is available at the front desk. The beds, linens, towels and amenities are adequate but certainly not boutique quality.

The staff are very friendly, especially the gal at the tour desk who can be extremely helpful and very reliable for taxi’s to Monte Alban and to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street as it can be busy and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
30
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great location, a block from the Zocalo and right beside a big public market. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Staff were friendly and very accommodating of our early morning arrival and late night departure.

Room Tip: Ours overlooked the courtyard and was quiet, except for the fireworks the churches set off in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here four nights with a tour group hosted by the non-profit Plant With Purpose. Our room was clean and surprisingly quiet considering the busy street outside. The sound of Dia de Muertos fireworks explosions still could be heard, howeve. It took a while for the shower water to get hot, but was very hot. Front counter folks were very helpful, There are also three computer terminals in the lobby area for internet access. No food service on site but it is only one block to the zocalo where all the gringo tourist types seem to end up. Lots of food choices there. The cetral mercado is just across the street as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here in 2010 and 2011, and had an exceptional room. Quiet and clean. Nothing special however in terms of service, view, or restaurant. But really, who wants to spend much time in your own hotel when there's a fascinating city to explore? Convenient to the Zocalo.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We spent a week in Oaxaca on a Rotary project, building latrines and chicken coops in the villages on the hillsides near the city. It was great to come back to Oaxaca every evening to a clean room and a hot shower. - While we were there, the computer in the reception area was not working, and the closest Internet Cafe was a block and a half away. A minor inconvenience, but still not as easy as it could have been. - The little bus that was supposed to pick us up and bring us back from our project was not allowed to drive all the way to the hotel, but had to park about 3 blocks away. I don't know if that is so all of the time, but it was somewhat difficult at the end of a long day. Of course, this was specific to our needs, and other travelers don't need buses on a daily basis.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

We spent a week in Oaxaca, and found this to be our favorite hotel. Clean, hot water, perfect location for the activities, or getting a ride to other parts of the city. Price was great for location and room. I'm a designer, and can be picky, so I was happy to find a nice clean cheap place right off the square. Ohh and the tours were well priced and organized. english speaking guides and staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Our first hotel was a nightmare, so we were very pleased to find Hotel Trebol for the second half of our trip. Hotel Trebol is one block from the zocala, beautifully kept, comfortable beds, large clean rooms, wonderful staff and responsive service. If we return to Oaxaca we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Trebol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trebol

Address: Flores Magon No. 201, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trebol 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Trebol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trebol Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Trebol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.