We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring colonial Oaxaca City,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Trebol

Save Saved
You added Hotel Trebol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Trebol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Flores Magon No. 201, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 110 hotels in Oaxaca
Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring colonial Oaxaca City,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here four nights with a tour group hosted by the non-profit Plant With Purpose. Our room was clean and surprisingly quiet considering the busy street outside. The sound of Dia de Muertos fireworks explosions still could be heard, howeve. It took a while for the shower water to get hot, but was very hot. Front counter folks were very helpful, There are also three computer terminals in the lobby area for internet access. No food service on site but it is only one block to the zocalo where all the gringo tourist types seem to end up. Lots of food choices there. The cetral mercado is just across the street as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
29
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here in 2010 and 2011, and had an exceptional room. Quiet and clean. Nothing special however in terms of service, view, or restaurant. But really, who wants to spend much time in your own hotel when there's a fascinating city to explore? Convenient to the Zocalo.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We spent a week in Oaxaca on a Rotary project, building latrines and chicken coops in the villages on the hillsides near the city. It was great to come back to Oaxaca every evening to a clean room and a hot shower. - While we were there, the computer in the reception area was not working, and the closest Internet Cafe was a block and a half away. A minor inconvenience, but still not as easy as it could have been. - The little bus that was supposed to pick us up and bring us back from our project was not allowed to drive all the way to the hotel, but had to park about 3 blocks away. I don't know if that is so all of the time, but it was somewhat difficult at the end of a long day. Of course, this was specific to our needs, and other travelers don't need buses on a daily basis.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

We spent a week in Oaxaca, and found this to be our favorite hotel. Clean, hot water, perfect location for the activities, or getting a ride to other parts of the city. Price was great for location and room. I'm a designer, and can be picky, so I was happy to find a nice clean cheap place right off the square. Ohh and the tours were well priced and organized. english speaking guides and staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Our first hotel was a nightmare, so we were very pleased to find Hotel Trebol for the second half of our trip. Hotel Trebol is one block from the zocala, beautifully kept, comfortable beds, large clean rooms, wonderful staff and responsive service. If we return to Oaxaca we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

One block from the Zocalo and right across the street from the mercado, the location is very convenient. Rooms facing the street are noisy (traffic, people, loud music) but the interior rooms are very quiet. The entire property is well kept and the decor is sophisticated. What's wrong are the cheap beds, which are comparable to slim backpacker pads; that is, almost no padding. . The showers stalls were roomy, but adjusting the hot water was a challenge - either too hot or too cold. The restaurant was convenient and had good service. But you could eat across the street in the mercado for half the price. Hotel and travel staff were friendly and helpful. I recommend this hotel to young backpacker types who don't mind sleeping on a hard slab. Those who want a softer mattress, try The Principal (much cheaper) or Antequerra.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

Party of four stayed at this property for three nights in two rooms. Both were quiet interior rooms with updated decor and conveniences such as cable, modern bath, and comfortable albeit firm beds. I guaranteed the room with a credit card which they processed immediately and caused a problem with my credit card company's security arm. This resulted in the cancellation of the credit card. In addition, when we got there they had reserved the rooms for three nights beginning on our departure date. I would recommend no guaranteed reservations here unless absolutely necessary. The hotel does have an acceptable adjoining restaurant and at times hot water has to be requested by telephone. We had stayed at Posada Hotel Catarina last year but found service to be wholly indifferent. The hotel is very convenient to the Zocalo and market...and the room rate reasonable...Overall, I rrecommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Trebol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trebol

Also Known As:
Trebol Hotel Oaxaca
Address: Flores Magon No. 201, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trebol 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Trebol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Trebol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.