We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic accommodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Trebol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Trebol to your Saves list
Hotel Trebol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Flores Magon No. 201, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good basic accommodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here in 2010 and 2011, and had an exceptional room. Quiet and clean. Nothing special however in terms of service, view, or restaurant. But really, who wants to spend much time in your own hotel when there's a fascinating city to explore? Convenient to the Zocalo.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    32
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
34
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We spent a week in Oaxaca on a Rotary project, building latrines and chicken coops in the villages on the hillsides near the city. It was great to come back to Oaxaca every evening to a clean room and a hot shower. - While we were there, the computer in the reception area was not working, and the closest Internet Cafe was a block and a half away. A minor inconvenience, but still not as easy as it could have been. - The little bus that was supposed to pick us up and bring us back from our project was not allowed to drive all the way to the hotel, but had to park about 3 blocks away. I don't know if that is so all of the time, but it was somewhat difficult at the end of a long day. Of course, this was specific to our needs, and other travelers don't need buses on a daily basis.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

We spent a week in Oaxaca, and found this to be our favorite hotel. Clean, hot water, perfect location for the activities, or getting a ride to other parts of the city. Price was great for location and room. I'm a designer, and can be picky, so I was happy to find a nice clean cheap place right off the square. Ohh and the tours were well priced and organized. english speaking guides and staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Our first hotel was a nightmare, so we were very pleased to find Hotel Trebol for the second half of our trip. Hotel Trebol is one block from the zocala, beautifully kept, comfortable beds, large clean rooms, wonderful staff and responsive service. If we return to Oaxaca we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

One block from the Zocalo and right across the street from the mercado, the location is very convenient. Rooms facing the street are noisy (traffic, people, loud music) but the interior rooms are very quiet. The entire property is well kept and the decor is sophisticated. What's wrong are the cheap beds, which are comparable to slim backpacker pads; that is, almost no padding. . The showers stalls were roomy, but adjusting the hot water was a challenge - either too hot or too cold. The restaurant was convenient and had good service. But you could eat across the street in the mercado for half the price. Hotel and travel staff were friendly and helpful. I recommend this hotel to young backpacker types who don't mind sleeping on a hard slab. Those who want a softer mattress, try The Principal (much cheaper) or Antequerra.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

Party of four stayed at this property for three nights in two rooms. Both were quiet interior rooms with updated decor and conveniences such as cable, modern bath, and comfortable albeit firm beds. I guaranteed the room with a credit card which they processed immediately and caused a problem with my credit card company's security arm. This resulted in the cancellation of the credit card. In addition, when we got there they had reserved the rooms for three nights beginning on our departure date. I would recommend no guaranteed reservations here unless absolutely necessary. The hotel does have an acceptable adjoining restaurant and at times hot water has to be requested by telephone. We had stayed at Posada Hotel Catarina last year but found service to be wholly indifferent. The hotel is very convenient to the Zocalo and market...and the room rate reasonable...Overall, I rrecommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at here for our first 5 days in Oaxaca City. The staff wasn't necessarily the friendliest but they were, for the most part, efficient. The restaurant had exceptionally tasty food and delicious coffee along with great service, all at our a really low price.
The BIG problem we had was with the first room we were given upon arriving. Room 408: a windowless, tiny room that was nicely decorated but still reminded us of a basement apartment. It had no airflow- that's putting it mildy, as we discovered that it was actually cooler outside (Mexico in August!) than in the room, despite the high powered fan we had going at all times. We requested a different room and were told that weren't any available, despite the fact that I was sure I saw quite a few empty rooms every morning. Anyways, we said were going to leave and then magically they had a different room that we could move to the next day. That room was clean, open & well lit and generally a 110 percent more pleasant.
Aside from that, the location of the hotel is great: right next to a big indoor market and a lot of delicious food vendors, and only a few blocks away from the zócalo. Even the maid service here was pretty surprising: they folded our clothes and rolled up our socks!
So, to conclude: I would recommend this hotel with the advice that when making your reservation you specifically request "una habitación con una ventana." Seriously.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Trebol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trebol

Address: Flores Magon No. 201, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#11 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trebol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Trebol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trebol Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Trebol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.