We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel & good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Sierra Azul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa de Sierra Azul to your Saves list
Casa de Sierra Azul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hidalgo 1002 | Colonia Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
anywhere
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Nice hotel & good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

stayed one night here. Nice old mansion with patio. Rooms are around the patio execept some rooms that are in the back and are more quiet. Did just sleep here so cant judge on the food. Rooms was good and very complete with iron, cable tv, wireless, snacks. Nice terrace on top surrounded with cactusses. Centrally located just a few blocks from Santo Domingo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
33
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a very pretty property with a decent management. The rooms are all different and most have all promised amenities. You do however need to watch for rooms which are missing the advertised amenities (a/c, safe deposit boxes, etc). The check-in experince here was the worst I have had in a while (and I stay in hotels everyweek). We had booked 2 rooms for 4 persons each through booking.com, however on arrival (past the check-in time) we were told that only rooms with single king beds were available. After pressing the attendant we were offered a sub-par attic room with a day bed big enough for a child, but still not big enough for 4 adults. When refused this room were told the only option we had was to check out the next day! (Yes they told us to leave). Once we explained this was unacceptable another room magically became available, this time with 2 double beds! We decide to make do with the other king room and this one since the check-in attendant was hard to reason with.

The service at this hotel could also improve. We had multiple instances of requests for water and towels being completely ignored by the front desk. The service in the restaurant was also spotty and at times took a while to get an extra piece of toast or a coffee refill.

Overall, a very charming hotel however they do need to work hard on their service and customer interaction.

Room Tip: Cross your fingers and pray that you get what you think you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place is excellent- the courtyard arcade architecture right in the middle of Oaxaca by the museums, zocolo etc. is part of it... but then the rooms and the gardens are amazing. The restaurant for breakfast was very very good. Recommend the ex-convent a block away for dinner- amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had seen a bad review complaining about noise, and we thought it was just bad luck for the reviewer, but it wasn't. We could not sleep and decided to leave the next day. Unpolite guests and bad infrastructure made it impossible to sleep and first some people gathered in the atrium, speaking loudly, after 12AM, and later, some guys in front of our room did not have the courtesy of closing their door as they yelled and listened to loud music, at 2AM. My second complain with front desk got them to close their door (!).. still... not a coincidence... the mattress could also be better.

Room Tip: If they have an isolated room, take it! Away from other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Place is ok, food was regular, rooms were ok and service good but slow. W

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Is a hotel with an artist touch. Famous painters such as Toledo and Zarate, among others, made their contribution to de design.

Very well situated, quiet, good food.

Try it

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We have stayed 3 times at Casa de Sierra Azul in the past 10 years or so. The first time was very pleasant, the second not so (air conditioner not working properly) and the third time was the charm. I'm glad we didn't give up on it because it certainly lived up to it's initial intrigue. We stayed here on our last night in Oaxaca and service was excellent from the get-go (including an early check in). We paid slightly more for a superior room, but it was worth every bit, plus it included a continental breakfast. Our room was No. 3, towards the back and it had access to a very private roof top area, where my husband and I enjoyed a bottle of wine as we winded down from our long trip. The best part of this hotel is it's courtyard and the size of the property. A small elegant Colonial charmer close to the Zocalo, with good service, works for us every time.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room. We've stayed in a standard room in the past and they're ok. A supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Sierra Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Sierra Azul

Address: Hidalgo 1002 | Colonia Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Sierra Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Sierra Azul is an elegant and beautifully restored 200-year-old colonial home offers quiet, unusually spacious rooms in the heart of the city. It is only two blocks from the bustling Zocalo with its many cafes, strolling musicians, and artisans offering Oaxaca's famous painted animals and other high quality hand crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa de Sierra Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Azul Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Sierra Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.