We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a charmer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Sierra Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa de Sierra Azul to your Saves list
Casa de Sierra Azul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hidalgo 1002 | Colonia Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #27 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Xanadu
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's a charmer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Quaint restoration, anchored by a spectacular central patio fringed with high-ceilinged rooms that are a tad on the darker side (common to this type of layout where the rooms border the courtyard on one side and the street on the other, and skylights provide illumination without dispensing with privacy.)

Rich in charm, marvelously located (a few short blocks from the Zocalo and a few more from the Santo Domingo area which boasts a glut of top eateries), surprisingly quiet for its location.

Particular mention must be made of the front desk staff - without exception they went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. My check out at 12 noon was graciously extended to midnight to accommodate my late bus back to DF. I cannot imagine too many hotels that would extend this courtesy without a price tag.

At the sub $100 price tag that can be snagged online, this casa is a steal. Let's face it, if you choose to come to Oaxaca, you should choose to imbibe some of the character. If it's the Holiday Inn you seek, hmmm, may I recommend Minneapolis instead?

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Casa de Sierra Azul, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Mr.

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to express how was your past stay with us!
It is our pleasure to learn that you had a memorable vacation and that you have had the chance to enjoy not only our property but our beautiful Oaxaca.
We take pride in providing the best facilities and personal service to all our guest.

On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Sierra Azul we would like to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a near future.

Andrea Pastrana
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    31
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
38
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Stayed here Christmas 2010 with my husband.
Location, just 3 minutes walking from the Zocalo, is hard to beat.

Hotel is situated in a very nice house with an inner patio, like there are many in Oaxaca. Nicely restaurated, but at this moment our room needed a bit of attention. No major things, but just bits of paint missing, cracked wash basin, that show a bit of wear.

We had a junior suite, which was not overly big, but adequate. Very nice shower, good waterpressure!!
Cleaning very good, allthough the times were unpredictable (morning/afternoon).

Staff very friendly and at the reception very adequate as well.
In the restaurant area friendly as well, but sometimes they looked a little bit untrained..... Tried very hard, but although we were the only custumors to attend at the moment we had breakfast, it seamed hard to get things organised (like eggs being ready, but no bread until five minutes later.....). No big issues though.

Overal, nice hotel, but you expect a bit more when you see the rates. With a bit more effort it could go from good to excellent.....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

As already noted by others, the location of this hotel is ideal for various Historic District Oaxaca activities. The architecture and interior courtyard are lovely, and a very pleasant place to eat breakfast before venturing out into the hubbub of Oaxaca City. The price is reasonable for the location and quality.

They've done a pretty good job of sound-proofing their rooms bordering the very busy street just west of the hotel, HOWEVER: if you're used to total quiet while sleeping, some street noise seeps through and any chatter in the courtyard isn't dampened. Nothing a pair of earplugs can't resolve, but do be warned ...

Also, some rooms get little natural light, and a lot of small maintenance details seem to go unaddressed -- loose plumbing fittings, poor use of space (e.g., no table where a small one would be useful), inadequate lighting, chipped walls and paint that should be easy to address, etc. These are small things, but they add up to a less-than-ideal experience.

Finally, I found the staff to be genial but not aggressive about addressing problems. Sometimes they needed to be told two or three times before an issue was taken care of (and I speak fluent Spanish). Not due to surliness; the young staff often just seemed more interested in surfing the web than in striving to meet customer needs.

All in all, this was a good but not great hotel experience. I'm not a particularly demanding customer, but it does annoy me when relatively simple and obvious things to improve the client experience don't get addressed.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Casa de Sierra Azul, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,
I thank you for taking the time to express how was last vacation with us!
We are happy to learn that you had an enjoyable vacation and that you had the chance to enjoy all our amenities. We are sorry that your room was not of your lacked. Our ground floor rooms although accessible as you said and due to the traffic can be for some a little open.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next vacation, it will be my pleasure to assist you and make sure we accommodate your requests.

Thank you and warm regards,
Andrea Pastrana
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

My husband and I and another couple booked this delightful surprise. The hotel is located in central Oaxaca city, just two short blocks from the Zocalo. If you plan on renting a car, wait a couple of days and explore the city from this central location on foot. It is walking distance from a lot of restaurants, the Theater, museums, the Central Market and lots of the daily markets. It is a small, intimate hotel that has been lovingly restored from a former hacienda. There are pictures in the courtyard showing the former structure. The renovations carefully retained some of the old touches, such as the old paint and arches.

Our rooms were stylishly decorated and larger than I expected. We had a huge bathroom with a tub that was large enough for four people. Every day we had a fresh bouquet of alstrameria flowers. The rooms were located around a central courtyard. Each morning we had breakfast there. There was a nice variety of fruits, juices, sweet bread, coffee, chocolate and various styles of breakfasts, ie Continental, American and Oaxacan.

The staff was small but wonderful. The front desk staff spoke a little English and were eager to be of assistance. There is a computer in the lobby that can be used to send e-mails or whatever. They assisted us in getting a rental car. (We did have to go off-site to pick it up) They were terrific about giving us directions. The person who performed the breakfast service, also did our laundry. You put it in the bag that is provided, give it to her, and when you return from you day out, it is waiting for you in your room.

The facility is very clean. One day, there was a problem with the hot water in our room. Once we brought it to their attention, it was repaired immediately. There is also cocktail service in the evenings in the courtyard. There are pictures of the hotel on their website.

It was a wonderful week. The price was surprisingly reasonable. We found it on the internet after we decided that we wanted to go to Oaxaca. When we go back (not if), we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesa az
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

Very friendly and charming small hotel. Close to the zocolo and all the cathedrals. Beautifully restored and comfortable. The family who runs it are charming and gracious. I would recommend this whole heartedly. I have spent lots for time in Oaxaca and this is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Mumbai, the world
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

We travelled this summer in Mexico, Oaxaca was a fantastic destination during our road trip. The hotel Casa de Sierra Azul was an excellent surprise: the location is just 1 minute from the Center, it is beautiful and mostly has a great energy! The familiy who owns the place is so warm and friendly. Monica the owner and her mother gave us great advices such as the Women center to buy the best souvenirs directly from the producers. The rest of the staff was discret and helpful too. Our room was newly done, very raffinated and great shower! Thank you for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruita, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Located in a historic colonial house, Casa de Sierra Azul is only three blocks from the Zocalo and a short walk from some of the major attractions of Oaxaca.

The staff was friendly and accommodating, including the arrangement for a driver/morning pick-up for a ride to the airport. Breakfast was served in the open courtyard with a pleasant fountain at half a dozen patio tables with umbrellas. Juice, coffee, sweet, crunchy pastries, scrambled eggs with tomatoes & onions, chicken tamales in banana leaves with mole, provided at additional cost.

I had a room on the ground floor, which lacked complete privacy due to foot traffic past windows on two sides. Room was rather plain but comfortable with cable TV offering three dozen channels. Bathroom light and airy with nice walk-in shower and sink near window. Rooms are not air-conditioned but have large ceiling fan. It could get hot during the day but cooled off at night. Lack of privacy prevented keeping curtains open to enable a breeze while getting dressed.

Room - in rear corner of courtyard - was relatively quiet. Only occasional traffic could be heard. This was a major plus as compared to reports from other tourists I met who complained of traffic and loud music outside their hotel near Santo Domingo cultural center/museum.

Cleanliness was a-plus. Room and hotel in general was spic 'n span. Room cleaned quietly and efficiently every day.

The price was a little steep for what is offered but I suppose you're paying for the excellent location. I'd definitely stay here if I ever visit Oaxaca again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Sierra Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Sierra Azul

Address: Hidalgo 1002 | Colonia Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Sierra Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Sierra Azul is an elegant and beautifully restored 200-year-old colonial home offers quiet, unusually spacious rooms in the heart of the city. It is only two blocks from the bustling Zocalo with its many cafes, strolling musicians, and artisans offering Oaxaca's famous painted animals and other high quality hand crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa de Sierra Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Azul Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Sierra Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.