We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great colonial city experience with all the luxury of a modern hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casantica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casantica to your Saves list
Hotel Casantica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Jose Maria Morelos No. 601 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great colonial city experience with all the luxury of a modern hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The presidential suite is spacious and beautifully decorated in colonial style. Although little daylight entered, two balcony doors opened to the street looking out over chapels and bells and more colonial buildings. A jacuzzi in the bathroom was clean and worked perfectly, and adds to the romantics of the whole place. The extra touch of a rose pettal path, red roses, and fresh fruit breakfast in the room made this an unforgettable experience! The heated swimming pool was also a pleasure to come home to after exploring the countryside! Thank you for this very special treat!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    91
    30
    10
    14
See reviews for
55
72
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I loved our stay at Casantica. The staff was wonderful, their normal mode of operation was to take care of our needs graciously and without fuss. Our trip coincided with the Guelaguetza celebration and we wanted to get last minute tickets. They got on the phone and we had front row tickets cheaper than Ticketmaster was offering (which ended up being sold out anyway). My only complaint with this hotel is they seemed a little stingy with the TP....lol.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We recently stayed at Casantica. It is a nice, charming and centrally located property in Oaxaca. I had previously read the comments on Trip Advisor, and I requested a room on the highest floor, so that I could get more morning sunlight in our room. All of the rooms -by the way, very small -, face the interior of the former convent.

Anyway, I wanted to mention that the hotel has a very bad service at the restaurant. They offer this promotion with breakfast included, so you get to choose different hot meal options, which are not bad at all. The problem is that their personnel is poorly trained. They have two waiters that never make eye contact with customers. They never say "buenos días" or "hi". They just wait until you sit and then they approach the table with an unfriendly look to deliver the menus. You dont really feel the traditional Mexican welcome at this place.

The first morning I asked for coffee and the waiter came back with a dirty cup. I told him to get me another coffee and all he did was to pour the old coffee into a new cup. Of course, the coffee was cold by the time I got it back. The third morning, the same waiter did exactly the same: my wife ordered coffee and he brought her a cold one. I told him to get her a new, fresh coffee and he only placed the same cup in the microwave to warm it up. I was really upset and told him to get a fresh coffee, not a "microwaved' one. Instead of bringing a new coffee, he started asking me and my wife why would she need a new, fresh coffee. So, that was it. We left the restaurant and went out to look for a Starbucks or something similar.

This is just a clear example of poor hotel management. They should really train their employees (all of them, including cooks and maids), to say "buenos días", smile and immediately address an easy issue like exchanging a cold cup of coffee for a fresh one without questioning customers. Oaxaca - and Mexico in general- is a friendly hospitable place, but small issues like this can sometimes ruin the whole experience...The first impression for a foreign tourist starts at the hotel. If everything goes well there, he will reccomend the hotel, the city and the country. Please take note.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was here with friends for about 3 nights, and it was absolutely amazing! clean, cute, very typical Mexican kind of like an "hacienda". It included breakfast, it was great, very complete and it was delicious. The price we paid was great as well, great value for this hotel.
In general, everything was amazing. And the location! just a few blocks from the Zocalo, and a few blocks from bars and restaurants. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a really beautiful, colonial hotel situated only a couple of blocks from the Zocalo which makes it a convenient place to stay for a couple of days in Oaxaca. Nice and friendly staff and a small pool from where you can get some afternoon sun. Nice rooms with beautiful bathrooms, however a room with a queen bed for two persons can not be recommended. Really really small rooms with no space for baggage for two people, not even if you are a light traveller as we were. The rooms with two beds were much bigger so better to book that or a king size room. There was a nice breakfast included but for coffee-drinkers it is advisable to get your morning "fix", ;-) from the Oxxo nearby. The coffee included in the complimentary breakfast was terrible and tasted like weak tea. The nice waiter said they had real coffee for an additional cost so we tried that but that was almost just as bad. A minor minus but stil worth knowing.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, book a king-size bed or a room with two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Two couples travelling through mexico this was a disappointment. The rooms were shabby the Matresses had plastic covers over them and we did have problems sleeping as it was very hot and sticky. The pillows were lumpy. The towels totally inadequate for two people no bath towels . The showers were dirty around the doors plastic pipework showing throughout looked really unkept and shower mats were dirty.The rooms were very noisy and the whole feel was shabby. I would not go there again.

Room Tip: This is a good location however I would not recommend it if you are looking for good value for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico DF
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The good things:

Beautiful building in a great location of Oaxaca City.

Room for improvement:

1. They said there was parking. There wasn't. They called a valet parking service that disappeared with my car.
2. The "double" room was tiny. Hardly enough room to walk around the bed.
3. Noise just reverberates around this building. There is nothing resembling sound-proofing in the rooms. This was worsened by being woken up every morning before 7am by staff cleaning, talking amongst themselves, shouting at each other, talking into radios.
4. Staff generally unhelpful, bordering on rude. Cleaning staff weren't left a tip because both reception and the restaurant claimed not to have any change. I then had breakfast in the restaurant and watched them produce change.
5. Not enough towels. My request for another was met with, "We only give one towel per guest". I took the sodden towel to reception to change it.
6. The "tour" I bought from the hotel was dreadful. It set off 30 minutes late and arrived back 2 hours late, with some very dangerous driving in-between. When I cautioned the driver, his response of "Don't worry, everything is under control" did not re-assure me.

I would return to beautiful Oaxaca City. It's extremely unlikely I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casantica

Address: Av. Jose Maria Morelos No. 601 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casantica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel CasAntica,an Ex-convent from the XVI century, beauty and comfort like no other; it is located right in the middle of Oaxaca's down town, a City of charm, magic and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Casantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casantica Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casantica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.