We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and central.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casantica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casantica to your Saves list
Hotel Casantica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Jose Maria Morelos No. 601 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful and central.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a really beautiful, colonial hotel situated only a couple of blocks from the Zocalo which makes it a convenient place to stay for a couple of days in Oaxaca. Nice and friendly staff and a small pool from where you can get some afternoon sun. Nice rooms with beautiful bathrooms, however a room with a queen bed for two persons can not be recommended. Really really small rooms with no space for baggage for two people, not even if you are a light traveller as we were. The rooms with two beds were much bigger so better to book that or a king size room. There was a nice breakfast included but for coffee-drinkers it is advisable to get your morning "fix", ;-) from the Oxxo nearby. The coffee included in the complimentary breakfast was terrible and tasted like weak tea. The nice waiter said they had real coffee for an additional cost so we tried that but that was almost just as bad. A minor minus but stil worth knowing.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, book a king-size bed or a room with two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    94
    32
    11
    14
See reviews for
58
75
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Two couples travelling through mexico this was a disappointment. The rooms were shabby the Matresses had plastic covers over them and we did have problems sleeping as it was very hot and sticky. The pillows were lumpy. The towels totally inadequate for two people no bath towels . The showers were dirty around the doors plastic pipework showing throughout looked really unkept and shower mats were dirty.The rooms were very noisy and the whole feel was shabby. I would not go there again.

Room Tip: This is a good location however I would not recommend it if you are looking for good value for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico DF
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The good things:

Beautiful building in a great location of Oaxaca City.

Room for improvement:

1. They said there was parking. There wasn't. They called a valet parking service that disappeared with my car.
2. The "double" room was tiny. Hardly enough room to walk around the bed.
3. Noise just reverberates around this building. There is nothing resembling sound-proofing in the rooms. This was worsened by being woken up every morning before 7am by staff cleaning, talking amongst themselves, shouting at each other, talking into radios.
4. Staff generally unhelpful, bordering on rude. Cleaning staff weren't left a tip because both reception and the restaurant claimed not to have any change. I then had breakfast in the restaurant and watched them produce change.
5. Not enough towels. My request for another was met with, "We only give one towel per guest". I took the sodden towel to reception to change it.
6. The "tour" I bought from the hotel was dreadful. It set off 30 minutes late and arrived back 2 hours late, with some very dangerous driving in-between. When I cautioned the driver, his response of "Don't worry, everything is under control" did not re-assure me.

I would return to beautiful Oaxaca City. It's extremely unlikely I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the reviews in tripadvisor and was not disappointed. It isn't fancy but it is very nice, clean and has all the comforts - hot water, cable tv, hairdryer. The bathrooms are much nicer than most hotels in this price point. It is well located between Plaza Domingo and the Zocalo so it is easy to get anywhere. I agree with previous reviews that you shoud refuse the "superior" room in favor of a regular double which is in the newer part of the hotel with better ventilation and light. The hotel breakfast was decent as well. My only complaint is that the internet did not work well in the rooms, only in the courtyard downstairs. The staff were mostly great but there are a few people who are just not that interested in helping.

Room Tip: Definitely insist on a regular double and not a "superior" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

One of the best hotels I have stayed in in years. From the moment you are greeted you know that your stay is going to be special and indeed it was. I visit Oaxaca each year and have found my new home.

Room Tip: The double rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puebla, Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Casantica. The rooms are on the small side, but very clean. The common areas are beautifully decorated with lots of antiques and plants and are immaculate. The high season price of about $100 a night for two, includes a choice of complete breakfast. Every day there was a musician singing and playing the guitar for tips at breakfast. Very nice. The pool is small, but heated. Casantica is about a block from the main square and three blocks from the Santo Domingo church. The front desk staff are GREAT!! They were very knowledgeable and recommended a museum (Museo del Palacio) for our little one that was right on the mark. We will definitely go back to Casantica. There is SO much to see and do in Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is not more than an average 3 star hotel. Our room was very small, dark, and very strong mildew smell coming from bathroom drains. Noise level from outside very loud starting at 8:00am so don't expect to sleep late. It was clean but bathroom towels were very cheap quality. Bathroom has not been updated since 1950s. Metal shower door did not slide closed, broken tile sink counter, soap dish falling off wall, etc. Staff was very nice, very nice lobby, courtyard, pool and good restaurant but did not make up for being uncomfortable. The location is great, walking distance to Zocalo and shopping but there are better options.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#16 of 108 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#17 of 108 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.2 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#30 of 108 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casantica

Address: Av. Jose Maria Morelos No. 601 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casantica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel CasAntica,an Ex-convent from the XVI century, beauty and comfort like no other; it is located right in the middle of Oaxaca's down town, a City of charm, magic and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casantica Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casantica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.