We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better available in Oaxaca” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casantica

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casantica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casantica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Morelos No. 601 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
california
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Much better available in Oaxaca”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

My room very small and no windows.
Bed and bed linens. Super old and not comfortable
Some staff super nice, others not so friendly.
During my stay they would add water to the pool at 6am or 10pm using a pumper truck and it was very loud, no sleep loud.

The location is good. The wifi works only in the lobby.

Knowing what I know now I would not stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    68
    27
    9
    14
See reviews for
40
55
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

CasAntica, an Ex-Convent was a wonderful choice.Located just one block away from the Zocalo(the Square) it's the perfect location,without the noise and a 24 hours desk.
It's very charming and beautiful with a spacious ,green courtyard.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and I want to give special thanks to the-very good english speaking- receptionist MarieSol .
They also organize great tours for very reasonable prices.
I will definitely come back to CasAntica on my next visit to Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the highest floor (3 ) facing the morning sun, because they have the most light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We visited Oaxaca city for the first time, and we found this hotel based on the reviews we found online.
I called the hotel directly, and found a promotion for our stay in early August.
This is not a chain hotel and each room is different, but the inside patio and pool are great for the family, or for a coffee in the morning. The adjacent restaurant is very convenient and the food is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

When planning our first trip to Oaxaca, this establishment jumped out at us as "our type" of hotel. Through another source, I made contact with a couple of Oaxaca residents and one had even stayed here when she first moved to Oaxaca. The hotel was purchased a few years back by an architect and his interior decorator wife. My information was that extensive upgrades were performed on this former 16th century convent and we felt they did a great job.

Super location in the heart of "centro Oaxaca" that was without the noise typically found in Mexican hotels in the heart of the city. Their system for valet parking was a real plus since parking can be problematic. Our car was always retrieved within about ten minutes of requesting it.

We found our original requested superior room with a king bed to be on the small and confining side but a simple request to be moved to a larger superior room resulted in a much larger room with two queen beds. The air conditioning was a plus since we experienced rains and things were a bit muggy. Our only criticism was a lack of plugins (two) for things like our computer, the hair dryer or charging cell phones but we accept this to be somewhat standard in renovated older buildings. Our second floor room was well lit, extremely clean and quiet. Each floor had sitting areas with one side covered (retractable roof) and the other open air.

On the main floor, there was a swimming pool and a pleasant courtyard with patio tables. While we didn't use the hotel restaurant, we did have a few drinks in the bar and found the staff to be pleasant and accommodating. The same went for the front desk staff.

All in all, a great experience and we will definitely stay here on future trips!

Room Tip: We would lean towards rooms on either the second or third floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel had two courtyards, one covered, with rooms areound the courtyards on 3 floors. This meant that some of the rooms were a bit dark but they were clean and fitted with charming old ceraminc and brass bathroom fittings and comfortable and clean beds. The pool was small but very refreshing, and the breakfasts were good value with vegetarian options. Didn't eat dinner there but the sandwich at lunch was fine and the service friendly. There was wifi which was a bit hit and miss and the terracotta tiles around the courtyard meant some of the ground floor room could be a bit noisy. It was very close to the centre and the restaurants and all in all a very nice little hotel for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family was welcomed on Saturday in the late afternoon by the kind and courteous staff after having a really bad experience at the Holiday Inn Express Oaxaca. We were pleasantly surprised by the beautifully designed court yard and the rooms.

This location is only a block and a half away from the Zocalo and four or five away from the local Mercardo. It is extremely convenient and we went everywhere on foot, even our kids did.

I would highly recommend this place if you are visiting Oaxaca!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We spent two days in this medium-high level hotel. It is located in the best place in town just between the two major attractions of the city: the zocalo and the cathedral santo Domingo. Staff is super friendly and helpful: A guy had to come 3-4 times to our room to make sure that TV remote control was working and he eventually changed the batteries for us. Swimming pool is nice even if small and enjoys sun from 10 to 17 everyday. A good place for a break after lunch in the hottest hours. Breakfast is ok and enough varied, but I must say that the restaurant (except for breakfast) is not at the level of other restaurants in Oaxaca. I would not eat here more than necessary. Ask for a room on a high floor otherwise you risk to have windows only overlooking the courtyard/swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casantica

Address: Av. Morelos No. 601 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casantica 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel CasAntica brings you the quaint charm of Oaxaca, Mexico in a historic two-building structure that was once a convent in the 16th century.Inside this repurposed and renovated structure is a large terrace where you can languidly relax and bask in the sun. The third floor offers magnificent views of the surrounding areas and old Oaxacan churches. The second building houses the heated pool and small patio with a beautiful fountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Casantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casantica Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casantica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.