We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find..........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SP Restaurante

SP Restaurante
Independencia 902 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
+52 951 501 2148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 279 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Price range: $7 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurante de comida oaxaquena con sugerencia de platillos libaneses ubicado a un lado del Centro Cultural San Pablo. Cuenta con terraza y zona de cafeteria.
Vanderhoof
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a find..........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are visiting Oaxaca for a week in a group of nine gringos / una Mexicano from the East Cape on Baja. Each night we try a new restaurant. We stumbled upon SP on our way to a jazz concert and ended up missing the concert :-) We can't say enough good things about this restaurant! From the time we arrived to the time we left we were treated like long-term favourite customers. The margaritas (with Don Julio Blanco) were prepared as per our specifications and were perfect. Our salads were the best we have sampled here in Oaxaca - each of us had a different salad and we all raved about the size and the quality! Mains were very good to excellent - try the enchiladas with chipotle peppers and jimica (sp??) There were no ratings less than very good.

Perhaps the best thing about our visit to SP was the welcome we received. We had no reservation but were treated like old friends from the minute we arrived. Drinks were served quickly and professionally and the table service was as good as anywhere in the world. We will be back next year with more amigos!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadlephia, PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have nothing negative to say about the food or service, but I just think there are much better options in Oaxaca with food just as good at half the price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This restaurant is a must. The service was excellent - our friendly waiters Armando and Alejandro tended to our every need and even entertained our attempts at Spanish! The food was the best we have had in Mexico. There were two of us and we ordered the tasting plate with an array of meats, quesadillas and sauces. We shared a main which was a fillet of fish. It was the best fish we have ever tasted - marinated in delicious spices and split between the two of us with immaculate presentation. The atmosphere was outstanding - we took a seat on the first terrace with a great view of the church and square below. We highly recommend this restaurant - for the quality of food it was excellent value for money.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“So Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Perhaps we ordered the wrong dishes. The setting is lovely, the service was impeccable and we four were ready to love it all. However, the soup arrived too salty to eat and we had to send it back: the replacement was somewhat less salty, but still...Three of us ordered the arroz arabe, which sounded fabulous on the menu. It was however, a large plate of cinnamon rice with miniscule pieces of chicken and virtually no flavor beyond the cinnamon. No one ate much, nor did we bother to take it out. My husband ordered the stuffed squash which wasstill a little salty, and a very small portion with NO rice or accompanying sides. Nearby tables ordered more typical Oaxacan food and their paltes looked very good. Perhaps staying away from the Lebanese selections is the way to go. It was an expensive disappointment.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FNandez, Gerente at SP Restaurante, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
SP Restaurante appreciate your comments. We sent you an apology if you didnt like the dishes.
We are sure that in the next visit you will enjoy the complete expirience. Food ambience and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent modern Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our dinner was excellent. Great service, lovely view and delicious food. I would have loved to try some Lebanese food as well but the selection of dishes was limited, knowledge of waiter on the dishes was not as good as the Mexican menu.I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SP Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to SP Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SP Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.