We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel did not honor booking.com price” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Alban

Hotel Monte Alban
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Monte Alban to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Alban
Alameda de Leon No. 1, Oaxaca, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Oaxaca, Mexico
1 review
“Hotel did not honor booking.com price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I found this hotel on tripadvisor and booked through the booking.com link on tripadvisor. The booking.com price was supposed to cover a 3 day stay for my family. At check-in, the price was different and higher. (The booking.com price did not include a 19% tax and I understand that. My complaint is the rate well beyond the 19%, more than $1000MN.) The difference was about $25US, and after a long day of travel, I just gave. At checkout, however, the rate was again higher, much higher. Since I had to pay in local currency I did not have the protection a credit card gives you. It didn't matter what I said about the booking.com agreement. Politeness did not work. Assertiveness did not work. Lesson: beware of booking this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg,Manitoba
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Like walking through the doors of History. This old dame has withstood the perils of time. Although a little weather beaten, She deserves her spot among the many historical facades that surround her. In need of some TLC, this hotel still has many attributes to promote. The newer bathrooms have just the right style to complement the romance of the rooms. The hottest water in a shower that I have ever experienced in Mexico. That and the amount of pressure coming out of the shower head made for a very pleasant waking experience after touching those cool marble slabs first thing in the morning. The small balcony overlooking the Zocalo made for an exotic moment. It made you feel like a dignitary overlooking your people. Truly memorable. Hast la Vista, mi amor.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you get a room with a balcony. Although the balcony is small, it adds to the experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel Monte Alban is an authentic 18th-century hotel. It is built of beautiful green cantera stone, the distinct volcanic stone unique to the region. Located in the historic quarter of Oaxaca across from the Cathedral, it is conveniently located by the Zocalo. It features a colonial-style courtyard with large glazed ceiling, archways and a restaurant. Originally the hotel was built as a private residence for the city's Bishop and was later made into a hotel. Currently, it is family owned and they have preserved much of the original architecture and details. I have stayed in other hotels in Oaxaca, but Hotel Monte Alban is my favorite. They have a nightly Guelaguetza, an indigenous cultural dance event in Mexico featuring traditional dancing with colorful costumes. They also have daily food and beverage specials and a very very excellent expresso machine (try it, it's as good as any I've had in Italy, maybe better). The rooms are generously sized with high ceilings and beautiful large wooden beams. It's hard to describe the feeling one has when staying here, one feels as if transported back to a different time and place, almost like being in an old movie-- romantic, authentic and unique.

The staff is attentive and honest. I left several items in my room because I didn't have enough space in my luggage. The staff packed the items up, brought them to me and asked me why I forgot to take them. I love, love, love this hotel. I plan to stay here for all of my future visits to Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Suggest staying on the top floor, facing the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I just got back after spending a week at the Hotel Monte Alban. First off it is right across from the Church on the large Zacolo, perfect for people watching if you have a Balcony facing the square. The hotel is old and full of history. Originally it was built as a private residence for the Bishop of the church. It them became a hotel and has been ever since. The family that owns it now has had the hotel in the family for over fifty years. They have a nightly The Guelaguetza, is an annual indigenous cultural dance event in Mexico that takes place in the city of Oaxaca one being here at this hotel. Beautiful traditional dancing with costume. They also have a daily Comida Corrida (A pre set meal with a few choices on your side dishes) 3 courses and beverage for a very good price and pretty decent meal. You know it must be good when the dining room is filled with locals having lunch.
As for the room we had a two bed room with a small balcony. The room is simple, clean and fine if your not looking for too many frills. The ceilings are very high and just beautiful with the large wooden beams. The room was cleaned everyday and found everyone that worked there to be very pleasant and helpful; I would totally go back and stay here, just overall a great historical place perfectly located.

Room Tip: Get the balcony nice to get out of the hustle and bustle but still get to watch all the goings on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Alban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Alban

Address: Alameda de Leon No. 1, Oaxaca, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Monte Alban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Alban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.