We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian choice in Oaxaca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mexita

Mexita
Federico Ortiz Armengol Street Number 105 | Federico Ortiz Armengol Street Number 105, Oaxaca 68050, Mexico
+52 951 520 2180
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 253 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Mexita es un restaurante de cocina SurItaliana, de antiguas origines Napolitanas.
Oaxaca
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Italian choice in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

It is hard to open a restaurant in Oaxaca, specially if you are not from Oaxaca, A restaurant in Oaxaca has to be excellent in order to survive. Mexita is the best Italian restaurant at the moment. They make their own Ricotta cheese, their house wine, their own limoncello and everything is prepared at the moment. I strongly recommend it, specially if you are looking for good quality food that is not Oaxacan Food. Pastas an d pizzas s' great, and the salad with arugula and Pear is my favorite.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    11
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great pizza, tiramisu, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We arrived soon after the 2pm opening, were seated near the kitchen(we chose the table). The waiter took our order in Spanish, although I did notice they had some English speakers available. We ordered a pizza, while we waited the owner(I assume) brought out bruschetta on the house. Pizza was neopolitan style, made with in-house made proscuitto, mozzarella, dough and sauce and a touch of fresh basil. The pizza maker cooked the pie to perfection, no small feat considering the oven's temperature. Tiramisu was perfect, service was well trained, not quick but never lacking, and the restaurant is well maintained and very pleasant. If you are looking for a classic Oaxacan experience go elsewhere, if you want great Italian food at a nice price in a beautiful setting, visit Mexita.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth looking for it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Went here with a friend, and after looking for it for almost half an hour (or more), weren't we pleased by it?!
Pizza was delicious, however, there was a little miscommunication since we didn't speak Spanish, and they didn't speak English very well. We did order lasagna too, and after our pizza, we waited for half an hour for the lasagna wondering why we don't have it, and finally, realizing that they didn't realize we ordered lasagna as well. So, in the end, we only had the pizza, but it was delicious. If I visit Oaxaca again, I would def visit this place (this time to have the lasagna). :)

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Great basil, tomato and mozzarella salad, delicious pizza with tender crust, everything homemade,
excellent service, very nice atmosphere, they make their own pasta, and Lemoncello. ( a complementary shot )

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
1 review
“Where is Mexita?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Does anyone know where Mexita is now? I have gone to all three of the addresses listed on various reviews and they aren't at any of them, And the phone listed in the reviews has been dis connected. So,where they at?

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrico D, Propietario at Mexita, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Google Translation
Buenas tardes, nos encontramos en la calle Doc. Federico Ortiz Armengol n 105 sobre calzada Porfirio Díaz , en frente a "Casa de Cantera" o atrás de seguros "gnp" el teléfono es el mismo, los esperamos, saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexita also viewed

 

Been to Mexita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.