We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly and efficient hotel in Spanish and in English!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Azucenas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Azucenas
Calle Prof M Aranda 203, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly and efficient hotel in Spanish and in English!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Azucenas for the first two weeks of February. All staff are bilingual and very helpful and friendly. They arranged transport and air line tickets for me and were always happy to help me get oriented in the city. They recommended good eateries, and off the beaten path artisans, etc.
The roof top garden area is superb and well tended. Great views of the city and one gets to chat with the other guests.
The hotel is small and intimate and a real oasis of charm. Lots of hot water for showers and the rooms are spotless and scrubbed every day by very cheerful and happy staff.
I would definitely return to Hotel Azucenas. It was a true home from home.

Room Tip: I was in room 7 which faces the street, but the room is large and charming. I enjoyed the street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi Pierrette – Thanks for being a great and FUN guest! It was obvious you were enjoying yourself…and taking advantage of all the city offers.
We look forward to seeing you again! Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    53
    5
    10
    1
See reviews for
17
84
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hotel Azucenas is a perfect hotel for experienced travellers who value friendliness and good management over impersonal American-style hotels. We've visited a number of times now and have spent many evenings on the roof surrounded by flowers and other visitors who have become friends. It's the kind of small hotel that attracts interesting guests with lots of travelling stories. Donna, the Canadian owner, can organize anything you need or want and does so with tremendous generosity of spirit. She has a great sense of what her guests need, from birding guides to healthy, delicious breakfasts in the roof garden. Hotel Azucenas is impeccably clean and always welcoming. Thanks, Donna!

Room Tip: The two rooms on the upper level are choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi bustersmom! Thanks for all of the compliments!!
We love seeing guests move in as couples or singles and then head out for dinner with friends they’ve made over breakfast on the terrace!
And we pride ourselves on being able to answer any question or request – we want our guests to be able to see and enjoy ALL of Oaxaca…and we look forward to seeing YOU again! Saludos, Donna and the staff ofHhotel Azucenas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

You'll be very happy if you stay here on a visit to Oaxaca - it's a lovely old building with very friendly and helpful staff and a nice line in relaxed hospitality which shows in the notes for guests and in any chat with Donna or her colleagues. The roof garden is special with its view over the city plus (on Monday mornings anyway) a serenade from the school opposite at morning assembly of the Mexican national anthem, which is a lot jollier than ours.

It's only helpful - we hope - to look for what some people might consider downsides, and we didn't quite go for 5 stars cos the rooms might be thought a bit small and darkish by some and there could be a problem if others stay up late on the roof or leave early for flights etc and make a bit too much noise (probably without realising it, cos all our fellow guests were really nice and added to the pleasure of staying).

The staff are excellent with info, eg on catching the Monte Alban bus just down the hill, and the town centre is only a five/ten minut stroll. Thanks very much indeed to Donna and everyone for a great couple of days. Oh, and we much enjoyed trying to manage the sitting-up-in-bed-to-read hatches in the headboards; one of those small details which will probably linger in the memory even when we get old(er) and dotty.

Room Tip: Room 10 looked v nice - we were very happy in ours on the ground floor facing the street which was c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi MWainwright, Thanks for writing and for your comments!
It’s true that our rooftop terrace and staff and services are WONDERFUL, and our price is RIGHT…we hope that more than makes up for any other difficulties you might experience!!
BTW – our furniture is all handmade, and the tilt-out headboard panels (for reading while sitting up in bed) were invented and produced by fellow Canadian John Boxtel.
Glad you enjoyed them! Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Oaxaca, we stayed two nights at Azucenas Hotel. We were a family of 6 and had 3 rooms. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was really lovely and to be able to sit out on the roof top garden to enjoy our breakfast was magical! Donna was fantastic, a lovely helpful host. The hotel was in a great location an easy walk to the Zocalo. Oaxaca was beautiful, with its colourful markets and warm and friendly people, we never felt unsafe. We loved every minute!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Hi Pearsy5 –
Yours was a great group, and you obviously enjoyed your time in Oaxaca.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip – THANKS for writing! Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Economy Nova Scotia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We returned this year to Azucenas for our twelfth visit. Once again we enjoyed the great location, friendly and helpful staff and the lovely roof-top garden that is the perfect oasis after a day in the busy city. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in most of the rooms by now and have enjoyed them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Judith v – the year wouldn't be fulfilled without the vanD’s on our rooftop!
Thanks for taking the time to write, Donna
PS – I like all the rooms, too – the only one I HAVEN’T slept in is #10, as its often booked…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is wonderful. It is traditional and charming. The management and staff are friendly and helpful. The front desk staff all speak English and they have very good recommendations for restaurants, tours, sites, etc. Donna, the owner is awesome. Rooms are very clean and homey. It is a great place to get away from the busy daily lives we live. The hotel has a beautiful roof top garden area and they serve a very nice continental breakfast. They have hot coffee most of the day and it is very good. I can't recommend this hotel enough. I won't stay any place else.

Room Tip: It is a small hotel and only has 10 rooms, but they are equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hi Constance S!
Can you tell this is a guest we LOVE to see?? Thanks for all the compliments…and we look forward to seeing you again.
It’s true – all of our receptionists and our manager speak English. Some are university students (Daniela and Juan at this time) , and for others this is a first job post-degree (a GREAT way to improve their language). And our wonderful manager –Aleythia - has been with the hotel 8 years. My English isn’t bad either.
Thanks again! Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I loved the intimacy, services, and location of Hotel Azucenas. It's close enough to the Zocallo to be convenient, yet far enough away to be quiet. The rooftop patio is a delight from morning breakfast on into a moonlit evening. The rooms are nicely appointed and the staff is lovely. I'll be there on my next visit to Oaxaca!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hola Grammy Travels!
Small has its advantages…we usually get to know our guests, and so can help them enjoy Oaxaca in the way that THEY want to: Bird-watching? Hiking in the mountains? Cooking classes on OUR ROOF??
We look forward to seeing you again! Donna and the staff of Hotel Azucenas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Azucenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azucenas

Address: Calle Prof M Aranda 203, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Azucenas Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Azucenas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Azucenas to your Saves list