We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B & B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Mariposas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Las Mariposas to your Saves list
Hotel Las Mariposas
Pino Suarez 517 | Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Valladolid, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice B & B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at Las Mariposas about three weeks in February 2013. It is a nice, comfortable place to stay. The location is great. The staff is helpful and friendly. The hotel serves a free light breakfast with coffee. A couple days each week the hotel also has a full Mexican breakfast for 50 pesos. The only problem was the WIFI, which was "hit and miss." This seems to be a problem at many Mexican hotels. I recomend this nice B&B to anyone going to Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter, but #3 is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your opinions. we are working on wifi problem.
and hope soon will be fine.
see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    73
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
100
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I visited with my daughter, sister and nephew. For us it was perfect, we felt right at home with the hospitality and ambiance, with art and little shrines tucked away in corners and nooks. We stayed a week. The beds were a comfortable firm, though the pillows could be thicker by my standards, however since we had just come from (#1)Villas Las Palmas in Huatulco and the pillows there weren't much different, maybe it's a standard. Four of us shared the room and hot water was never an issue. I hope the bathroom doors do get replaced as I would like to stay in a suite again on a return (the newer rooms have full doors). It was an older room and had the comfort of well lived family home, very clean, a cool and desirable dark in the warm days good for a nap. Family staying at various other spots (including AZUL) came by and were impressed with what a sweet place it was. Breakfast was minimal, however with a bakery on the corner 2 min. away I supplemented it and it was adequate and got us through to lunch. As we met some interesting people to share info. with and also enjoyed some long coffee chats in the lovely patio, it was more than worth it. The location is the best, laundry, natural food store, good eateries, within two blocks. I currently have problems walking but the distance to the Zocalo was not far. The service was excellent (only the young men in the evenings tend to be monosyllabic) otherwise the advice and suggestions on getting around, tours, places to go were top notch. My daughter was ill a couple of days and the personal attention was outstanding. This will be my spot when I return.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are more modern and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
thank you so much for your comments, hope to see you in your next visit to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed at Las Mariposas for 8 nights during Christmas, it was perfect.
Coffee every morning and about everyother day they would make a great breakfast.
It was in a great location, close to Santo Domingo and lovely parks.
They were able to set up a car and driver for me to visit some of the small villages.
I will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios. Esperamos ser de su preferencia para su próxima visita en Oaxaca.
Gracias.
Hasta pronto !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I enjoyed the week I stayed at Las Mariposas. It was comfortable and met my expectations. Don't expect luxury, but it was clean and quaint. It was located in a nice area of the city and just far enough away from the hectic Zocalo to be relaxing, but not so far to be inconvenient. The fact that the gate is locked at night is nice to ensure safety, but I did feel bad awaking the night doorman to let me in after hours. Still, it didn't seem to be a problem. For the price, I thought it was great. There is no heat or AC, which is probably standard, but be advised that is did get fairly chilly at night (in December).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments, hope to see you again here in Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Las Mariposas was a delight. It is a most interesting hotel with lots of cool outdoor nooks and crannies for curling up with a good book or enjoying a morning cup of coffee. The room was very nice, good bed, well furnished. The bathroom was ample with lots of hot water. A very good experience at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
thank you so much for your opinions, hope to see you when you will back to Oaxaca again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuiaba, MT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at Las Mariposas for 16 days. The studio was in the back courtyard and was very quiet (although some guests were very noisy). The room was nice, comfortable and clean. The bed was large and cozy, the shower was good. When I arrived Beth was at the reception, she was nice and gave good tips of places to go and eat (I don't know if she still works there). It is a good place to stay if you're on a budget, the prices are reasonable and the hotel is simple but pleasant. Don't expect much from the breakfast, it is very basic, so if you like to eat well in the mornings (I do) it is better to eat somewhere else. The maid service was good and Lucila was lovely, but my suggestion is that they begin to do the cleaning later. Sometimes I did not want or need to wake up early but they knocked on my door or made noise next to the room. During my stay the hotel started doing some maintanance work and it was a little noisy and uncomfortable unfortunately. The smell from the painting on the stone wall next to my room was strong for several days.
The hotel is well located: just 1/2 block from Llano Park and a few walk from the historical center. If you like pets there is a nice dog called Tita, but if you don't it is not a problem because she doesn't bother the guests.
Oaxaca is a lovely city and as a woman solo traveller I felt safe walking alone even in the night.

Room Tip: I think the rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your suggestion , we'll try to aply it, we are so sorry for the maintanance work, we try to do it during low season.
Hope to see you in your next visit to oaxaca.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Las Mariposas is located easy walking distance south to the Zocola or north to the 1st class bus station. Minutes away from Juarez Park (El Llano) where the festival of the Virgin de Guadelupe is held, combining religious reverence and circus midway madness and noise. Inside the Mariposas it remains serene.
Everything is spotless and the gardens are very relaxing.
The studios are the best buy option (600 pesos) and are very spacious, but not easy to reserve.
The regular rooms (500) are better than most similar options in the neighborhood.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Numerous restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Rent a studio if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. we are working to provide you the best service.
Enjoy Oaxaca.
You are welcome anytime you will come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Mariposas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Mariposas

Address: Pino Suarez 517 | Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#5 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#11 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Mariposas is a small, family-run hotel with a friendly, relaxed guesthouse atmosphere, offering bed and breakfast to all kinds of international travelers. Choose a single or a double room and you'll find the comfortable beds, private bathroom and spotlessly clean accommodation exactly what you need. If you'd prefer the option of having your own cooking facilities, then consider a studio apartment with kitchenette, refrigerator and stove to make your stay in Oaxaca feel even more like home. Short and long-term stays are available both for rooms and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Las Mariposas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Mariposas Oaxaca
Las Mariposas Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Mariposas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.