We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Mariposas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Las Mariposas to your Saves list
Hotel Las Mariposas
Pino Suarez 517 | Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Oaxaca is an absolutely lovely city. I stayed at Las Mariposas for 2 nights. The hotel is very clean and is well-located, near the centre of the city and the bus station. The staff was kind. The breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your opinios. Hope to see you in your next trip to Oaxaca.
and Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    76
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
104
44
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012


I think my comment above covers really all I need say. Oaxaca is a wonderful town but to stay in this haven adds to the stay. It is situated not right in the centre , which is a bonus, but ten minutes walk from the Zocalo and 5 from st. Domingo. The owners are so helpful and kind and it makes a difference knowing that this house has been in the family for generations. Do book in advance being my only suggestion. No one should miss staying here even if they are just passing through Oaxaca

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your opinios. our guest are the reason to try to be the best in service , it was a pleasure to serve you.
Hope to see you again.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed 8 days at Las Mariposas. Coffee plus bread and peanut butter (or cake) served at 8 am in flagstone courtyard with fountain. There must have been 7 or 8 people working there, all very friendly and comfortable with tourists. For some reason, nearly all the other guests were non-Mexican -- German, Dutch, US, so the conversation around the breakfast tables was in English. The hostess, Teresa, an elegant and formidable lady, has all the connections (including Spanish teachers) at her fingertips. Great location; walk to bus station, Zocalo, Mercados, Santo Domingo. Women with samples of the carpets woven out in Teotitlan come several times a week to display and hopefully, sell.

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant. Rooms in inner courtyards quieter; there are a lot of churches in the nieghb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments!. we are working hard everyday to provide best service.
Hope to see you again.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in mid Sept.
- Everything is VERY clean for a hotel in this price range... I even saw them cleaning behind some bookshelves in a common hallway the first day.
- Staff is very helpful and friendly.
- Our initial room faced a courtyard with quite a few mosquitos... and there was gap between the screen frame and the window frame. We asked to change rooms and they accommodated us immediately, no problem. We were able to move our stuff into the new room first thing in the morning when we asked.
- We booked the Monte Alban tour with them and the guides were very knowledgeable and friendly. Van that took us there was brand new.

Two small complaints:
- The common spaces get very dark at night, due to very dim eco-friendly lighting (once I went to get water at 6 am and literally all the lights were off). I don't think it would be too damaging to the environment to make things just a bit brighter.
- The breakfast ends at 9:30 and one day we were in time but there was not enough bread for both of us. Coffee is also not very hot, and quite weak.

Room Tip: Check the window screen before settling in. Mosquitoes in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. About your opinions we will be working on that and hope not to have the same problem in the future.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I spent a week in Oaxaca before heading to the coast for a few days (where I am now). I spend the week at Las Mariposas. I found the location very convenient, especially close to the language school I was working with - Becari. Nice park at the end of the street where families played and spent time together.

There are a couple of wonderful courtyards at Las Mariposas. One disappointment I had was that they were doing some maintenance work while I was there so the courtyards weren't useable for much of the time, although I did sit out at night while checking emails. They were sealing the tile, painting railings, and trimming vines. This is definitely a slower season, so the perfect time to do the work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. we were doing some maintenance work because you Know is slow season, and it is the best time to do it, and all this one is for to give the best service to our guest.Hope to see you again.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in September. Simple, little and clean rooms that cover your needs. Simple breakfast with nice organic coffee. Nice gardens and very well located just a few blocks from interest places like Zocalo, Santo Domingo's church and museum and restaurants.
I would certainly recommend or stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your coments. Hope to see you in your next trip to Oaxaca. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Las Mariposas for several days in August and loved it. The location is perfect, near enough to everything but not in the midst of all the noise, the area itself is lovely. The hotel is really pretty, our room was spacious and clean with a huge bed. The staff were friendly, particularly the cleaning ladies who offered help and advice when I had an upset stomach. The hotel also has lovely courtyards for relaxing in. I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return here and to wonderful Oaxaca in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. we are always working to provide the best service to our guest and make them feel like home. Hope to see you in your next trip to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Mariposas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Mariposas

Address: Pino Suarez 517 | Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#13 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Mariposas is a small, family-run hotel with a friendly, relaxed guesthouse atmosphere, offering bed and breakfast to all kinds of international travelers. Choose a single or a double room and you'll find the comfortable beds, private bathroom and spotlessly clean accommodation exactly what you need. If you'd prefer the option of having your own cooking facilities, then consider a studio apartment with kitchenette, refrigerator and stove to make your stay in Oaxaca feel even more like home. Short and long-term stays are available both for rooms and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Las Mariposas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Mariposas Oaxaca
Las Mariposas Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Mariposas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.