We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, Great Hotel with a rooftop deck!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Antigua

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Antigua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Antigua
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 5 de Mayo 206, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Room, Great Hotel with a rooftop deck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We loved our hotel for all of the reasons listed by other reviews: location, service, cleanliness, and did I mention that it has a rooftop deck with a wonderful view of the city! Beer, spicy peanuts and a view....what a way to wrap up a busy day and segway into the evening.

Room Tip: We really liked our room because it had a little terrace facing outside. I am a little claustrophobi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    29
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
35
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Casa Antigua is perfectly located for getting to know the center of Oaxaca -- around the corner from the main pedestrian zone and contemporary art museum, 5 minutes walk from the Zocalo or Centro Cultural (different directions), 10 minutes walk from Rufino Tamayo museum and Basilica de la Soledad, and easy exit from the city for Monte Alban, Tule/Mixtla, and Coyotepec (again,different directions). The staff was friendly and helpful, although not always well-informed. Breakfast was fine (except the coffee -- from a new machine which should be returned to the vendor) but about 30 pesos ($2.50) more than any number of places on the zocalo 3 blocks away.

Two cautionary notes:

1. Notwithstanding what several websites state, parking is NOT onsite. A couple of hours after arriving, we happened to witness our car being driven off by the attendant with his girlfriend in the passenger seat. Unsurprisingly, the next day the car had pistachio shells on the floor and the radio tuned to the local salsa station. If you’re not driving (and our recommendation for the future is to fly into Oaxaca rather than drive in from the DF or elsewhere) or you don’t care, then not a problem. But it had, in fact, been a decision point for us.

2. Of broader interest, exercise extreme care in selecting a “junior suite”. The two we saw (Ocotlan and Zaachila) are long narrow rectangles, one above the other. The windows are along the long wall and open directly onto the breakfast area, so if you have any thoughts of sleeping-in, dismiss them. The smallish glass-lined (and thus privacy-minimized) sink/toilet/shower area and the closet are squeezed into the end. Advertised as being for 4 people (2 “matrimonial” beds, which probably refers to matrimonial disharmony), these had better be four VERY good friends. The master suites with king beds we peeked at appeared a far better choice for not much more money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, CA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago. We had three rooms. They were big and clean. I would recommend to request rooms away from the street. The balcony street level is nice but there is always some noise at night so if you are a light sleeper ask to stay away from the street. The breakfast was great. The people were very helpful. We had a bigger van and they Ok'd it for us to park in the reserved parking spot right in front of the hotel entrance - perfect. Saved us trouble and money parking the bigger van elsewhere. The hotel is close to the car-free street which leads straight to the main market plaza. The hotel is also close to other main attractions and restaurants. In short - it was a great experience. We would not hesitate to go back again. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I had a fabulous time at the Antigua. Our room was so big and special. I loved sitting outside the room and just enjoying the decorations. The employees were friendly and helpful, especially Karen. The room was clean and the atmosphere just delightful.
Fred and Sharon

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were very pleased with the location, the service was excellent: friendly, helpful and delightful staff, the hotel is clean and has character with a wonderful hall for eating in as well as roof top to relax and look over the city from. The food was delicious and we had a relaxing and delightful time there. Sofia and Alan

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you want a nice, peaceful and perfect stay in Oaxaca, this is the place to go. Rooms are very clean and confortable. Food at the restaurant is very very good: staff very helpful and nice. All this together with its location, makes Hotel Casa Antigua de perfect place to stay on your trip to beautiful Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Take in mind season weather to choose un upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTIGUACASA1, Manager at Hotel Casa Antigua, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
We apreciated you visit in our city anda we are so happy tobe your choice in hotel
we hope yur staying was pleasure and we are waiting for you in Casa Antigua your home

"mi casa es tu casa"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Wonderful hotel in a great location and providing excellent value for money. Really helpful staff. Clean rooms. Adjacent restuarant. Couldn't want anything else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Antigua

Address: Calle 5 de Mayo 206, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#18 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Antigua 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Antigua Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.