We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Antigua to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Antigua
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 5 de Mayo 206, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Costa Mesa, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great location, great people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago. We had three rooms. They were big and clean. I would recommend to request rooms away from the street. The balcony street level is nice but there is always some noise at night so if you are a light sleeper ask to stay away from the street. The breakfast was great. The people were very helpful. We had a bigger van and they Ok'd it for us to park in the reserved parking spot right in front of the hotel entrance - perfect. Saved us trouble and money parking the bigger van elsewhere. The hotel is close to the car-free street which leads straight to the main market plaza. The hotel is also close to other main attractions and restaurants. In short - it was a great experience. We would not hesitate to go back again. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    32
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
38
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lufkin, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I had a fabulous time at the Antigua. Our room was so big and special. I loved sitting outside the room and just enjoying the decorations. The employees were friendly and helpful, especially Karen. The room was clean and the atmosphere just delightful.
Fred and Sharon

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were very pleased with the location, the service was excellent: friendly, helpful and delightful staff, the hotel is clean and has character with a wonderful hall for eating in as well as roof top to relax and look over the city from. The food was delicious and we had a relaxing and delightful time there. Sofia and Alan

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you want a nice, peaceful and perfect stay in Oaxaca, this is the place to go. Rooms are very clean and confortable. Food at the restaurant is very very good: staff very helpful and nice. All this together with its location, makes Hotel Casa Antigua de perfect place to stay on your trip to beautiful Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Take in mind season weather to choose un upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTIGUACASA1, Manager at Hotel Casa Antigua, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
We apreciated you visit in our city anda we are so happy tobe your choice in hotel
we hope yur staying was pleasure and we are waiting for you in Casa Antigua your home

"mi casa es tu casa"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Wonderful hotel in a great location and providing excellent value for money. Really helpful staff. Clean rooms. Adjacent restuarant. Couldn't want anything else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This review is submitted on behalf of our friend who visited with us during our stay in Oaxaca (we rented an apartment). Though I didn't personally stay here, I feel qualified to submit this review since I reserved the Hotel for him, and he communicated all feedback. First, the location can't be beat. Only a few blocks from the Zacolo (central square and Cathedral), and likewise from all the best restaurants, bars, museums, galleries and shopping. Second, the room was clean and comfortable. Third, the included breakfast was very good. Fourth, the value is better than comparable Hotels located nearby. The only minor complaints: They could use some english speaking staff (for a high-class tourist Hotel), and rooms should be equipped with LCD/Plasma TV's with some english-language News channels (e.g. CNN, BBC; FOX). And, our friend had reserved an upper floor room, but only got a ground floor one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Wonderful hotel, great service, helpful and friendly staff, beautiful clean rooms, excellent location, price couldn't be beat! definitely recommend this hotel. If you stay there Don't forget to visit the Tienda de Mujeres Artesanales next to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try ti avoid the rooms to that face the street, because of street noise!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Antigua

Address: Calle 5 de Mayo 206, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Antigua Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.