We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice for a Boutique Hotel in Centro Historico” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Antigua to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Antigua
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 5 de Mayo 206, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Good Choice for a Boutique Hotel in Centro Historico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This review is submitted on behalf of our friend who visited with us during our stay in Oaxaca (we rented an apartment). Though I didn't personally stay here, I feel qualified to submit this review since I reserved the Hotel for him, and he communicated all feedback. First, the location can't be beat. Only a few blocks from the Zacolo (central square and Cathedral), and likewise from all the best restaurants, bars, museums, galleries and shopping. Second, the room was clean and comfortable. Third, the included breakfast was very good. Fourth, the value is better than comparable Hotels located nearby. The only minor complaints: They could use some english speaking staff (for a high-class tourist Hotel), and rooms should be equipped with LCD/Plasma TV's with some english-language News channels (e.g. CNN, BBC; FOX). And, our friend had reserved an upper floor room, but only got a ground floor one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    32
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
38
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Wonderful hotel, great service, helpful and friendly staff, beautiful clean rooms, excellent location, price couldn't be beat! definitely recommend this hotel. If you stay there Don't forget to visit the Tienda de Mujeres Artesanales next to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try ti avoid the rooms to that face the street, because of street noise!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

After staying in many hotels in Oaxaca I consider that Casa Antigua is by far the best.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Lovely hotel with the tast of small details, beautiful courtyard, nice location, walking distance to all the places down town. Could be some noise from the pool area with kids playing and screaming, but you are not in Oaxaca to be inside your hotelroom. Otherwise everything was really quiet, no noise from the street. Breakfast was nice, and you could choose from a menu. So relaxing to sit outside in the courtyard enjoying the breakfast and fresh orangejuice. We had a superior room with AC which worked perfectly and free internet access. The room was quite small, but it it was nice, clean and cosy. We did not need a bigger room since we most of the time was out exploring the city. All beds are hard in Mexico, but these were not too bad.

I would absolutely recomend this hotel !

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

It was such a great experience. Although the rooms are small and not stylish in the least, the beautiful courtyard and delicious breakfasts made up for it. The rooms can be a little noisy because there is echoing in the courtyard, but in general it was very quiet and restful. The little dipping pool was a nice touch. The location couldn't be better for seeing the city. It is a GREAT deal.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

i just got back from oaxaca, and couldn't be happier with our stay at casa antigua. for less than half the cost camino real, we had a beautifull room, less than a block away. the service was excellent and so receptive to our family. the front desk team spoke english beautifully, Anna was especially lovely. The location is central but our room was as quiet as can be. they have a terrace from which you can see the entire city. we went with our 1.5 year old baby, and they had cribs and breakfasts she enjoyed. i would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUEBLA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

BEAUTIFUL LITTLE HOTEL. My wife and I spent 3 unforgettable days in Oaxaca last week. The first night we went to a Hotel Called Los olivos, but we just couldn’t sleep all night. The rooms didn’t have A/C and it was hot as an oven. So when we were walking to Templo de santo domingo we saw the nice entrance to this hotel. Avery amiable lady called Alma went out of their way to get as a room. It was a junior Suit with 2 queen size beds. The bathroom was nice and altogether the room was spotless. The design and the furniture was simple yet displayed a certain elegance. The rooms do not have numbers but names of the nearby towns. The restaurant and the bar were nice, but I wouldn´t recommend them, since the hotel is so close to the zocalo and there are just too many places to savor the traditional cocina oaxaqueña nearby at better prices and greater flavor. Nevertheless it was quite a nice stay. Only in the morning there´s a bit of noise since the restaurant is in the middle of the patio just across the aisle. But it´s no big deal.
Needles to say it’s near to every interesting place in downtown Oaxaca. You just walk to any templo or plaza or to the buses that take you to Montealban o the towns nearby. And we intend to get back to this little gem of a place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Antigua

Address: Calle 5 de Mayo 206, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Antigua Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.