We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Antigua to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Antigua
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 5 de Mayo 206, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

After staying in many hotels in Oaxaca I consider that Casa Antigua is by far the best.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    32
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
39
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Lovely hotel with the tast of small details, beautiful courtyard, nice location, walking distance to all the places down town. Could be some noise from the pool area with kids playing and screaming, but you are not in Oaxaca to be inside your hotelroom. Otherwise everything was really quiet, no noise from the street. Breakfast was nice, and you could choose from a menu. So relaxing to sit outside in the courtyard enjoying the breakfast and fresh orangejuice. We had a superior room with AC which worked perfectly and free internet access. The room was quite small, but it it was nice, clean and cosy. We did not need a bigger room since we most of the time was out exploring the city. All beds are hard in Mexico, but these were not too bad.

I would absolutely recomend this hotel !

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

It was such a great experience. Although the rooms are small and not stylish in the least, the beautiful courtyard and delicious breakfasts made up for it. The rooms can be a little noisy because there is echoing in the courtyard, but in general it was very quiet and restful. The little dipping pool was a nice touch. The location couldn't be better for seeing the city. It is a GREAT deal.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

i just got back from oaxaca, and couldn't be happier with our stay at casa antigua. for less than half the cost camino real, we had a beautifull room, less than a block away. the service was excellent and so receptive to our family. the front desk team spoke english beautifully, Anna was especially lovely. The location is central but our room was as quiet as can be. they have a terrace from which you can see the entire city. we went with our 1.5 year old baby, and they had cribs and breakfasts she enjoyed. i would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUEBLA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

BEAUTIFUL LITTLE HOTEL. My wife and I spent 3 unforgettable days in Oaxaca last week. The first night we went to a Hotel Called Los olivos, but we just couldn’t sleep all night. The rooms didn’t have A/C and it was hot as an oven. So when we were walking to Templo de santo domingo we saw the nice entrance to this hotel. Avery amiable lady called Alma went out of their way to get as a room. It was a junior Suit with 2 queen size beds. The bathroom was nice and altogether the room was spotless. The design and the furniture was simple yet displayed a certain elegance. The rooms do not have numbers but names of the nearby towns. The restaurant and the bar were nice, but I wouldn´t recommend them, since the hotel is so close to the zocalo and there are just too many places to savor the traditional cocina oaxaqueña nearby at better prices and greater flavor. Nevertheless it was quite a nice stay. Only in the morning there´s a bit of noise since the restaurant is in the middle of the patio just across the aisle. But it´s no big deal.
Needles to say it’s near to every interesting place in downtown Oaxaca. You just walk to any templo or plaza or to the buses that take you to Montealban o the towns nearby. And we intend to get back to this little gem of a place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

Casa Antigua is a pleasure - tranquil and beautifully done. Cream marble, pale ochre stucco, simple design, completely lovely and helpful staff. I stayed in one of the ground floor rooms - true that there are no windows facing the street, but the doors and windows facing the courtyard have been fitted with shutters and frosted glass so that you get filtered light when you open the shutters. The perfect evening respite - great bed, fluffy towels and snowy white sheets Rooftop terrace has a spectacular 360 view of the city.

  • Liked — Service, quality
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

I rarely write hotel reviews. Before I left I offered to write a review because of the wonderful room and place. This hotel is definitely one we will see again. I have been to Oaxaca many, many times so I'm fairly familiar with what is there. Casa Antigua was new to me. The rooms could not be finer. They are large and well furnished. The appointments are first class. The only note I would make is that they only serve a continental breakfast as I saw no functioning restaurant or bar there. But you get a card that entitles you to a discount as a number of good restaurants nearby. The hotel is in a great location, a block toward the Zocalo from the Camino Real on a not too busy street. It's quiet, and a quiet convenient place are not often found in Oaxaca. I'm attaching a few photos of the hotel and some views from the hotel balcony or roof-garden. rcc

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Casa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Antigua

Address: Calle 5 de Mayo 206, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Antigua Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.