We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Room for Three” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suites del Centro

Save Saved
You added Suites del Centro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suites del Centro
Av. Hidalgo # 306, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 111 hotels in Oaxaca
Eugene, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Perfect Room for Three”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I traveled to Oaxaca with two friends in February, 2013. Suites del Centro (SDC) was a perfect home base for us during our ten days there. The location is perfect---far enough from the zocalo that you are not kept awake by all the activities there, but a very easy, flat three block walk, and in a vital, interesting neighborhood--people on the street at all hours, wonderful Cafe Alex around the corner, almost under the shadow of Soledad, short hop to the second class bus station and collectivo parada for Etla or the supermarket. We much preferred this part of town to the emptier streets nearer Santo Domingo. Our suite was that, a bedroom with two beds and another bed in the larger room, big enough to spread out in and enjoy our souvenirs as we shopped. Plus a sweet little patio to the rear. Hector and his accommodating staff provided the pans and dishes we needed to use our little kitchen. No problems at all in the little shower and bathroom and no strange smells. And, while wi-fi didn't reach our quiet room in the rear of the hotel, there is a shared computer in the lobby. And ask Hector about the cash discount. Because we stayed ten days and paid in cash, our time at SDC was not only lovely, but a bargain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

An easy walk into the central square and the city is a great way to spend a few days with plenty of great cafes and bars. The hotel has plenty of character but although roomy our apartment seemed to have a musty smell and once or twice smelled off blocked drains, hot water was problematic and despite notices to conserve water the advice at the front desk was too let the water run till hot water appeared which mainly it didn't and wasted water, this seemed to be the norm talking to other guests. Breakfast was good but confusing having to go into the Resturant next door. I met several people wandering the hotel not realising this was the case. As a pervious review mentioned the racket from a local nightclub went on till late and carried through to the rear bedroom of the apartment even with the doors closed. Overall a price to pay for being central.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The location is perfect, just a 5 minutes walk from the Plaza.
The apartments are clean and spacious, the front desk is mediocre.
The meals served next door are typically mexican, pretty tasty.
The only downside is a night club next door- during the disco nights it can get pretty loud...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We spent 12 days at this hotel in february 2012, and found it extremely convenient and excellent value for money. What was not in the room when we arrived, we got by asking at reception, and we loved being able to cook simple meals after going to buy fresh food at the nearby markets. Everything you might need is just around the corner, and our suite was roomy and comfortable, cleaned everyday, and the upstairs terrace was perfect for reading, or yoga, or dancing with friends. We will go back on our next trip.

Sydneygirl.

Room Tip: for a long stay, choose a suite upstairs, for more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, MA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

SUITES DEL CENTRO, A DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel three times, the most recent being a stay of two weeks this February, 2011. This time we were a party of seven (siblings and spouses) and rented five suites. We have always found it to be very clean, and the management and staff show a desire to give good service, and usually succeed. Sometimes the person on the desk has an insufficient command of English, and my even less sufficient Spanish is not up to the task of conveying some minor need, but usually such problems can wait until Hector or some other person comes on duty with sufficient English to bridge the gap.

All of the accommodations I have seen are two or three room suites with one double bed (or as the Mexicans call them, “matrimonial” style, and one or two single beds along with a ceramic counter and maybe a table and couple of chairs. A four burner gas stove (no oven), kitchen sink, small dormitory style refrigerator, and basic eating and cooking utensils offer limited meal preparation capability. The each ground floor suite also has a small patio, your own private air shaft, big enough for a couple of chairs and a glass table, as well as one or two trees, accessible by sliding glass door which we never felt the need to lock.

There are some limitations that take a little getting used to, mostly caused by limited infrastructure in Mexico. The plumbing drains are not up to dealing with the disposal of paper products, so all used toilet paper is to be deposited in a plastic lined waste basket which the chambermaid empties every day. Of course, I did occasionally forget and drop my paper into the bowl, and it always flushed away OK. The shower stalls are large, with sliding glass doors, but the shower heads have such a small flow that we found ourselves letting the water run a very long time before it became warm enough for a comfortable bath, and never enough flow to adequately rinse long hair. Since each suite has its own gas hot water heater, the run to the shower is short enough that if they had allowed the shower head adequate flow, we could have wasted less water.

Another problem is that the public water supply is not very good, so what comes out of the faucets is not fit to drink. We did use boiled tap water when making our instant coffee. Each room is provided with a pitcher of pure water, usually, though not always, replenished by the maid each day. If the maid forgets, you go down the hall and refill it from a large carboy near the office. Some soft drinks are sold from a cooler in the lobby, but there is no ice machine. We could walk a block to buy good ice by the 10 lb bag for 10 Pesos, about 83 cents US.

Since I use a wet razor to shave, I was put off by the lack of any way to stop the drain of the wash basin. After a few days I found a store that sold a cheap plastic bowl that could sit in the basin, and using the stove to quickly heat a pitcher of tap water, I managed quite well. Other little annoyances were the lack of face cloths, (we knew from prior experience to bring our own) and on some days we got two shower foot towels and no face towel. The bath towels were large and excellent.

Enough complaining, this hotel is really a gem. Not much to look at from the street, once you enter, it’s tile and trees, open air corridors, very tastefully done. There is a free computer with internet available in the small lobby, and WiFi through the building. The beds are on the firm side, which I like. A real bonus is the roof garden, up two flights for nice chairs and tables along with an excellent view of the city and surrounding mountains where we had happy hour most afternoons. Another real plus, unlike the more upscale hotels, you go buy your own booze and nibbles at the local supermarket (3 block walk each way) and take all up to the roof garden for leisurely consumption day or night. They don’t do bar service anyway.

Situated four average blocks from the Zocalo (main city square), and within easy walking distance to many museums, cathedrals, markets, and other points of interest, the hotel has an excellent location. The price varies with length of stay, but we found our two week stay averaged out at US $33. per day for each suite. A real bargain in my opinion, and that price will go up when tourists recognize its great qualities.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We have stayed here every year for the past eight years, this year we stayed for a month (mid Feb to mid-Mar.). We keep going back because of the wonderful staff, the great location (a few blocks from the center of town in one direction, and a few blocks from a huge grocery store in the other direction). Suites del Centro has free wifi; the rooms are cool, spacious, clean, and attractive. The suites have a small kitchen where we do a fair amount of cooking. Our family loves to have happy hour on the roof while the sun sets.

Room Tip: This trip we stayed for a month so I appreciated having a room with a walkin closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Suites del Centro is indeed centrally located. It's a couple of blocks from the Zocolo and the Cathedral and just across the street from the collectivo to Huajuapan de Leon where we were enroute. There's a good restaurant next door for breakfast. The Suites had a rooftop furnished with tables and chairs for a wonderful view of the city. This is a good, practical, centrally located hotel.

Room Tip: On our return trip, I liked the higher floor much better than the first floor we'd stayed in. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites del Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites del Centro

Address: Av. Hidalgo # 306, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Suites del Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Centro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites del Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.