We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic views + bedbugs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alta Mira

Save Saved
You added Alta Mira to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alta Mira
Camino a Punta Cometa Sin Numero | Mazunte, Oaxaca, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fantastic views + bedbugs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Truely spectacular views spoil the sad reality. I got their most expensive cabana with the best view - what a steal I thought. I got bitten every night by bedbugs. The view was so great that I stayed; I just won't go back.

Previous night I had stayed at their sister hotel in Puerto Angel "Buena Vista", and got bedbugs there too.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We were booked to stay in Alta Mira two nights but only ended up staying one night because we were pretty grossed out by the place. When we first arrived, a really nice woman who works there showed us a room in a building with a few other rooms. Even with all the windows open it was, cavernous, dark, dingy (the bathroom was really gross), and it was next to a construction site (they seemed to be building more rooms) that was really messy and made the view not-so-nice. So, we asked if there were any other, nicer rooms, and she showed us to an individual cabana that, upon first glance, was much more charming. It had it's own porch with chairs and a hammock, and a great view of the ocean. However, inside, it was really dirty. There were lots of dead bugs everywhere, the shower looked like it hadn't been cleaned in ages, there was tons of bat poop, and, to top things off, a rat ran across the floor of our room. The sheets were really scratchy and the bed not comfortable. There is a very rocky, very steep pathyway directly down to the beach that seemed dangerous (both crime-wise and walking-wise). The restaurant is very cute and has an amazing view of the ocean (we didn't eat there - only had coffee in the morning), but that's about the only positive thing we can say about this place. We were desperate to leave and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Very nice bungalows to relax on the see side. Friendly and informal atmosphere. Nice restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Location: Alta Mira is basically a cluster of individual bungalows perched on the side of a hill overlooking the beach in Mazunte. To drive to the hotel, you turn off the main road and go up a very steep driveway to reach the reception area, which is at the top of the hill above all the bungalows. On foot, there is a staircase leading all the way down to the beach itself (the entrance there is gated and locked, and there is fencing all around the hotel). We found it most convenient to walk along the road when going out to eat at night; even though there are no lights, with a full moon or a flashlight it was perfectly safe.

Rooms: The bungalows were simple and pretty clean, at least on arrival (before we got sand everywhere). Our room was furnished with a small desk, a full size bed (with mosquito netting) and two nightstands. There was also an overhead fan, although with the mosquito netting it wasn't quite enough to cool down the room completely. The bathroom was separated from the bed area by just a doorway with a curtain, and there were separate alcoves for the shower and the toilet. Speaking of the shower, it was cold water only - not a huge deal since it's so warm out even in the winter, but still a small discomfort. Our bungalow also had a patio out front, with a couple chairs and a hammock.

Service: Not much service to speak of, just daily basic housekeeping. It was fairly easy to make a reservation in advance - I sent them a $50 deposit via paypal, and they had the reservation on file when we arrived.

Food: We didn't eat anything at the hotel (breakfast was not included), but other guests we talked to recommended going elsewhere to eat. We did end up eating all of our meals out, including excellent chilaquiles at a little place on the corner of the road going to Alta Mira and the main road.

Overall: We really enjoyed our 4 days in Mazunte. The beach and town are beautiful, and we would happily stay at Alta Mira again on another trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mty
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

I have just returned of one of the most amazing time of my life..... Mazunte was exactly as i expected. I travelled with another 3 friends; we took a flight to Huatulco and then i went by taxi to Mazunte.

The taxi driver left us at San Agustinillo (a town before Mazunte) and we couldnt find a place there, and we prefer to stay exactly at Mazunte. So we took another taxi of Mazunte, and he took us to many hostels (Posada Ziga, Posasa del Arquitecto and Posada Miramar) but weren't rooms. So we went to Alta Mira Bungalows and we love it!

It's located at the end of the beach and is a complex of about 10 palapa bungalows. We were 4 and we stay in a double room, the rate was 500 for the room and we payed $150 pesos extra... so our room was 800 per day!!! an excellent rate por us.

The rooms had an amazing view of the ocean, has no air conditioner but is not a problem because of the big windows and the fan and dont worry about the bugs the windows had net and also the beds had mosquito netting.

The bathrooms is really big, just with shower and not hot water, but it wasnt exactly necesary.

The only complain is that the way for the beach has no lights. Our room wasnt clean the day that we arrived but we complain about that, and after that it was perfect!!!

If u can... take the tour to the turtles/dolphins it's really cheap!!! and is an amazing experience we also saw a whale!!! the best

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

The Alta Mira Bungalows are cute, have great views, and are a good deal. The staff is friendly. The bungalows, which may just be the nature of these style accomodations, are very damp. The sheets are damp, which I find hard to sleep with. There are also lots of critters, we had a frog in ours. I would still come back, but I would let my boyfriend bring his little portable dvd player, as there is not T.V., and maybe my own sheet? I don't know, damp sheets are so gross.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2007

We called them several times since there's no possibility to book it through internet , but at the end we did it !!!. The people was highy friendly and kind and the bungalows have a super panoramic terrace with amazing views of the beach. The food , homemade , was wonderful (i.e. guacamole ) . I'd highly suggested the Bungalows Alta Mira to the travellers , it's absolutely a romantic place ( I suggest you to sleep in the hammock in the terrace listening the ocean...)

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alta Mira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Mira

Address: Camino a Punta Cometa Sin Numero | Mazunte, Oaxaca, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Alta Mira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Mira Oaxaca
Alta Mira Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alta Mira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.