We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De La Parra located at the Zocalo, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boutique De La Parra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Boutique De La Parra to your Saves list
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Guerrero No. 117 | Col. Centro Histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“De La Parra located at the Zocalo, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

From the street looks very small, we were walking around the Zocalo when we saw it, we move the next day, small private pool at the back, the staff smiles and tries to help with local recommendations, small buffet breakfast with eggs, pancakes,, tamales, chilaquiles and cereals.

I do recommend this hotel, best location in town, room was very clean, big bathroom with shower, no tub, free WiFi, the rate might be a little higher than other Oaxaca hotels, but it worth to pay 20USD for the location, clean rooms and friendly staff

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcosGV, Propietario at Hotel Boutique De La Parra, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hello, thank you for your review, right now we are working on the vibrating noise inside the closet wall, it was the water pipes from the under ground tank to the filters, unfortunately we can't post pictures but we are changing all the pipes far away from the rooms, so there will be no more noise at any time, the job will be done by the end of january 2013.

About the noise from the central courtyard to the ground floor level rooms, we change the wood windows to soundproof double glass pvc windows, I promise you that we will do something with the rooms door so the noise will not get to the bedroom.

Thank you for your review, it is one of the best ways to improve our facilities and service, hope to see you soon in Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    30
    10
    1
    8
See reviews for
29
42
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Palm Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel was a great addition to our experience in Oaxaca. It was roomy, clean and very well located. But most of all, the staff was so overly accommodating. They also arranged for tours outside the city and their recommendations were excellent. The staff also spoke english which was helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Colonial mansion in the center of the city, right off the zocalo, a few step away from main tourist spots, small pool at the back, delicious breakfast buffet, comfortable room, 42" LCD HD CableTV, we bought a honey moon package from their web page, 3 days in Oaxaca and 3 in Puerto Escondido, we paid about MxN$20,000.00 and got a lot of things, tours, dinners, massage, air transportation from Oaxaca to Puerto Escondido, etc. A really good deal, definitely one of the best hotels in Colonial Mexico.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade at the frontdesk, if they have a room available they will give it to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed at La Parra Hotel because of my wedding in Oaxaca. It was really awesome, the service is sincerely anticipated, they respond to any request in just a couple of minutes, my wife and I were treated with that "home sense". I definitely should recommend this hotel, all the staff make your stay in Oaxaca unforgettable. In special the front desk agent Rodolfo, and the manager Marla, they both were very helpful anytime. I you are going to visit Oaxaca for a while, don't hesitate to stay at La Parra Hotel! It really worth it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I spent three nights at this charming boutique hotel about a block from Oaxaca's busy main square (Zocalo). My room was spacious and comfortable, and featured air conditioning and cable TV. The hotel, in a remodeled colonial building, is very well maintained, and the staff is friendly and courteous. The breakfast buffet was delicious—the same basics like coffee and oaxacan hot chocolate and fresh-squeezed orange juice, but different buffet dishes every day. Crispy quesadillas with the stringy oaxacan cheese and a bit of fresh epazote. Chewy chicharrón in green sauce. Chilaquiles with black beans. Different kinds of tamales. Dense, rich pasilla chile sauce was the condiment of choice. Friends staying at another hotel decided to join me for breakfast every day. The staff offered special attention for a sick child and made sure that my friends could warm a baby bottle whenever they needed to. The pool looked lovely but we were so busy exploring Oaxaca we didn't have a chance to try it out. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Hotel de la Parra is a small hotel conveniently located in the centre of Oaxaca, 1 block away from the Zocalo and walking distance from the charming "tourist corridor". The hotel is a colonial house nicely renovated, even has a small pool. While hotel does not have a garage, it has a convenient arrangement with a garage a block away from the hotel. People at the hotel are friendly and helpful, also free WIFI in room is an additional bonus. While rooms were comfortable, they are small for US standards and also a bit dark, both during the day and at night, as windows are small and additional light was not enough. Although breakfast was not included in my room package, it was served daily in the patio for a very reasonable price. Overall, a good stay at the Hotel de la Parra.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010 via mobile

The hotel is right off the Zocalo corner (no need to walk more than 5 blocks to visit all the main city attractions), once inside a quiet atmosphere surrounds the hotel, at the back an intimate patio with a small pool, lounges, palm trees a bar with couches, the perfect place to get away, read and take a nap, the staff told me they will be opening a small spa by Christmas, superb idea. Rooms are ok, clean bathrooms, bathrobes, safe in room, buffet breakfast for only $80 pesos, I will definitely stay at DeLa Parra on my next trip to Oaxaca

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Boutique De La Parra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique De La Parra

Address: Guerrero No. 117 | Col. Centro Histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#2 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#17 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique De La Parra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de la Parra is a hacienda-style boutique hotel located steps away from the Zócalo, or center square, of Oaxaca City. We offer rooms equipped with air conditioning, minibars, and all the amenities, as well as a lovely pool and restaurant. Well-situated in the heart of Oaxaca's majestic historic center, Hotel De La Parra is surrounded by gourmet restaurants, beautiful churches, fascinating museums and many other sites of interest.These are the ingredients which make Hotel De La Parra one of the best, most comfortable places to stay in Oaxaca.Welcome to Oaxaca, and to the Hotel De La Parra! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Boutique De La Parra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Parra Oaxaca
De La Parra Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boutique De La Parra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.