We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in Oaxaca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Las Bugambilias B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa del Las Bugambilias B&B
Save
You added Casa del Las Bugambilias B&B to your Saves list
Reforma No 402 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 101 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
New York City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My family stayed at Las Bugambilias for a week. Since we are 3, we had the Girasoles suite, a roomy and comfortable 2-room suite that, like all the rooms, is lovingly decorated in traditional style. Our only quibble was that the suite was over the popular La Olla restaurant and became noisy on the days the restaurant was open. The other rooms in the B&B, where our friend stayed, are in the back and quiet. The B&B's location is perfect, right in the historic center of the city so we could walk easily to all of Oaxaca's museums, churches, parks, and restaurants. We loved the ample breakfasts, with a different main dish cooked daily, plus freshly-squeezed juices. The table settings are a work of art! We were welcomed by the warm and attentive staff who go out of their way to make sure your visit is memorable. We also enjoyed meeting fellow travelers, especially at the casual "Happy Hour" held in the pleasant courtyard Thursdays through Sundays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    69
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
67
248
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My daughters and I visited lovely Oaxaca over Thanksgiving and stayed most of the time at Casa del Las Bugambilias. It was perfect. The room was well equipped, comfortable and filled with wonderful art and crafts. The location is ideal--walking distance to all of the local sights. The breakfasts were superb. Each morning we couldn't wait to see how the breakfast room was decorated and what delicious food was being served. And best of all, the people. They couldn't have been kinder or more helpful. They arranged rides, helped us find bubble wrap, "loaned" a toothbrush, cheered us up with a glass of wine, and each morning the woman who cleaned our room freshened the vase of flowers we'd bought . What wonderful people who really went the extra mile. I highly recommend Las Bugambilias and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huatulco, Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

On a visit to Oaxaca city two years ago, my wife and I stayed for five nights at La Casa de mis Recuerdos. Last week, we went to Oaxaca again and stayed for three nights at Las Bugambilias. Both B&Bs were excellent, run by hospitable and helpful families, who went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable. Both served excellent breakfasts and ensured that, on our final morning over there, we had hot coffee and something to eat prior to an early departure. Both made excellent hourly-rate taxi arrangements for us.
Which one will we choose for our next visit? Without a doubt, Las Bugambilias. Although the ambience in the courtyard at Mis Recuerdos is superior to that of Las Bugambilias, with more flowers, a fountain and more song-birds, the rooms at Las Bugambilias are far more comfortable with bigger beds and larger, modern bathrooms with excellent showers. Also, none of their rooms is adjacent to the road. Prices are about the same at both these B&Bs.
My wife had the two hour "Temazcal" treatment offered by Las Bugambilias. It involves an hour of steam bath with aromatic herbs etc., followed by an hour long massage with stretches. She found the steam session to be too long, but loved the massage by Cecilia. She says that it was one of the best she has had.
Dinner, one night, on the roof terrace at Casa Oaxaca was as enjoyable as it was two years ago.
Any problems during our trip? Yes, but it was not the hotel's fault. We had a very noisy lady next door on the first night. An appropriate comment at breakfast the next morning resolved the issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet upstairs room at the rear of the hotel, away from the restaurant at the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What I loved most about this B&B were the people! The front desk greets you with a huge smile and everyone who works there is very nice and attentive. The room we were in, right next to the restaurant, was not my favorite as it was carpeted and I really did not like the decor. However, it was very clean and the bed was comfy. The noise from the restaurant was not a problem since we stayed out most of the day. I'd recommend staying in one of the rooms across from the restaurant as they seemed much nicer in pictures. I also loved the sister B&B El Secreto.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here on our first visit to Oaxaca Dec. 22-31 and look forward to returning. What a wonderful home away from home! The beds are comfortable, the rooms (and bathrooms) are spotless and roomy, the hosts and staff are helpful and friendly, the breakfasts are delicious and the breakfast table so inviting, the location is ideal (and still quiet)... we could not have asked for more. We understand why so many of the people we met at breakfast were repeat customers! We gladly recommend this B&B and look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Our room, Magnolias, overlooked an interior courtyard and was very quiet. Some rooms have balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC-- Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed eight nights over Christmas week 2012 and had a wonderful time! Our room was the Iris, upstairs and facing the rear courtyard, and was very peaceful: the room itself was beautiful and perfectly kept.

The staff are all very friendly and very helpful.

Breakfasts are extremely tasty, and if you ask they will give you a second portion of whatever is the main dish that day.

The location of Las Bugambillas is ideal for Oaxaca walkabouts: around the corner from the Santo Domingo complex, a short seven-to-ten minute walk to the Zocolo, one block from Calle Cinco de Mayo and about three blocks from Calle Alcala which are two of the main shopping drags and which, at night, become open-air festivals (at least during Christmas time).

An extra word about the zocolo: having travelled widely in Mexico and a bit in Guatemala, we can say that the zocolo in Oaxaca is the most vibrant and alive of any we have visited, including that of Mexico City. The sights, sounds, the people watching is outrageous... and mostly locals or at least Mexicans... so just sitting there and taking it all in is a cultural experience in of itself.

As a city, we highly recommend Oaxaca for the Christmas season. The Night of the Radishes on December 23 must be seen to be believed and attracts thousands of people to see these intricate, hand carved radishes that create scenes from creches to folkloric dancers to luchadores and much more. The parades that take place the night of December 24 are great fun: each neighborhood church has one that is led by seven to ten piece brass bands, followed by worshipers, and feature floats where worshipers create nativity scenes. All these groups then converge on the zocolo in a riot of song, dance, and color.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

After an initial 4 days of staying in another place with constant noise and discomfort, we decided to change to Las Bugambilias. Although it was located near Santo Domingo and a main street in centro, it was extremely quiet and comfortable. It was a lovely place, well decorated and all the staff were very friendly and helpful to ensure that the remainder of our stay was enjoyable. The breakfast was small, but very delicious. We would certainly stay there again if the occasion arises. Our thanks to one of the family members who spent his whole day with us showing us around Oaxaca and surrounding smaller towns.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Las Bugambilias B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Las Bugambilias B&B

Address: Reforma No 402 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de las Bugambilias is a striking modern house decorated with contemporary art, local folk art and antiques in a minimalist aesthetic way. Located just one block from Santo Domingo Cathedral and Cultural Museum. Your host, Artist Aurora Cabrera, and staff will provide personal attention to your needs. We offer eight rooms with private baths and a two-bedroom suite. Las Bugambilias is also home to the popular "La Olla" Restaurant and Art Gallery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Las Bugambilias Bed And Breakfast
Casa Del Las Bugambilias Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Las Bugambilias B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.