We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Las Bugambilias B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa del Las Bugambilias B&B
Save
You added Casa del Las Bugambilias B&B to your Saves list
Reforma No 402 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 102 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kaunas, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were travelling with a wife in Mexico and heard about Oaxaca as town of the best artisans. Hotel Casa Bugambilias was a real proof for that. Impresive original design of every room and interior of the hotel. Very central location in walking distance from all important places. Friendly and helpful staff speaking good English.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Orchidees" room and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    71
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
68
262
41
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

FUNTastic time in Oaxaca starting with this wonderful, warm and inviting B&B. The Cabreras and staff were like family between the great conversations, advice, service, food, mescal, location and so much more. It was an easy walk everywhere in the City....only about 5 min from the Zocálo, close to all the markets. We enjoyed sitting out on the rooftop at night with a cocktail and a tremendous view of the city.....followed by dinner at La Olla; Pilar's restaurant. Jorge took us on a wonderful excursion to see his Artisan friend, Nelson, at work with his looming; had to take a beautiful piece home with me. We experienced Mezcal, the 5000 year old tree and the beauty of Oaxaca. I plan on returning over and over!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I had a never to forget vacation in Oaxaca and this beautiful B & B was a large reason for it. The staff is pleasant, the breakfasts are delicious, and the location is literally in the heart of the historic district. Las Bugambilias is a truly chic B & B while still being family friendly. The legendary La Olla Restaurant is right in front of the hotel and had the best traditional cuisine I tried while in Oaxaca. The special daily lunch is gourmet all the way and a steal at the price. I will return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was able to return to Las Bugambilias this month for a week. I love Oaxaca, and stayed here the first time I visited Oaxaca. Since then, the Cabrera family has made additional improvements to the B and B-larger baths, deep covered balconies and even bigger breakfasts with local ingredients and amazing organic coffee. Adjacent to the hotel is the 'La Olla' restaurant, run by Pilar, the daughter of the owner and their dinners after a travel day are awesome.
It's easy to become friends with this family, as you're staying in the family home where all the kids grew up, and now grown, they take a personal hand in running it. The location close to Santo Domingo church is easy walking to anywhere in the city core, and the family takes a hand in tours to outlying villages to insure a quality trip. Staying here makes you a member of an 'extended family' of visitors, many of which return again and again over the years. I say this is the place to stay to experience the best of mexican culture and hospitality in the south!

Room Tip: 2nd floor in the back-rooms are big and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay there. The breakfast was nice, every day something new to try. Not far from downtown, very nice city. We spent the independence day and we think it was the right choice :)
Very friendly staff and traditionally decorated rooms. We can recommend this b&b without reservations.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Very good hotel. A friend reccomended me because she married in Oaxaca, and stayed there.
The ambiance is wonderful, very warmth people, nice and healthy breakfasts and so close to the Templo de Santo Domingo, the jewel of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Had a fab stay here during our 2 week trip of mexico, it's a very social B&b and a great way to meet other travellers! Lovely room, great breakfast & lovely wine in the evening with great service! Loved this place!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Las Bugambilias B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Las Bugambilias B&B

Address: Reforma No 402 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de las Bugambilias is a striking modern house decorated with contemporary art, local folk art and antiques in a minimalist aesthetic way. Located just one block from Santo Domingo Cathedral and Cultural Museum. Your host, Artist Aurora Cabrera, and staff will provide personal attention to your needs. We offer eight rooms with private baths and a two-bedroom suite. Las Bugambilias is also home to the popular "La Olla" Restaurant and Art Gallery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Las Bugambilias Bed And Breakfast
Casa Del Las Bugambilias Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Las Bugambilias B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.