We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Filatelia

Museo Filatelia
Reforma No. 504, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
01 951 5168028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 57 attractions in Oaxaca
Type: Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had been told by a few friends to visit this museum. We were even told to go in by someone standing in front of the museum as we passed by it. We thought: a stamp museum? Really? After spending time there, I no longer want to call it a stamp museum but a filatelia. There are different rooms in the museum, the first one containing various stamps dating from over 100 years ago as well as correspondence between Frida Kahlo and her main doctor. This was VERY interesting. One of the other rooms had a mosaic "portrait" of Benito Juarez, completely created with stamps. I would put it at the top of anyone's list of "Must See" museums: it's a little gem.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    12
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Not just for stamp-lovers, this small museum is actually for anyone interested in history. Beautiful building and courtyard, and great displays, including original letters of Frida Kahlo.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, MI
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We walked by this museum several times (near our B and B) without realizing what a treasure it is, even if one is not ab stamp collector. The displays were nicely arranged, the major theme (baseball stamps from around the world) was a bonus for me, as I am a big baseball fan. But other non-baseball displays were also interesting, especially a children's book explaining how the postal service works displayed in an outdoor alcove.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful focused small museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Admittedly, I used to collect stamps. This small museum of stamps is free and has themed exhibitions. While I was there I saw baseball themed stamps from US, Cuba, North Korea.
There was also a display of a kid's book by students of printmaker Artemio Rodriguez.
The space is so lovely that newlyweds come to get bridal photos in the interior courtyard.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant for a hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This cute inexpensive museum, donation only is charged, did entertain me and my 13 year old for an hour. The first room has stamps from around the world, on several walls of maps, it has a baseball stamp display, also a vault with lots of other stamps new and old. Worth a stop

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museo Filatelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo Filatelia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museo Filatelia to your Saves list