We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt like we were staying at our own private Hacienda....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Los Laureles-Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Los Laureles-Spa to your Saves list
Hacienda Los Laureles-Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hidalgo 21 | San Felipe del Agua, Oaxaca 68020, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Hollywood Hills California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We felt like we were staying at our own private Hacienda....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband just had a wonderful visit to Oaxaca and we recommend it to everyone who loves
culture, Art, Architecture, food, music and wonderful people.

We stayed at Hacienda Los Laureles, it was fun to ride the cab and arrive at this wonderful Hacienda. I love hotels with character. This hotel offers that and beautiful gardens. We were there kind of off season so there were a few guests there and we decided to sleep with our windows open and sleep and wake up to the birds singing, and the smell of the garden and fresh air. The staff including Louise, Fernando Martinez (all one name:) the door man were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. Great ambiance, and the restaurant has great food, and is in a great green house setting an extension of the gardens, is very nice. Rooms are spacious, they have a nice pool (we didn't really use it, we were out sightseeing for most of the day), they had a spa and a nice work out room. It is about a $5.00 cab ride to the city center and the restaurant was closed in the evenings, so if you are planning on eating dinner at the hotel be sure and check their hours prior to leaving for the day, again we were there at off season. The water pressure was low in the shower, but they have a safe, hair dryer all the things you get with a higher end hotel. Upon our arrival we had welcome laid out on our bed with flower petals, and every night got a card with a great quote, and candy on the bed. The front desk booked us tours, made restaurant reservations, called us cabs, and even changed our money, they were all very helpful and great! We also met the owner Peter, on our last day which we had shopped so much we were in need of extra luggage and he gave us a suitcase, actually dropped off a suitcase for us so we were able to bring all that we bought home.
It felt like we were in Latin America, and got great personal service.... so we recommend this hotel by all means....and Oxaca is fabulous....it's a must! Massey and Don....L.A

Room Tip: It seemed to me like all rooms were the same. If you go during their busy season and like to hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    11
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
29
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is an excellent hotel, great food and service, the staff is excellent the rooms are spacious and everything looks better than advertised. Beautiful architecture. I loved it. I will come back to this hotel if I come back to Oaxaca.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011 via mobile

Def not a 5 star hotel, but considering the very limited choices hotels in the city of Oaxaca have, this is one of the best. Rooms are clean and rustic in decoration. You can see hotel needs some updating (water leaks and humidity). Restaurant is very good and I would say it is their best asset. You will enjoy food here. Hotel has a parking lot which in my case helped tons because I'm travelling with my own vehicle in this city. Don't expect the rest of the hotels downtown to have one. This place is a bit off downtown but not too far away. It is though, a bit overpriced for what it offers. Pool is NOT heated and it hasn't been cleaned in a while.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011 via mobile

Way over priced! About $225 dollars per night. Rented four rooms. Did not give room type reserved on one room and had to be moved. One room did not have handle on toilet to flush, another room had stopped up toilet, another room had broken latch on door window. Restaurant service extremely slow. Swimming pool dirty covered with leaves. Occupants of two rooms couldn't sleep due to excessive noise from street traffic and asked to be moved with no response from hotel staff. Only provided drinking water on first day and must purchase on successive days - $225 dollars per night should provide customers with drinking water. Would never stay here again. Discovered Hotel Victoria is a true 5 star hotel for about 2/3 the price of Los Laureles. This hotel lost the opportunity to host multiple groups in the future that we send. Hotel staff did not seem to care that we were not satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badhonnef123, General Manager at Hacienda Los Laureles-Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Clients response to visit June 11th 2011
This are no exuses but facts in regards to your negative but harsh comments.
and my self like toextend my apolocy to your non sactifatory experience
even so . Ritz Carlton or Four Season have problems on arrivals my I say so.

First I my self attended to your need once mention that the Door panel giving your privacy the fixing the same evening. The W/C was fixed the same hours with no waits
The rates were discounted rates my I mention from Junior Suites

I also mention that we had acrisis at the week time , that a big storm knoked down a 200 year old tree and did damange to the hotel and homes in front of the hotel and the closure of the hotel for a few days, to attent to the $30,000.00 USD damage with all my staff and there may have neglated by paying atention to your rooms

Again sorry for your problems

yours Peter Kaiser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

My wife and I with our two children (5 and 8 year old) stayed at the Hacienda during the Easter week. Wonderful place, gorgeous garden, great meals and friendly service. We have enjoyed this peaceful oasis which is just 10 minutes by taxi from the bustling city center of Oaxaca.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

I stayed a week on business in Oaxaca with my business partner and was pleasantly surprised at how beautiful this hotel was. We were treated wonderfully, the gardens were spectacular, the food amazing, second to none. We utilized the spa as well, which was professional and clean. The staff was attentive, very friendly and polite and could not do enough for us. I came home relaxed and with fond memories. Can't wait for my next visit to Oaxaca! It is a very special place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We went to Oaxaca this year for the second time and stayed this time at Hacienda Los Laureles (first time at Camino Real Oaxaca). In comparison to Camino Real, Hacienda Los Laureles has got all the charm of a nice hacienda, but not the ancient building complex and is indeed located some km away from the Zocalo – so you better get a taxi ( 50 MXN) to get to the center for dinner or lunch.

We felt wonderful at Hacienda Los Laureles, as the hotel offers quiet and peaceful comfort with excellent service and in a by far better price / value proportion than Camino Real.
The garden area and the pool (small!) area are nice and also terrace and restaurant do offer excellent choices to spend a romantic wonderful evening. If you might experience that the restaurant is closed and you do not want to go downtown, why not stay for one night at the restaurant across the street, where we actually spend two evenings with a wonderful Colombian chef, who offered us excellent food and fresh choices of menu (let him take you to his recommendations – marvelous).

Nights are peaceful and quiet at Hacienda Los Laureles – no strange noises, only birds waking you up in the morning. When you check in, make sure that your shower has sufficient pressure as in some older places it might happen that the conduction equipment do lack somehow. The nice service at the reception however helps you out in case of any issues.

We will definitely return, as the place is wonderful for a weekend in Oaxaca – make sure when you travel to get clear instructions how to arrive at the hotel as the GPS systems not necessary know the place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Los Laureles-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Los Laureles-Spa

Address: Hidalgo 21 | San Felipe del Agua, Oaxaca 68020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Los Laureles-Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For discerning guests who want to avoid the bustle of the big city and at the same time enjoy a unique locale, a relaxing stay at the 5 star Hotel Hacienda Los Laureles-SPA may just be the perfect solution. Located in a quiet residential area of Oaxaca, this 18th century hacienda reopened its doors in 2000 following an extensive renovation. Here, you'll reap the rewards of stylish boutique respite enhanced by traditional Mexican architecture and a personable staff.This intimate Boutique hotel, boasting just 23 guestrooms, imparts the look and feel of a private hacienda. Thick stucco walls, terra cotta floors, ornate wrought iron furniture and colorful Mexican fabrics give the hotel an inviting, informal appeal. Outdoors, points of interest include colorful gardens and the fine laurel trees that were preserved during the renovation.Relax in the hotel’s newly expanded Petit Spa with a traditional "temazcal" or indigenous steam bath, and enjoy fine traditional Mexican fare and international cuisine in its award-winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hacienda Los Laureles-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Los Laureles Oaxaca
Hacienda Los Laureles Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Los Laureles-Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.